We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destroying a Dream”
Review of Hotel Northampton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Northampton
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Destroying a Dream”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

While visiting my Hometown, I decided to stay in my once favorite hotel....So upset with the beautiful Hotel Northampton....After 2 totally blacked out nights, with an obvious decrease in their services. The manager insisted employees were patrolling, escorting patrons up star wells (part of 1st night & 2nd night we saw none)....The walkways were slippery & icy, no heat, no lights, no help with baggage down dark stairwells ....The Hotel Northampton would not go so far as to give us any retribution--- not even a drink @ Wiggins Tavern...It's just sad that I can never stay their again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrigdeClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    152
    76
    32
    38
See reviews for
109
151
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Engaged here long ago. Lived in town past decade excluding past 2 years. Had gorgeous new suite for $270 instead of $370 that a nice manager Sean offered to us to accommodate one teen, us ( mom &dad). Mold in bathtub jets. Shower was far worse than new low flow showers. Multiple shower heads didn't work. Shower curtain shabby. One room service slow, stale food delivered by surly young woman who told us she was angry to have been called in to work. Short-staffed with young, untrained staff. Besides Sean and Ryan, rest were impatient with simple requests. Most rude was Brenna. I like to use names so good workers aren't penalized. Owner ( not a chain or under a corporation) was made inaccessible by his staff. Free breakfast and coffee poor. Ignored after enduring jumping child above from 6-7:30 AM. Front desk said couldn't even call room above til manager arrived because she was new. Mini frig in room with microwave and hodge podge of utensils, wine glasses and dish towel but no plates. Haven't received even an apology from owner after days. Better places on bus line or noho taxis now just across river in Hadley and other 2 hotels r sprucing themselves up. Parents of Smithies should not feel this is their only option.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dukecurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Northampton hotels

Worthington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Those interested in the history of the Hotel Northampton will find that it differs considerably today from when Lewis N. Wiggins was its Landlord in 1927. Then known as "An Inn of Colonial Charm" Wiggins furnished the entire hotel with an impressive collection of American antiques. Today the bones of the Hotel Northampton remain but the antiques, wallpaper, canopy beds, and decorative details are gone. The Country Store that was behind the hotel, where local weavers spun yarn and wove homespun goods, has been *remodeled* for other purposes. It is still a pretty place and certainly opulent, but I would love to see it once again as I remember it years ago when it really was the epitome of Old World charm. No place in New England could have beat the Hotel Northampton back then. I still visit with friends on occasion for dinner and cocktails because the atmosphere is unlike any other place in town, but there is something I grieve each time I walk through the front door and catch a whiff of roses when there are none in sight. And the food could be much better than it always is.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sannefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My wife and I had our wedding reception at the hotel two years ago today and spent this past weekend at the hotel.

The atmosphere is wonderful. It's charming and quite cozy. There are lots of nooks and crannies in the hotel which give it an Old World charm. The lobby has a nice fireplace, a great little space for a bar (The Coolidge Cafe) and the quaint Wiggins Tavern.

Our room, this past weekend, was nice. There was a nice balcony, a modern bathroom (including jacuzzi jets in the bath tub) and a step-down entrance in the room (gave the room great dimension).

And we couldn't beat the hotel's location. It's right in downtown Northampton, just steps from our favorite shops and restaurants and the church (St. Elizabeth Seton) we attended Sunday Mass at.

A few things which the hotel should work to improve:

- Thicken the walls or add nose-absorbing insulation. My wife and I were able to clearly hear our neighbors and, we assume, they us. That was a little jarring when my wife and I were exchanging anniversary gifts and expressing our feelings for each other when we realized our neighbors could probably hear everything we were saying. We were in Room 200, for reference.

- The cost of dining at The Coolidge Cafe. It was about $50, including a 20% tip, for a fruit and cheese plate, a quesadilla, one beer, and one wine. That's a little nuts.

- The cost of a room. It was $300 per night for the small suite we stayed in. We would love to have stayed a couple of nights, instead of just one, but couldn't justify spending $600 to do so. As another reviewer mentioned, there are many less expensive options in the area.

- Fix the closet doors. Our doors were broken.


Those being stated, my wife and I LOVE the Hotel Northampton and hope to be back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. It's great to wake up to a view of downtown Northampton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikhaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

If you are looking for a good hotel in the Northampton area, this is the only game in town. Almost everything else is a depressing chain hotel. This is a real place right in the middle of downtown Northampton. It looks and feels like an old world hotel yet with up to date amenities and services. It's decor is stuck in the 80s - a bit too Currier and Ives meets Conrad Hilton. It needs to have a decor which feels original and actually decorated rather than out of a hotel box, and given the room rates, it should. I paid $250 for a pretty small room but it was very comfortable, quiet, and pleasant to be in. I felt only a little ripped off - it's a lot to pay for Western Mass. The staff were cordial, helpful and attentive without being overly friendly - a relief. My real complaint is about the food. I had breakfast and it was mediocre at best. The toast not really toasted, ketchup in a plastic container, terrible coffee, rushed service, eggs so-so. There's no excuse for bad food. I would absolutely stay there again though. As I said it is the only decent game in town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJJY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

At one time this might have been a grand hotel, but no more! Here, you will find service that is unjustifiably snobby, bordering on rude. Most of the rooms are small, the beds are old, the bedcovers smell like they have not been washed in weeks, and the overall ambience is musty and outdated.Do not be fooled by the charming New England architecture of the facade, or the inviting lobby. You will get a better mattress and cleaner floors at Quality Inn on Conz St., and the breakfast is better there, too. Parking is included at the Hotel Northampton, but with the caveat "when available." Guess what--it's not available most of the time! Oh, and they do include a continental breakfast, but the tiny muffins tasted like they came out of a vending machine and the coffee was undrinkable: diluted and burnt. If being in town is important to you, go for the much cleaner and friendlier Autumn Inn. To summarize, if you want a large, clean room with a kitchen go for the Quality Inn. If you want the quaint New England feel in town, you'll be happiest at the Autumn Inn.

Room Tip: Book in the main hotel if you must stay here. Other buildings are too far from the restuarant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shpilkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights during a trip around New England, and were generally happy with our experience at the Hotel Northampton. Of course, it was quite expensive, but there is not a lot of choice in Northampton anyway.

The location is great, right in the centre of Northampton, which is already a very walkable town, and there was plenty of parking at the back of the hotel. The desk staff were polite and helpful, although we did not actually need to deal with them much apart from checking in/out.

We had been concerned about some of the very negative reviews here in Trip Advisor but were actually very happy with our room on the 5th floor, which was quiet, clean and very comfortable. The bathroom has a problem with the way the toilet is fitted into a 2-feet wide recess: I'm 6 feet tall and not especially hefty by American standards, but the only way I could sit down was to take the loo roll off the wall, and I did wonder how many of the hotel's larger guests might get stuck in an embarrassing position. But the room was fine in all other respects.

As several other reviewers have noted, the breakfast is really not worth the price. Indeed we had one look at what was on offer (and the rather worn table linen that did not inspire much confidence either) and fled down the street to Sylvester's restaurant (111 Pleasant Street) where we had an excellent and reasonably priced breakfast every day of our stay.

But overall we enjoyed our time in Northampton and were perfectly comfortable at the Hotel Northampton. I think 4 stars is slightly generous, but 3 stars would be unfair, so I'll give them 4 in the hope that they can improve their breakfast sufficiently to deserve it. They might also think about moving the loo roll holder out of the way in the 5th floor bathrooms!

In the meantime, we would have no hesitation about staying there again, although next time we will probably ask for a room-only rate and avoid the disappointing breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room only rate and go down the street for breakfast at Sylvester's instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
179 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.5 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
818 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Northampton

Property: Hotel Northampton
Address: 36 King St, Northampton, MA 01060-3291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Northampton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing