We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decayed elegance” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Northampton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Northampton
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decayed elegance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

At one time this might have been a grand hotel, but no more! Here, you will find service that is unjustifiably snobby, bordering on rude. Most of the rooms are small, the beds are old, the bedcovers smell like they have not been washed in weeks, and the overall ambience is musty and outdated.Do not be fooled by the charming New England architecture of the facade, or the inviting lobby. You will get a better mattress and cleaner floors at Quality Inn on Conz St., and the breakfast is better there, too. Parking is included at the Hotel Northampton, but with the caveat "when available." Guess what--it's not available most of the time! Oh, and they do include a continental breakfast, but the tiny muffins tasted like they came out of a vending machine and the coffee was undrinkable: diluted and burnt. If being in town is important to you, go for the much cleaner and friendlier Autumn Inn. To summarize, if you want a large, clean room with a kitchen go for the Quality Inn. If you want the quaint New England feel in town, you'll be happiest at the Autumn Inn.

Room Tip: Book in the main hotel if you must stay here. Other buildings are too far from the restuarant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shpilkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    138
    72
    29
    37
See reviews for
101
139
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights during a trip around New England, and were generally happy with our experience at the Hotel Northampton. Of course, it was quite expensive, but there is not a lot of choice in Northampton anyway.

The location is great, right in the centre of Northampton, which is already a very walkable town, and there was plenty of parking at the back of the hotel. The desk staff were polite and helpful, although we did not actually need to deal with them much apart from checking in/out.

We had been concerned about some of the very negative reviews here in Trip Advisor but were actually very happy with our room on the 5th floor, which was quiet, clean and very comfortable. The bathroom has a problem with the way the toilet is fitted into a 2-feet wide recess: I'm 6 feet tall and not especially hefty by American standards, but the only way I could sit down was to take the loo roll off the wall, and I did wonder how many of the hotel's larger guests might get stuck in an embarrassing position. But the room was fine in all other respects.

As several other reviewers have noted, the breakfast is really not worth the price. Indeed we had one look at what was on offer (and the rather worn table linen that did not inspire much confidence either) and fled down the street to Sylvester's restaurant (111 Pleasant Street) where we had an excellent and reasonably priced breakfast every day of our stay.

But overall we enjoyed our time in Northampton and were perfectly comfortable at the Hotel Northampton. I think 4 stars is slightly generous, but 3 stars would be unfair, so I'll give them 4 in the hope that they can improve their breakfast sufficiently to deserve it. They might also think about moving the loo roll holder out of the way in the 5th floor bathrooms!

In the meantime, we would have no hesitation about staying there again, although next time we will probably ask for a room-only rate and avoid the disappointing breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room only rate and go down the street for breakfast at Sylvester's instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Be carefull, we were upsold to a suite when making a reservation. While the suite was acceptable as a living space, we were never told that is was in a seperate building in the parking lot. For that money we could have stayed in Hadley at a suite which is just as nice. Had to walk to the hotel for breakfast and our view was of the dumpsters and a broken sink. No handicapped access in this seperate building and overall ruined our stay. Never got to see what the actual hotel looked like although there were a lot of fruit flys at the breakfast buffett. Had time constraints so could not move rooms, when brought to manangements attention at checkout, they were apologetic but offered nothing. Will not stay there again. Not great for kids either.

Room Tip: Make sure to stay in the hotel proper as they will try to place you in the 2 outside buildings, espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was my first trip to Northampton and the Hotel Northampton was perfect!
It is ideally located right off of Main Street, in the heart of the city. Parking is complimentary and very easy to access. They've done a great job creating a warm welcoming entrance off the parking area. It was obviously not created this way when the hotel was originally built.
Our double double was super clean and fresh and felt newly decorated. The beds were extremely comfortable and the air conditioning was almost silent and worked very well. The windows opened, which we loved. In room coffee was provided, but we didn't need it as the hotel offered a lovely continental breakfast with to-go cups. My only complaint was the lack of a reading light for either bed. We had to remove the lampshade to get enough light to read by.
Staff was gracious and friendly, especially Anne Marie at breakfast.
We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBBSFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Hotel Northampton has a great spot just off main street, so you are are in middle of everything, but our room (213, on the back side) was very quiet. I loved all the historic Hotel and Northampton photos on the walls, and the room was clean and comfortable, with a nice little balcony. The free continental breakfast was set-up in the sunny, multi-level bar area, which was a great location to sip coffee, eat fruit and consider where to go apple picking (we went to Quonquont Farm in Whately -- very cute and not commercial in any way)

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The main areas of the hotel, restaurants, bars etc are charming and the beds were comfortable, but the overall quality of the rooms and service level does not line up with other hotels that charge a similar rate.

The shower pressure was weak and the bathroom fixtures felt a bit cheap and outdated. Our bathroom faucet was not even properly secured, so the entire fixture moved when we turned the water on and off (giving the room a very cheap motel feel) but the staff was very friendly and took care of that issue and other issues as they came up.

The most disappointing aspect was the (free) continental breakfast. It was below average, and not nearly as good as the continental breakfasts I've had at many other other hotels of this caliber. We skipped it altogether on day two. The bread and pastries were stale, the coffee was flavorless and weak, and there was only one small toaster to accommodate all the guests. The cereal boxes and yogurt were good though, probably the best items offered. We were also surprised that when we checked in for breakfast we were just pointed in the direction of the continental breakfast buffet bar and not actually seated at a table. As it turned out, there weren't any clean tables left, so we sat at the only table we could find, hoping someone would come over and clean up the table or ask us if we needed anything else. That never happened. I would expect more service from a hotel of this caliber, but it felt as if were were invisible. We also noticed that very few tables were being turned over while we were there. Maybe they were just understaffed that day, or perhaps they just stop turning over tables after 9:30am, since breakfast ends at 10am? It's hard to know from one experience.

Overall, this hotel was comfortable and you can't beat the location, but it just doesn't compare with the comfort, service, and elegance I've experienced at hotels with similar price tags.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here rather than at a sterile motel for about the same price, and we were so glad we did. The hotel has that old world feeling but modernized. Our room was spacious, and the beds were comfortable and sheets soft. We had a delightful dinner at Wiggins Tavern. It was all together a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cake7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorthampton, General Manager at Hotel Northampton, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
The staff and I would like to thank you for your kind observations. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.5 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
7.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Northampton

Property: Hotel Northampton
Address: 36 King St, Northampton, MA 01060-3291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Northampton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing