We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spend the extra $$ ...”
Review of Cape View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape View Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in North Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Spend the extra $$ ...”
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I was very hesitant to book a room at the Cape View because of the extremely low rate but after reading reviews on Trip Advisor I decided that the overall reviews were not too bad. I wasn't expecting a 4-Star property but I was expecting a decent, clean room.

The rooms in my opinion are horrible. They are extremely dated, smell very musty, the carpets are dirty & sticky and the bathrooms have clearly never been renovated. But the biggest problem was the line of ants that started to crawl out of the ceiling crack in the evening. Not just one or two ants ... a line of ants. After calling the office we were told that they could "spray" and the ants would go away. Not exactly what you want to hear as you are about to fall asleep at night. We were told that they have never had this problem before so it could have been an isolated incident - but I would venture to say that it's a consistent problem! Do yourself a favor and look at other options before booking a room at the Cape View and end up like I did searching for another hotel room in sold out Cape Cod at 11:00PM!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonMA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    18
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
55
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
boothwyn, pa.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2008

My two week stay at the Cape View was like my previous visits there-----wonderful. The owners go out of their way to see that my visit is as nice as possible. Their number one concern is to see that your stay is enjoyable. Every morning I spent about a half an hour in the office having the free coffee and donuts. I see how the friendly owners treat all the guests with respect and how helpful they are when the guests need information. The owners have had the motel for a number of years and are very familiar with the area.
During all my visits, my room has always been very clean, the towels and sheets regularly changed, etc. The guests are, for the most part, respectful of each other.
As the name implies, there is a scenic view of the bay, and it is only a ten minute ride to Provincetown. I highly recommend the Cape View if you want to stay on the Lower Cape.

Alan White
Boothwyn, Pa.

P.S. The prices are quite reasonable, too.

  • Liked — the owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spotboothwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, MA
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We had been struggling to find a vacancy on the Cape, as we planned our overnight stay a bit last minute. Being the height of the season, places we'd looked at were quite pricey. As I surfed the net, I found this great getaway located high on a bluff in N. Truro with a fabulous view, large rooms with kitchenettes, sliding doors and decks, a pool, and very reasonable rates. And it's only a mere 10 minutes from Provincetown, to boot! We couldn't have asked for more. When we arrived, the service was friendly and the owners were extremely gracious and helpful. Our room was very clean, the mattresses comfortable and all appliances worked just fine. It was so quiet, we never heard a peep! What a gem this place is. We definitely plan to return. You won't be disappointed with this choice!!!

  • Liked — EVERYTHING!!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MACharlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2008

As the name suggests, the Cape View Motel provides the best view available (without leaving the ground!) on Cape Cod. The rooms are clean, well equipped, and in excellent shape. The kitchenette has all the appliances necessary to prepare your favorite meal. This motel is neither glitzy nor new. It has seen more than a few decades of Cape Cod weather yet it continues to be well tended to and maintained. For those of us who have sensitivity to mold and mildew (common on the damp Cape Cod area) the Cape View is free of any signs of this irritant. Wireless internet connections are available to all rooms for those of us who mix business with pleasure. The innkeepers, Barry and Suzanne, are friendly and couldn't be more accommodating. Nearby, the visitor can choose between world class salt water fishing, great shops/galleries/restaurants in Provincetown and Wellfleet (each about 10 min away), dark skies for star gazing, challenging bicycling, clean beaches with big waves (the ocean side) for surfers and wanna-be's, and tiny waves (the bay side) for little people and families. The peak season price is competitive and quite frankly, the off season rate when the Cape weather, beaches, and fishing are nothing short of spectacular, is a bargain. We regularly travel to Cape Cod for vacation and business and find the Cape View perfect for our needs.

Alan Mulak

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amulak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Fl
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We really lucked out with this one! Everything was better than advertised. At first I was a little hesitant because their rates were considerably lower than all the other motels in or near Provincetown, but it turned out to be a great find. The view from our room was beautiful, and the sunsets from our private balcony were spectacular. The motel is an older, well kept Cape Cod Motel, with a great crystal clear swimming pool, and our room itself was neat and very clean. If you are looking for a nice clean place at a great price, located in a beautiful part of Cape Cod, this is it!

  • Liked — a Clean room and a tub and shower
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shellmirrors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

For $150 (with tax) you would expect a decent room but this place is one of the worst I have ever stayed. Granted it has distant view of PTown (the weather has to be very clear), but the room is so smelly and musty that you don't even want to stay inside to check the view. Sleeping through the night is a serious challenge to your sinus. Everything is the cheapest and at its last leg of life span, from the small dated TV, the peeled and bubbled up toilet seat to the dark navy colored towels with loose edges and dangling threads. The stingy owner doesn't provide anything extra in the room, so there is no shampoo/ conditioner, tissue box, or hair blower, Bathroom has no vent, and it is so tiny you can barely turn around. Very upset with the Fodor tour book to list this place.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank robin_in_rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland Park, FL
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We stay every year at this charming motel, located very conveniently just up the road from Provincetown. Far enough away to avoid the hustle-bustle, but close enough to dash in at a moment's notice for dinner, t-dance, and all of the day and night-life that P'town offers. We splurged and booked the deluxe ground floor room, (which was still a very good deal), and it was just lovely. Fabulous new wood floors give the room a cozy warmth, and the view from the window will take your breath away, I promise you.
I was somewhat surprised and dismayed when I saw the review on this website of the same room, portraying it as unacceptable, because that is truly inaccurate. Everything about this motel, including the staff and the owners is first rate. Everyone is so very nice there. We'll definitely be back again this summer, and I recommend this treasure highly.
This motel is a real find!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank davidk954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
3.8 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
5.0 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
5.5 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.4 mi away
Outer Reach Resort
Outer Reach Resort
#4 of 11 in North Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Sea Motor Inn
Blue Sea Motor Inn
#9 of 11 in North Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape View Motel

Property: Cape View Motel
Address: 364 Route 6, P.O. Box 114, North Truro, MA 02652
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cape View Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've made exciting improvements to enhance your stay at the Cape View Motel. There are new plush mattresses in every room with colorful new bedspreads and bed skirts, full coverage black-out drapery and plush white towels. One guest told us, "I had the best sleep of my life!" The building has a fresh coat of nautical gray paint. The outdoor pool is now heated. A new Cape View Motel sign brightly greets you at the entrance. You can also watch your favorite cable shows on new flat-screen TV's or stay connected with free WiFi. Some details you've come to expect from the Cape View Motel will always remain, like spectacular sunset views of Cape Cod Bay from every room. All of our spacious and comfortable rooms have air conditioning and a private bath. Kitchenette and Deluxe rooms have large sliding glass doors that open to a furnished private balcony. It's the perfect place to enjoy a delicious meal prepared in your efficiency kitchen. Take a refreshing dip in our heated outdoor pool after a day at the beach. The beaches of Truro, located within the Cape Cod National Seashore, are unmatched for their beauty and natural terrain. Ample parking and miles of white sand and dunes provide a relaxing experience unlike any other in the region. Miles of hiking and bike trails await the adventurous and sport fishermen come from around the world to cast their lines from the shore or aboard a ocean going charter boat. The Cape Cod Light, the oldest continuously operating lighthouse on Cape Cod and the Highland Links Golf Course are here in North Truro. Payomet Performing Arts Center offers live musical performances by world renowned artists in an intimate outdoor setting under the stars. Provincetown the entertainment and cultural hub of the Outer Cape, is a short ten minute drive from The Cape View. For your convenience during peak vacation season, Cape Cod Regional Transportation Authority operates a Flex Bus shuttle every half hour departing just a "stone's throw" away at the entry to our next door neighbor, The Atlantic Spice Company. While in P-town you may wish to visit one of the many art galleries, museums, or restaurants. Take a stroll down Commercial Street and you'll find a selection of delightful boutiques, unique shops and attractions. Those with a sweet tooth will want to visit one of many stores specializing in homemade ice cream, candy and chocolate. Fans of live performance will want to check out the scene at The Provincetown Playhouse or listen to music at Preservation Hall, one of several clubs or stop for a street performance. Provincetown is the best place in New England for Whale Watching - an unforgettable experience not to be missed. . Charming Wellfleet village, home of world famous Wellfleet Oysters, is only 10 minutes south of Cape View. Catch a movie at the Wellfleet Drive-In Theatre, play a round of golf at Chequessett Yacht Club, gather local edibles at the Wellfleet Farmer's Market. Savor steamed lobster dripping with butter at the original Mac's Seafood while you watch the sunset over picturesque Wellfleet Harbor. You'll find great shopping at the many art galleries and quaint boutiques throughout the town too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cape View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape View Hotel North Truro
Cape View Motel North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing