We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chelmsford/Lowell
Oviedo, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Now Average”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Have been going here for 15+ years. It has gone from excellent to average. The front desk is very good and accomodating. The breakfast is below average for quality of food, cleanliness and availabilty. The chairs need cleaning badly. One weekend they were out of coffee cream for 4 days!!! Same old, same old selection. Poor presenatation.
Average rooms. Not maintained well and after refurbishment still have problems.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor-Corporate travellers rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    71
    59
    55
    44
See reviews for
81
55
7
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband, infant daughter, and I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend while visiting friends in the area. This property is in need of a serious overhaul. There was stuffing coming out of our couch, the interior of the dishwasher was rusted, and the bathtub and toilet looked as if they hadn't been thoroughly cleaned in a while. The crib the hotel provided was on wheels, one of which fell off. The complimentary breakfast was sparse and served on Styrofoam; while breakfast is technically served until 10:30, after 10 or so they stop refilling the buffet. Pros: the bed is comfortable; laundry on premises; fairly clean full-size refrigerator. Cons: pretty much everything else. Said laundry room contained dryers that hadn't had the lint removed...well, probably ever. They were so dirty, I wondered if my clothes would be more soiled *after" laundering. Looking around this place, you really expect there to be an abandoned swimming pool with Band-Aid and a used diaper floating in it.

The hotel is located near a strip mall with a Panera Bread, Einstein Bagels, and a grocery store; I suggest you stock up on sundry items (food, toiletries, dish soap, etc.) to make your stay more comfortable, as those provided are unlikely to achieve a satisfactory effect.

Brent, at the front desk, was competent and helpful. Other staff were unprofessional and curt. On our last morning, at 8:30am, the fire alarm began blazing and continued intermittently for two hours. We worried that something might be amiss, until we were told that they were just routinely testing the system, though they made no announcements to this effect, either before or during the test.

If you can stay anywhere - ANYWHERE - else, I recommend it. On a previous trip to the Boston area we stayed at a Staybridge Suites in Burlington, which was infinitely better in every possible way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Chelmsford hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I were in the area for a wedding, and we needed to find a budget-friendly place where we could stay with our 50 lb pup. This place fit the bill perfectly!

Every staff person we encountered was helpful and nice. When I called earlier in the week to check on their pet policy, the first person who answered the phone was able to explain it clearly and accurately. Check-in went smoothly. At one point, our room key stopped working, and the desk staff replaced it quickly and without complaint. Throughout our stay, several staff people asked to pet our dog, who loved the attention.

The hotel was mostly clean, but a bit dingy in places. The suite was spacious and had a nice layout. Even though it was a pet room, it smelled fresh when we walked in. The windows open, so you can get some fresh air. The kitchen portion was especially nice, and I would have loved using it If we were staying for longer. The TVs were lousy, but the wireless internet was great. Stay away from the continental breakfast if you can (it was not very tasty).

The location was very convenient. You can walk to a few nearby strip malls, which have some nice amenities. The property itself is located in a quiet office park, so there is plenty of room to take a dog out for a long walk. Just watch out for the poison ivy!

Unfortunately, on the last day of our stay, we were woken up by the fire alarm was going off. The staff confirmed that it was not an actual fire, but the alarm continued to go off periodically throughout the morning. It still wasn't fixed when we checked out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

i reserved a nonsmoking pet room several hours before my arrival and also received an email confirmation on my iphone. when i arrived a very rude young girl behind the counter informed me that there were no pet rooms and my dog would have to stay outside despite acknowledging my reservation. obviously i was upset after driving hours from maine and being almost 10pm and there was no way i was going to leave my dog outside. after NO apology, NO concern, NOthing but a cold and crappy attitude she told me i would not be charged. i was charged anyway for a no show. they don't honor reservations, have no customer service and take your money anyway. Run as fast as you can.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miinnesota
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at several locations in Mass. and this is the best one of the trip. Some other hotels were more costly and no where as nice. I liked having a separate bedroom and two TV's. Everything as clean and new. Even had some style.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corvair65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Went here on a trip with friends, one of the best hotels I've stayed at.

-Very clean rooms
-Rooms were very spacious. Our configuration had a full kitchen, living area with a full size couch that has a pull out bed, and a sleeping area with queen sized bed
-You can open the windows for some fresh air, which I liked
-Building looked very well maintained and clean
-Excellent free hot breakfast spread...they had everything you could want
-Very convenient location next to a large shopping center which had Wal-Mart, Boston Market, Applebee's, etc.
-Decent drive (~30 min) on the highway to downtown Boston.
-Excellent value for the price

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

i stayed at Hawthorn for two weeks, while on business in MA. It seemed like a decent place for staying for business purpose. They do have a friendly fixed schedule transport service to drop you to the nearby locations, which helps you a great deal, if you don't have your car with you.

The food available sometimes in the evenings is below average, but they also don't boast about it. Breakfast is also average, but value for money in that part of the world I think.

The location is good, as you have all the necessary shops and stores in walking distance from this place. Of course, they are not the best places, but hey, they are the ones you paid for primarily.

The studio I stayed in had ample space and all that one would require on a business trip. Good spacious bedroom with TV. Sitting area with another TV and small kitchen area with all possible kitchenettes. Also fridge, microwave, iron etc all standard items were there.

Good value for money, if you are on a business trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank premarorajdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Chelmsford
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Chelmsford Inn
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel and Suites Chelmsford / Lowell
3.3 mi away
UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Boston Lowell/Chelmsford
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Westford - Chelmsford
5.3 mi away
Westford Regency Inn
Westford Regency Inn
#3 of 3 in Westford
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chelmsford/Lowell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chelmsford/Lowell

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chelmsford/Lowell
Address: 25 Research Pl, North Chelmsford, MA 01863-2412
Location: United States > Massachusetts > North Chelmsford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chelmsford/Lowell 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chelmsford/Lowell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Boston Hotel North Chelmsford
Hawthorn Suites North Chelmsford
North Chelmsford Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing