We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dog friendly place to stay”
Review of Outer Reach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Outer Reach Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in North Truro
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have been visiting this place for quite a few years now, for an "older" hotel with an outstanding view of Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown in the distance you can't go wrong, and the fact that they are dog friendly - Hooray!
The staff always professional, Bonnie at check in always friendly and smiling, Sheila ever so accommodating, and let me not forget the super clean rooms and linens etc. provided by Ruth and the housekeeping staff. The grounds are well maintained and pet relief areas as well as a play park for your four legged buddy is a great add.
The (new) continental breakfast was well stocked and maintained by Ruth, what a nice addition to our stay. We'll definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Rooms with deck, for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 328 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

I spent a glorious six days at this lovely spot perched high up on a hill above Truro and Provincetown. If you're wondering when the best time to go is - consider September! We were there the second week on a painting expedition and the weather was sunny and beautiful every day, crisp in the evenings. The rates drop dramatically after Labor Day too. The Outer Reach has been well thought out - with sections of rooms laid out around the property with attractive plantings that are well maintained.

It's a dog friendly resort, which is so refreshing - all of Provincetown is dog friendly too with bowls of water set out in front of many stores. I will definitely come back with my black lab Molly and she will revel in being at the beach. They have a dog park here (a converted pool area), a tennis court, and plan to put in a new swimming pool next year.

In the mornings they put out a continental breakfast with good coffee. I wasn't at all impressed with Adrian's restaurant there however and after several really overpriced, mediocre meals would NOT recommend eating here. Just up the hill is Montano's which was good and more affordable. And of course, both Truro and Provincetown are loaded with good places to eat - so spare yourself eating here.

I had a room with an ocean view and a terrace and it was well worth it for the sunset views - spectacular! One of my friends didn't have a deck but had an ocean view with three large windows facing the same view. Equally enchanting at any time of the day.

One other really cool thing about this place is that it's owned by the same folks who own the Provincetown Inn on the tip of the Cape. This means you can go there and swim in their pool, use the beach, dine in their restaurant, and park in their lot if you want to walk around town. Really great as parking in P-town is pricey.

You'll love the Outer Reach. I'll go back with Richard and Molly for another wonderful beach holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnneErickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Wow what a place! I only wish I had found this years ago. Owning a yorkshire keeps you from doing what others without pets are able to. So how refreshing to find a place that accepts your pets in tow. The staff is awesome, the rooms with a deck and a view of the ocean are just perfect. The fenced in dog park on property, the trails through the dunes to the ocean and the continental breakfast are all reasons why we plan to now make this our only place to stay in the future while visiting provincetown. I only hope they continue to put money into the property and upgrade the rooms because the location and views from this place are outstanding so to waste that kind of realstate would be a shame. A special thank you to Bonnie at the desk and Ruth Lynn at breakfast for their kindness during our stay. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: Definately ask for an ocean view with a deck. It is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drcmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

resort with pet friendly units. I would not call it a resort but they have nice grounds, 12 acres,fenced in area for your dog, you can walk from the grounds to the beach (Atlantic ocean).
I stayed there with my dog second week of September during the week Mon-Wednesday and only paid $206(taxes included for two nights with AAA discount. Great location 3 miles to Province town, less then a mile to Head of the Meadow beach and pet friendly biking trail.

I don't know how all rooms look like except the room I stayed in but I felt like my room could use some updating. its a great place with great location why not make it better

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galina82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great place, atmosphere and friendly staff, Ruth was a great help. The room was clean, the linens were fresh and odor free. We love our room location, the deck was a plus, our dog loved. They are really dog friendly!!!
he continental breakfast was really good and convenient.

We were so happy and amazed with the resort that wanted to stay and extra night, but they were book. But we know now for the next time!

Back in New York we recomended to our friends and they are already making plans for next month. From now on this is our second home in Provincetown!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gynnette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice location, close to Provincetown. The rooms are getting old, but kept very clean. Room service was lacking. They didn't leave any coffee, cups or water glasses. The continental breakfast had a very poor selection. This is really a motel, not a resort. If all you are looking for is a place close to P-town to sleep, this is a good spot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Outer Reach Resort is great place. Wonderful location on the outer cape that caters to both animals and their owners. We had a lovely 5 day vacation and Sheila at the front desk was very helptful with all the dog-friendly beaches and restaurants in the area. We will defininately be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
1.4 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
194 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,119 reviews
2 mi away
Beachfront White Sands Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Top Mast Resort
Top Mast Resort
#1 of 11 in North Truro
347 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cape View Motel
Cape View Motel
#4 of 11 in North Truro
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Reach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Reach Resort

Address: 535 Route 6, North Truro, MA 02652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in North Truro
#5 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
Price Range: $85 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Outer Reach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Outer Reach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Reach Hotel North Truro
Outer Reach Motel
Outer Reach Resort North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing