We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tasting, but some very small portions”
Review of Adrian's Restaurant - CLOSED

Adrian's Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good tasting, but some very small portions”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

$9.00 bowl of clam chowder that was barely half full - we ordered 8 of these (out of nine people) and every bowl was very small, maybe a cup each with few clams found. The $30 hangar steak was a joke - not much meat, already cut into pieces, but the real problem was the blue cheese mashed potatoes - maybe two tablespoons. I complained at the end when the bill had the 20% tip added - they took about $50 off the bill - i think they knew portions were a joke. I had been there twice before, but will never go back, even though the $18 lobster special was very tasty.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    5
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretentious & Pricey”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The title above sums up my opinion basically. The food was nothing special taste-wise, but it was all tweaked and tarted up to within an inch of it's life on the plate. I suspect Adrian is stuck in the realms of 'nouveau cuisine'. Ridiculously unsatisfying portions stacked in an overly 'arty farty' way. It was big in the 80's Adrian, but the world has moved on old boy!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not A Very Family Friendly Restaurant”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

While the location is great sitting at the top of the hill overlooking Provincetown, it's not a very family friendly restaurant. The food was on the fancier and on the pricer side. The service was good but not great. Once we found food that was good for all of us, it turned out being very delicious. I had the pulled pork sandwich...the portion was huge and it tasted really good! Overall, I would recommend this to couples or people who would rather have something on the fancier side.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrichter1296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Great food! Waitress was very helpful in wine selection! We had the best 5th year wedding anniversary supper! Dessert was perfect with cappuccino! Also the Wellfleet oysters raw on half shell perfect taste and presentation!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Out of the Way, but a Great Experience and View”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Simply Adrian's, or Adrian's, is co-located with the Outer Beach Resortoin a hill right on Route 6 in North Truro, and it offers beautiful views and a bright airy dining room. The more casual outdoor patio offers the additional benefit of an eyeful of sunset.

Adrian's serves as a breakfast and dinner restaurant for the Outer Beach Resort, and its Sunday brunch stands alone by itself. The dinner menu features regional Italian cuisine, and it gets high marks for it’s authenticity, innovation and fresh cuisine.

Back to the Sunday brunch, which is quite comprehensive with lots of local dishes, including clam chowder, oysters on the half shell, and lobster benedict - you have to try this.

Adrian's is great if you are staying at the Outer Beach Resort - good food and service without driving into P'town - but it is a bit "out of the way" for those staying in P'town or Wellfleet.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheAkumalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adrian's Restaurant also viewed

North Truro, Cape Cod
 
North Truro, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing