We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem on Cape Cod”
Review of Crow's Nest Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Truro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crow's Nest Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in North Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2007

The two-story low profile lodge is separated from the road by only the parking lot. However, each unit faces the ocean on the opposite side of the building and we fell asleep, not to the sound of traffic, but to the ocean. The narrow beach slopes down in such a way that looking out from our one bedroom unit, we looked across a boardwalk and straight out onto the water, giving the feeling of being on board a ship. The view was spectacular across the bay to Provincetown which is a 3 mile drive away. The lodge was redone within the last 3-4 years and is bright and clean and very well maintained. Our unit had a gas fireplace, a full kitchen stocked with utensils, a combo washer/dryer (all in one unit!), 2 televisions, a jacuzzi, and internet access. How much better it get? We felt very pampered. Mary Jo, the manager gave us a warm welcome and was a wealth of information as to local attractions, restaurants and grocery stores. Her golden retriever Kangaroo added a friendly touch of hospitality. We stayed for two nights on 10/26-28/07 and only wish we could have stayed longer.
jane and elizabeth, W. Des Moines, Ia,

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbethiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 358 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2007

While the Crow's Nest Resort was fully booked, we were able to rent one of their three cottages just down the road from the resort on the same shoreline, for a week. We stayed in East Cottage. I would highly, highly recommend this property if you want some privacy and extra space for your trip. See pics.

The cottage decor is so cheery when you walk in, the pillows on the couch, to the lovely quilts in the bedrooms to the high ceilings really capture the breezy feeling for a beach stay. The queen bed was extremely comfortable and the kitchen has plenty of dishware for your stay, including blender, coffee maker and dishwasher. The place was spotless upon entry and there are ceiling fans in every room. Water pressure was excellent. A small deck is great for drinks and sunset watching. A boardwalk leads from the cottage directly to the beach which is nice. It is obviously a well cared for property that can make a good trip even better by staying in a cottage.

There are only 2 small drawbacks. The bathroom seems as though it was an afterthought compared to the time and attention put into the rest of the place. Extremely tiny pencil sink and no towel rack? I guess you are supposed to just put your towels in the dryer. Extremely limited shelf space as well, but this is a minor issue.

Secondly, and this is something the owners have no control over, but I wish we had known, the beach in front, and along the ENTIRE bay line, was covered, and I mean covered with seaweed. It didn't smell, but it wasn't pretty either. Perhaps it is just this time of year?? The beach is pebbly too and can't be walked on in bare feet. When the tide is low however a small very sandy strip opens up a little ways away and that is enjoyable. My point in sharing is this, if you are like us and this is your first time ever to Cape Cod and you are bringing along a very young child, in this case a 16 month old, then you might want to research the quality of the beach at the time you are staying here. I don't know if this is seasonal, but it is a rude awakening when you come upon it. Now there are PLENTY of other beaches you can drive too that are gorgeous, and Mary Jo was extremely helpful in pointing them out, but your expectations for the 'private beach' will probably need some lowering before staying at ANY property on the bayside.

Lastly, I would not recommend six adults in this cottage. It says sleeps six but there is really limited storage space for your things and you'd have to put your luggage back in your car as there is no place for it. Not to mention the bathroom. BUT, this place is PERFECT for a family of 4 or less and it really is a wonderful, wonderful way to visit the Cape. We were in East Cottage, but if you want a bigger deck suggest trying for the West Cottage, their deck appeared a lot larger and with more furniture.

Overall this is a great place to stay and you can't beat the price with a stick. We've paid double per night for a tinier hotel room than we paid per night for this entire cottage - and it was worth every penny! In fact, it's a total steal when you think about it!!
Many thanks to the Crow's Nest for such a great cottage!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amymow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Beautiful facility that is clean, modern, and perfectly located. The Crows Nest has been recently renovated and the rooms are very nice. Located right on the water you get a great view of amazing sunsets and Cape Cod Bay.

Mary Jo who runs the place does a nice job of making sure all guests are accomodated best as possible and she essentially offers you concierge type service.

Though on the water you may find more comfortable beach settings at close by Race Point beach (go at sunset and get a glimpse of all the seals just off shore). A nice bay beach is Corn Hill just away.

I strongly reccomend the Crows Nest and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank travelinman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Another wonderful stay at the Crow's Nest! Even though this resort has gotten pretty "pricey" over the years, it is still a nice place to stay. The property is expertly managed by Mary Jo and all resorts should have a resident pet like Kanga. The units are fully equipped with many extras (washers, dryers, and dishwashers) and the housekeeping staff keeps everything in great shape. There are always "guests" who think that a resort's rules don't apply to them, but Mary Jo handles everything so well to keep all guests comfortable. The view from every unit is incredible and all units are right on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NewYorkVacationfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Family of 5 stayed at the crows nest resort in mid July. The view out the front windows of the bay is worth the price alone. The manager, Mary Jo is a gem, full of information about the area and always around. The care and attention she lavishes on the complex is obvious. Her dog, Kanga, is also a treat to meet and throw tennis balls into the ocean for her to retrieve. The two bedroom apartment we were in was a little smaller than I expected, but adequate. Very clean, which is tough to do in a place on the beach. The laundry facilities are inside each unit- a Italian made washer/dryer combo. This unit washes AND dries in the same machine, so each load takes about 4 hours. If you are not used to the size of European washers, this will be a surprise to your laundry plans! A prior review mentioned the size of the beach - it depends on the tide- at low tide the beach is huge, at high tide tiny. The complex is directly off the main road, and route 6A ( a slightly busier road) is very close to the road the complex is off of. As a result, in the busy summer months the road noise might be a little much get to sleep with the windows open. As they have air conditioning this is not a real problem.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmom221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

It is a great place to stay. The location is very convenient to Provincetown and the view of the Bay and lights of P'town are gorgeous. You might want to watch what you are doing while there...the owner (who lives away) has cameras on the exterior of the property and keeps a close watch on his property. I asked permission of the manager to move my car closer to my unit in order to load it. I have a handicapped tag. She gave permission, but within 5 minutes of moving the car, the owner ordered her to have me move. Also housekeeping walked in while I was in the tub even though the door was locked. If you have privacy issues, this might not be the place for you. The washer/dryer isn't full size, it is an expensive European model but works well.

Stayed: July 2007
4  Thank abercrombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank calyn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
3.4 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
194 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.4 mi away
Masthead Resort
Masthead Resort
#8 of 15 in Provincetown
284 reviews
1.3 mi away
Top Mast Resort
Top Mast Resort
#1 of 11 in North Truro
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crow's Nest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crow's Nest Resort

Address: 496 Shore Rd., Rt. 6A, North Truro, MA 02652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in North Truro
#2 Family Hotel in North Truro
Price Range: $79 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crow's Nest Resort! Our stunning 300' direct ocean front location provides every suite unobstructed ocean views. True luxury accommodations with daily housekeeping offer ceramic tile, hardwood flooring, air conditioning, fireplaces, Jacuzzi, high speed Internet, DVD, cable TV, HBO. Large fully stocked kitchens include: dishwasher, microwave, range, washer/dryer, etc. We offer studio, one, two, and three-bedroom suites that accommodate two to eight guests. See why we are AAA's highest rated property in all of Truro. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crow`s Nest Hotel North Truro
Crows Nest Hotel
Crows Nest Motel
Crow's Nest Resort North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing