We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for Commuters and Visitors”

Norwottuck Rail Trail
Ranked #3 of 28 things to do in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ten-mile bike path on the old tracks of the Boston and Maine railroad.
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful for Commuters and Visitors”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

There is an ethic to bicycle to work and to enjoy it for recreation. The rail trail takes you through the best towns and cities in western MA. There are great places to stop along the way. You can cross the CT River on the trail (using the old railroad bridge).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    29
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best maintain bike path in the area.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I go on this bike path weekly. Love the views, minimal traffic, friendly people, and good exercise. Connects for miles.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mythoughtscount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“WAS a great place to ride your bike (and will be again)”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

As of mid-summer 2013, the Norwottuck trail is in bad shape, especially for those with high pressure tires. Parts of it will be closing soon for widening and repaving. Will be a wonderful ride again when it is done (2014?).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrewsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARLINGTON
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Badly needs paving”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This used to be an amazingly awesome trail. It's still beautiful and conveniently cuts through Amherst and Hadley but the asphalt has deteriorated badly. Lots of tree roots have developed into "speed bumps" and there are dangerous trenches along the line of travel that are just waiting to grab the wheels of the skinny tire set.

From some articles I read online the repaving has been an eight year battle with various agencies and neighbors. I truly hope it gets fixed soon since it is an invaluable resource to the community.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Idgie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is a great place to ride your bike”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I went to the Norwottuck Rail Trail on Memorial Day with my sister and my nieces age 7 and 9 years old. We had so much fun and enjoyed the beautiful countryside around the trail. There is a long bridge which crosses the Connecticut River and it is right in the beginning of the ride near the parking area. The trail does not loop around so we just turned back and rode the same way that we came and it was fine. It is pretty flat so riding is easy which is great when there are kids along. There is a small picnic area near the parking lot where we ate lunch and there is an ice cream stand across the street, where we got chocolate and peanut butter covered frozen bananas...so delicious.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goodsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norwottuck Rail Trail also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Norwottuck Rail Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing