We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never fails”
Review of Top Mast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Top Mast Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in North Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“never fails”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have stayed at the Top Mast every year for the past 6 years and we have never had a complaint. The location can not be beat. The shuttle picks us up by the office to bring us to P- town. Sitting on our deck we are 50 feet from the ocean and the view is beautiful.. The queen size bed is comfortable and the place is quiet. Our room had a fridge and stove top and microwave for cooking. The shower water is hot and the room is clean.

Room Tip: all the rooms are on or over looking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    81
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
130
115
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have stayed here several times over the past few years and have always enjoyed it. The rooms are literally steps from the water and you can hear the waves. It is conveniently located a short drive from Provincetown, Truro and Wellfleet. The rooms are pretty basic but well maintained and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffsH4336PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Only one negetive...check-in clearly states 2:00 which is when we arrived but housekeeping had just started our room. It was abnormally hot out and we had groceries in car for fridge. Ended up in room a little after 2:30, was annoyed but room made it worth it. Super clean, super comfy and the most beautiful view. Stayed 5 nights and had the best time. Housekeeping kept the room nice and tidy for us everyday. Can't wait to go back but next time I will speak up about checking in.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crimsonbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This past Memorial Day weekend, we stayed at the Top Mast resort in North Truro. This was a second experiencefor us. We stayed in a one bedroom efficiency with a kitchen (full refrigerator, two stove top burners, a microwave and a coffee pot). Our room had two double beds and a balcony overlooking Provincetown Bay. There is an expansive beach just a few feet from waterfront units. This resort feature an indoor swimming pool and a place to safely store bicycles. There is also a restaurant on site. Top Mast is just a short drive from P-Town and all that P-Town affords. We had breakfast at the resturant on our day of departure. Our sever, Dallas was frienly and efficient. The food was tasty.

Our experince was quite positive. Our room was clean. Housekeeping maintain a clean environment. There are stands where guests can bring a tabletop grill. The view of Provincetown is outstanding.

We found the folks who owned the property to friendly, helpful and accommodating.

We highly recommend this resort. Clearly, while there are some great places to stay in the area this is not a last resort. Rather, it is a first resort!

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My family has been staying at Top Mast every Columbus Day weekend for a number of years. It has become a tradition for us. It's a great family run resort and we just love the staff at the restaurant. The resort is in a good location just south of P-Town and close to Race Point, Marconi Beach and Wellfleet.

Room Tip: Plan ahead, call early to book - like six months early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx,NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Was there AGAIN in October for a few nights and wish I still was. The beach, the room and staff are ALL just fantastic. I highly rcommend to anyone period. I'll be going back to stay in a cottage during the winter due to year round use.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronx_NYJim_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

After doing some research on Tripadvisor, we booked Top Mast for a 2-night stay at the end of September 2013. And we were not disappointed! I think Top Mast is one of the only places we've stayed where the accomodations looked exactly like the website photos (possibly better).

We made reservations on the phone with the very friendly, Roberta just a week before our arrival.

Picking up keys and checking in was a breeze. We reserved a queen bed on the 2nd floor of building #1. We dropped our luggage in the room and headed for the balcony. The beachview was amazing! No blocked views and you can see all the way up to Ptown!

We enjoyed a take out lobster dinner with wine on our balcony while we watched the sunset. Once the sun was down, we crossed the road and checked out the pool/spa facilities. We loved the steam room and dry sauna. Pool was nice as well! We finished off our day beside the fire pit on the patio. Really impressed with all these ammenities.

Our room was clean and comfortable for two. We were able to sleep with the patio door slightly opened so that we could listen to the waves at night. I really wished we didn't have a full day of activities planned in Ptown so that we could hang around the resort, enjoy the beach and the pool.

We had breakfast at the restaurant onsite. We ordered the lobster benny and the eggs/toast. Meals were good, pricing reasonable and service was friendly.

I really look foward to returning to Top Mast. It's easily become one of my favourite hotels!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
2.9 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
962 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
184 reviews
3.4 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Outer Reach Resort
Outer Reach Resort
#5 of 11 in North Truro
316 reviews
1.8 mi away
East Harbour
East Harbour
#10 of 11 in North Truro
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Mast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Mast Resort

Property: Top Mast Resort
Address: P.O. Box 44, 209 Shore Road, North Truro, MA 02652-0044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in North Truro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in North Truro
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Top Mast Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top Mast Resort is nestled on 750 feet of private, groomed beach overlooking Cape Cod Bay and located only minutes from nearby towns of Provincetown and Wellfleet. Accommodations include; garden view units, beachfront units with or without kitchens, 2 bedroom cottages, a 3 bedroom beach house, and a trio of 4 bedroom shore houses. Enjoy our indoor health complex complete with a large, heated pool, hot tub, steam room, sauna, weight room, kiddie pool and slide, kid smoothies, frozen drinks, beer, wine, snacks, soda and an outdoor sun deck area with an evening fire pit. outdoor tennis/basketball court area and ping pong and corn hole on the lawn. Also located on site is our cafe which serves breakfast every day and dinner on Fridays, with seasonal outdoor patio dining by our large koi fish pond and water feature. Free WI-FI in every room and in various locations through out the property. Shuttle services to Provincetown. Family owned and operated for over 45 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Top Mast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Mast Hotel North Truro
Top Mast North Truro
Top Mast Resort North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing