We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough place, but unpleasant staff will sour any stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Truro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Of Highland Camping Area
Reviewed August 30, 2010

High demand linked to superb reviews have perhaps helped turn the staff into a rather unsmiling and undiplomatic lot, and that is unfortunate, because they seem to have forgotten that they are still in the people business! I rate their people skills as being quite poor, an example of how too little competition can bring out contempt for the client. Too bad.

Another negative is the complete and total absence of facilities for dishwashing. That is such a nuisance, day-to-day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jaybishopIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 72 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2010

This was a lovely place to camp. We only stayed 4 nights because we just wanted to try the area out. We ended up wishing we had stayed at least a week.

The other reviewers said it perfectly, so I will try to not be redundant. It was quiet, with very reasonable rules, and clean. Those three things made it perfect for our family.

I am super picky about the cleanliness of campgrounds (sounds like an oxymoron, doesn't it???) This place far exceeded my expectations in cleanliness. They obviously work very hard to keep the grounds and facilities in great condition.

Very short walk to the beach (which is absolutely gorgeous.) Family friendly, without being loud. Plenty to do in the area - or you can drive to one of the many tourist spots on the Cape.

We are returning for the 2010 season and staying twice as long. Cannot wait!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maddiecat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

This campground is clean, quiet, spacious and is in a great location. Five mins from the beach and only a short drive from Provincetown. We stayed here in a large RV and the sites were well kept and spacious. Lovely clean showere too!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katrina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I have stayed at this campgound since the early 80's. It is clean,and well run. The owner really does a good job in this area. IF YOU WANT TO PART ALL NIGHT THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU.The staff does enforce the quiet time after 10:30. At 10:30 the place generally does quiet down. I have seen people get tossed out who just would not adhere to the rules. As for ealier reviews stating that pink slips are given out for the smallest infractions that was true in the summer of 08. There was a woman working there who took her job way too seriously. I know friends whio set there campsite up the same way fo 20 years and she tried to have them move things. Guess what ,she is gone ! I stay for 3 weeks every July into August and can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 10smonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I have to say, after reading these reviews I was nervous to stay here. Everyone in the office was nice, no one bothered us at night, and the beach was SOOO close..(and free to pedestrians). There are some nice places around to pick up seafood (2-5 minute drive)..We only stayed the weekend....I wish we stayed here the whole week...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kamberk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We have been camping at North of Highland for the last 15 summers, and thought that was kind of impressive until we checked out this year and greeted our replacements, who have been camping at North of Highland every year since 1968! It's clearly the kind of place that inspires deep affection and loyalty.

We love this campground for its family-friendly atmosphere (did I mention there's a playground and a rec room complete with ping pong for those inevitable rainy days?), its low-impact ethos (no hookups means no RV's, just tents and pop-ups), its firm commitment to sensible quiet hours (SO great when camping with children), and its friendly and accessible staff. (What other campground do you know that staffs their office 10 hours a day and takes messages for campers?) The amenities (camp store, little laundromat, flush toilets, and the aforementioned showers and rec space) are all there when you need them, but mostly the campground is set up to let you live the sweet and peaceful outdoor life.

Surrounded by National Seashore land, this family-run campground is uniquely positioned to give you the best of both worlds... North Truro is just a few miles from P'town and the Provincelands bike trails. We bring a kayak and bikes and find that we head into town only infrequently, because between the woods, the ocean, the Cape Cod lighthouse, and the Highland Links golf course (the next road over!), there's plenty to keep nature-loving campers busy.

Head on over to my photo journal of our stay this year if you want to see some happy campers: http://bit.ly/nofhighland

Next year we'll be at sites 35C&D for the first half of July; if you come, stop on by and share a camp song or two!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank haikugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

My family and I have been camping at this campground summers since I was 11 (since 1983). My parents now spend half the summer there and my sister and I bring our families for our vacations. We have made many close friends who camp the same time each summer. The campground is very family friendly, strictly enforcing quiet time rules 10:30 pm - 7:00 am, with no pets or motercycles allowed. It is quiet, very peaceful and clean. There is a camp store and a rec-hall for playing pool, ping-pong, or sitting at one of the many picnic tables playing cards or some other game. On raining days there usually is a fire going in the large fireplace. There is a laundry room and even a playground for the kids. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful! They also quickly deal with individuals not following the rules, especially when those individuals are negatively impacting other campers. The bathrooms and showers are very clean. I highly recommend this campground!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coxolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Truro hotels
2.9 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
194 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Sea Motor Inn
Blue Sea Motor Inn
#7 of 11 in North Truro
122 reviews
1.5 mi away
Outer Reach Resort
Outer Reach Resort
#5 of 11 in North Truro
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Top Mast Resort
Top Mast Resort
#1 of 11 in North Truro
347 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kalmar Village
Kalmar Village
#9 of 11 in North Truro
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lis Sur Mer
Lis Sur Mer
#2 of 7 in North Truro
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Of Highland Camping Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Of Highland Camping Area

Address: 52 Head Of The Meadow Road, North Truro, MA 02652
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in North Truro
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North of Highland Camping Area, since 1954, is ideal for tenting, very family orientated, and has a short walking path through the "Cape Cod National Sea Shore" that leads you right to Head of the Meadow ocean beach. We have an on-site store, recreation room with fire place, pool tables & ping pong, library, laundromat, rest rooms, hot showers, and a playground (with parental guidance). You can come here to camp in the midst of all of the naural beauty of Cape Cod. Pitch your tent or tent trailer in the shade of our pine trees and easily walk to the beach every day of your relaxing vacation getaway. Yet we are still less than 10 minutes by car from bustling Provincetown and Wellfleet with plenty of shops, restaurants, art galleries and whale watching. To create a peaceful, safe environment for our guests we do NOT allow pets or motorcycles and we strictly enforce campground quiet hours 10:30 PM to 7:30 AM. Beach fires are allowed on the beach only in the evenings with a free permit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Of Highland Camping Area Hotel North Truro
North Of Highland Camping Area North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing