We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Will See Seals”
Review of Beachcomber Tours

Beachcomber Tours
East Aurora, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“You Will See Seals”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Having been on a few other seal tours in the past, I decided to try Beachcomber for a new experience. However, it was exactly the same experience as I had on other tours. The sealwatching tour boats all seem to go to the same area (off South Beach adjacent to Chatham). You're guaranteed to see several seals in their natural envionment which is certainly a thrill.

Another reviewer was disappointed because the boat didn't go out into the open ocean to Monomoy. It's my understanding that the law requires a larger size boat to take tours to Monomoy than is typically used for tours to the South Beach area. The water in the South Beach area is just a few feet deep in many parts and so smaller boats are used to navigate that area. You'd have to take another cruise to get to Monomoy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ShellGirl057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    13
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice views of Chatham and Seals!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were a little late leaving the Chatham Boat in the trolley so the tour was not the full time, especially since there was going to be threatening weather near the end of this tour. Captain was knowledgeable but tough to hear unless you were sitting right next to him. Would have liked to hear more of what he had to say. Great views of Chatham and saw many, many seals. Would do this one again and also send more guests. So far, we have sent our family and friends and people from the UK and Sweden!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cms43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I went on the 12 o'clock sea lion boat tour and were very impressed. Our captain, Skip, was very knowledgeable and friendly when telling us about the surrounding area and answering questions. He provided us ample time to take pictures at various locations and was great at pointing out sea lions. There was an abundance of sea lions sighting on the tour - at one point you are brought up to a long sand bank where probably close to 100 sea lions are lazing.

Definitely a great tour for families. Although my boyfriend and I were the only couple without children, we could tell that all the other children (young and teenage) really enjoyed themselves. None of the children were ever upset (which I'll admit we were concerned about) but seemed to be quite fascinated and distracted by sea lion sightings.

Definitely recommended.
Also advise to bring a sweater just in case in gets cool because of the wind. You will get a little wet at the front of the boat when it is going slow, and you will get wet at the back of the boat when it is going fast - nothing too drenching though. Also make sure you have a very fitted hat or hold onto it when the boat speeds along.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaandCompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun On the water!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

What a fun experience this was. Not only did we get up close and personal to a ton of seals but we saw so many great sights. The captain was very knowledgable of the area yet did not drone on in a boring way. My only request would have been some shade on the boat. Bring your sunscreen and enjoy your adventure!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank nch1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed!”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

What a great time! We have been whale watching several times and chose to go seal watching this time instead and were very glad that we did! Beachcomber Seal Watches was the perfect choice! Captain Jim was fantastic and provided a terrific, informal narrative! There was an abundance of seals everywhere! Although you can view the seals on the sandbars from shore, the tour brings you up close and personal. We would all do it again in a heartbeat!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachcomber Tours also viewed

 

Been to Beachcomber Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing