We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
gentle beautiful variety and my personal favorite along with Hudson River ride in NYC

Over the river and through the woods farms, trees, very pleasant and access to Whole foods and... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
18lamaj
,
Northampton, Massachusetts
A great walk

For exercise or enjoyment this trail has it all. I just love taking a walk down this trail. It... read more

Reviewed September 17, 2018
Flafamily23
via mobile
Read all 128 reviews
  
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
91
31
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
31
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews connecticut river bike ride whole foods picnic tables mile round trip love riding entire length frost heaves early afternoon enjoy the scenery distant mountains access points college campus crossing paved bridge henley
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 128 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I went to the Norwottuck Rail Trail on Memorial Day with my sister and my nieces age 7 and 9 years old. We had so much fun and enjoyed the beautiful countryside around the trail. There is a long bridge which crosses the Connecticut River and it is right in the beginning of the ride near the parking area. The trail does not loop around so we just turned back and rode the same way that we came and it was fine. It is pretty flat so riding is easy which is great when there are kids along. There is a small picnic area near the parking lot where we ate lunch and there is an ice cream stand across the street, where we got chocolate and peanut butter covered frozen bananas...so delicious.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank Goodsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The paths keeps getting longer and loner. You can bike all day. From Haydenville to Belchertown. Connect with the path that goes to Easthampton!

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank PFandtheFlyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We rode the eastern most 4 miles of the trail yesterday. It is a very well maintained trail. We hope to return to ride the full length at some time in the future. The first two miles are along wetlands and we stopped to see a variety of birds and water fowl.

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great ride, cool and shady in the summer. Nice length to it with some interesting sights to see. Nice riding without having to watch out for traffic.

Date of experience: July 2012
1  Thank Patsy35_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Norwottuck Rail Trail is one of them. I know it's not free but to use this wonderful trail is free. As of the end of 2012 the trail runs from Westfield MA to Simsbury CT and then splits to the Farmington River rails trail. the trail follows much of the old Ice canal which later became a railroad. It stretches through some beautiful wetlands and along the base of cliffs. You'll enjoy the easy grade with your family.

Date of experience: October 2012
Thank KLangheld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews