We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden escape to view plants - great find in winter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smith College Botanic Garden

Smith College Botanic Garden
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There are ten different garden types and a greenhouse in this Botanic Garden.
Putney, Vermont
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden escape to view plants - great find in winter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Found this garden through tripadvisor and it was worth the day trip to see. Can't beat that it is donation based and is a great escape activity for the winter time. My husband and I enjoyed the trip to the garden and even though it is small it was very nice. We arrived at the end of the day but were able to see everything with some lingering in 45 mins. or so. We enjoyed lunch downtown and then it was a hop and a skip to the botanic garden- it was a perfect combo.
We look forward to returning for bulb fest in March and see the outside gardens in the spring/summer.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank tueschyld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    47
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“The KIDS thought it was cool - so it MUST be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

6 of us got lost in all of the cool exhibit rooms ...

We loved the different plants - and LOVED that it was still so warm inside.

Awesome variety - with some of the coolest plants I've ever seen.... Like the CACAO plant.

Must visit - don't forget to donate (free admission).

It'll take about 2 hours to get through if you look at things.

Helpful?
2 Thank rawsushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Immerse yourself in Springtime”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

A wonderful place to visit anytime, especially in the dreary Fall/Winter months. I have been to see "special" events here (rare, exotic blooming species) and especially enjoyed the outdoor gardens/landscapes. Of special note: the Spring bulb show.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing & Educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's a real beautiful experience. There are some rare type flowers there. It's amazing if you have never been. The variety of plants, flowers, trees are just magnificent. There is a foul smelling flower nick named the " corpse flower" its the Titan Arum it is native to the rainforests in Indonesia It blooms once every 4 to 5 years. You can find the flower & Botannical gardens on Youtube if you want to look at this but it's best to view the gardens in person. Unique experience! Trust me you will find it educational & amazing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stormy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Escape Into Beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

In the fall, the botanicals are rich and ripe with beautiful oranges, reds, yellows. In the early spring, the bulbs are magnificent and bright, and have you longing with blooms ahead...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vervy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith College Botanic Garden also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Smith College Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing