We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Truro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Of Highland Camping Area
Ogdensburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The staff was so friendly and pleasant. The woman who ran the camp store made a great dark roast coffee and talked to you like she knew you forever. The sites were a beautiful, forest like setting. The pine needles collect water from the ocean mist that sprays, so the are always dripping faint little drops of water...very unique!

The showers are decent, the ones on the ends by the exit doors in the woman's room have a real shower head which is nice. The bathrooms can attract quite a few bugs but they are clean otherwise. The staff takes great care of the facilities overall.

There is a trail to the beach which helps avoid hefty beach fees which is nice but stay on the trails and be WATCH THE POISON IVY.

Head of the Meadow beach is amazing. There is a unique water and sand bar that run just before you get to the real ocean. Go early in the morning while its low tide to easily cross or you may be swimming across. During high tide you can float down this water bar as we did, like a lazy river! There were so many seal sightings while swimming I lost count. Be careful though, seals are shark food!

My family and I stayed a week and I just didn't feel like it was long enough!! This was a very special place and I'm so glad it was our selected vacation spot this year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NJfoodisjustbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
29
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A nice, quiet, clean campground with easy access (walk or bike) to the beach. Clean bathrooms with outdoor cold showers at each campsite loop. Warm showers ($0.25 for 5 min) and laundry facilities at the camp store near the entrance. Groceries and restaurants are not far away in Provincetown or Truro. It is a bit pricey at $40 per night per site for one vehicle and 2 adults + $14 for each additional adult or vehicle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Today I called to make a reservation for myself and a couple friends. It would be a total of 4 women including myself. I called and asked about making a reservation and the woman told me that the four of us can't stay together because we are all FEMALE! She said two girls can stay on one site and two girls on another. So i asked if we could stay together if only three girls went and she said one girl would have to stay by herself. The whole point of the trip was to spend time together. She said that if we had a group of both men and women we could stay together, WHY does that make a difference?? She claimed "we are very respectful of our quiet hours". I don't see how gender can determine how loud a group will be? Maybe age but not gender! They allow six people to a site so why couldn't four girls stay together? Absolutely rediculous! Gender discrimination. I plan on sending my business else where. If you want good customer service and to have fun on your trip, don't come here!! They will not be accommodating for the customer!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
23 Thank Jgallant95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have stayed at North of Highland most summers since 1991. The campground is away from roads, and quite rural, even though it's on Cape Cod. It's a good place for bikes, kids, and kids on bikes. It's also decent for adults, because it's quiet.

When on Cape Cod, I like to go to the National Seashore. Staying at North of Highland I can do that without having to deal with traffic and people.

There are a lot of rules. Most of the rules prevent people from doing stuff that isn't neighborly. For example, having no fires is great, because it isn't smokey and people don't burn trash. The people that run this place are polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Look at the map at the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is ont of the best campground I've ever been. Staff very nice and helpfull. Prices have went up since 2009 though. It used to be the chepest campground around P-Town, but now the rates are whithin the average of the area. There is a beach nearby that you can walk to without having to pay for anything, but I would suggest buying the National Seashores seasonal pass so you'll have accces to all 6 beaches.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starfrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington, vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at North of highland this August. We were lucky enough to get a large site assigned to us when we made a reservation around Memorial day. Apparently someone had canceled. The sites book up months in advance for August and the campground was full when we were there Be aware that some of the sites are tiny and they are all VERY close together with little privacy due to the lack of foliage other than pine trees. However, everyone was friendly and it did really quiet down down around 10pm. Campers were pretty varied from older retired couples to families with kids. It is really suitable for people who want an inexpensive place from which to enjoy the cape and don't expect to either party with their friends or have a traditional "camping in nature" type experience. Lots to do in the area. Plenty of inexpensive showers and the camp store has GREAT coffee!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highgater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The best place to stay to get away from it all!! A true Cape Cod getaway for those that love the ocean, scrub pine, and sound of the wind and the ocean!!!! Walk to the open ocean or ride on your bike. Enjoy a campfire on the beach with friends and family!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
4.2 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#4 of 14 in Provincetown
853 reviews
4.8 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#3 of 14 in Provincetown
813 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lis Sur Mer
Lis Sur Mer
#2 of 7 in North Truro
16 reviews
1.5 mi away
Outer Reach Resort
Outer Reach Resort
#4 of 11 in North Truro
312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Top Mast Resort
Top Mast Resort
#1 of 11 in North Truro
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Of Highland Camping Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Of Highland Camping Area

Property: North Of Highland Camping Area
Address: 52 Head Of The Meadow Road, North Truro, MA 02652
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in North Truro
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North of Highland Camping Area, since 1954, is mostly tenting, very family orientated, and has a direct-pathway that opens up to the "Cape Cod National Sea Shore". We have an on-site store, recreation room, library, laundromat, rest rooms, hot showers, and a playground (with parental guidance). You can come here to camp -- pitch your tent or RV -- and never have to leave if you choose. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Of Highland Camping Area Hotel North Truro
North Of Highland Camping Area North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing