We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”
Review of The Whitman House

The Whitman House
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in North Truro
Price range: $0 - $26
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Underhill, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The food was good and at a reasonable price for the Cape during the summer. The waiter was very nice. One kid didn't like the spaghetti sauce as they said it was too sweet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    31
    18
    10
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We ate at Whitman's the last night we were in Cape Cod. First of all, we had an excellent waiter. He was very attentive and professional and we appreciated his service very much. I order the prime time, which is the prime rib with a shrimp bake. The prime rib was underseasoned, but enjoyable. BUT, the shrimp bake was absolutely divine! My husband had the scallops and terriyaki steak - He said the scallops were the best he'd eaten on the cape, but again, the steak was not seasoned properly. So, I guess the moral of this story is...if you want great seafood go to Whitman's, but if it's steak you're after just know that their steak is good, but not excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank postal1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Early Bird Specials are a great choice!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Whitman House after looking at the menu on their website. The early bird prime rib special was a 5 course meal for $24.99. Good homemade soup, bread, crackers & cheese, salad was fresh & very tasty dressings, baked potato, prime rib & then dessert! How could you go pass that up? Our server was very attentive & friendly. She even pointed out some beautiful places to drive to in the area. Great food, great service & wonderful old vintage decor. I would definitely return again when visiting the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LindafromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great setting. Food was OK.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A busy Friday evening in Truro and Wellfleet and all other places were booked, we were able to get into The Whitman House. The interior was really nice. In addition to the restaurant there is also a tavern with a separate menu. We eat in the restaurant. When we arrived the restaurant was not that full and they were going to seat us in a dark cramped corner. We asked to seat at a different table and they did move us. With dinner we also got a very nice family salad, cheese dip and crackers and fresh warm bread. For dinner one in the party ordered prime rib cooked medium rare and it was served well done. It tasted good but was not cooked as ordered. We also ordered the Ahi tuna and that was over cooked as well. The seafood newburg a specialty of theirs was just OK. The sauce was watery and the scallops were very small. The 2 pound lobster was good but expensive. The dessert was also good. We ordered the chocolate ice cream with a brownie and chocolate sauce. Prices were OK. A bit expensive. Overall a nice place to eat. Just need to know what to order. I think the lobster was the best meal for our party. It was also great we did not have a huge wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, romantic place.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I had an amazing masked potato and fish dish that was wonderful. Our son had one of the best burgers ever. Excellent service, and desserts were terrific. Restaurant is in an old colonial house in Wellfleet. Beautiful bar upstairs. Superb!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whitman House also viewed

 
Truro, Cape Cod
North Truro, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Whitman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing