We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday of a life time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerufenfushi
Certificate of Excellence
cheltenham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Holiday of a life time”
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed with meeru in september last year. We booked through Kuoni about a year before the holiday. We did pay extra for the Jacuzzi water villa. On arrival we were very dissapointed to hear that our room was fully booked (we were very annoyed especially as we booked so far in advance and confirmed with the hotel 3 weeks before our arrival and they confirmed we had a jacuzzi water villa). Reading the reviews and speaking to other guests this is a common thing at meeru. Whilst we were there we noticed they offered 2 night boats trips and packages to other resorts for reduced prices especailly for those people in jacuzzi water villas. They were obviously trying to free up the rooms!

The rest of our holiday was amazing! As compensation we were offered a meal voucher and used this for a meal on the beach under the stars. When we finally got into our jacuzzi water villa we were so glad- it was defiantely worth the extra- I could watch the fish all day. The meals were fanstastic and lots of choice. The excursions were excellent too. We did the Male trip, sunset cruise and fishing trip and they were well worth it!

We will defiantely be returning to the Maldives but after the mess up with the room at the start we will not be returning to meeru.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happymel1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,166
    1,075
    206
    75
    46
See reviews for
675
4,195
55
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Forgive the belated review but I had to contribute! We stayed at Meeru for my 40th Birthday and stayed in JWV323!

I had emailed the hotel 4 times before our stay,requesting the JWV in the 700's!

We arrived by Seaplane(a must) to find we had been put in the 300's, all though I was upset initially I have to tell you once at the room I was truly over the moon, everything I had hoped for, Champagne on ice, View to die for!
Food was fine, the His and Her Massage,heavenly,Asian Wok an experience in torential rain, a little over priced but made a nice change!

We only stayed for 7 nights and the cost was £4000 with Thomson,you will be offered if staying in a JWV many offers to go to another Island as they do over book, we decided to enjoy Meeru instead but if we had stayed longer we would off taken advantage of this! A holiday I shall remember forever.........GO SEE FOR YOURSELVES and ENJOY!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lippylol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2010

we dream about going back to meeru every day,it was the most amazing holiday ever and we are saving up to go back, the only problem with going to meeru is no other holiday will live up to meeru, we absoloutly loved it, it is sheer paradise we were lucky enough to have stayed in the jaccuzi sea villas, they are amazing and so luxurious

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jujuchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Down
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Arrived 02 Dec 09. Honeymoon. Booked with Thomson who reduced the cost of the whole trip by £550 with an online discount about 3 weeks after i had paid in full. So nothing i could do about that, but having worked in the travel industry for 10 years, i understood thats just the luck of the draw. Anyway, the holiday itself:-
Flight - It was a First Choice plane direct from Manchester, decided not to upgrade as it was approx £190 each, for very little extra. The seat pitches in economy are as big or actually bigger than most scheduled airlines,BA, Emirates etc. So, all in all not bad. Nothing special. We paid, i think £5 each on board to upgrade the entertainment package, meaning we could watch the movies when we wanted instead of set times. You also had extra games, movies etc. It is worth upgrading, considering 10 hour journey. On the way back all the toilets were blocked except 1, which was ridiculous and we would have been diverted if that tank filled. But, other than a longer queue to wait in, it was no big deal. Like i say, some people are very fussy. It was no huge problem.

Resort - On arrival at the airport, finding the rep was easy, we waited maybe 45 mins and were on our speedboat, 1 hour journey time, maybe 50 people on board. Pretty smooth ride, very hot at 10am, take summer clothes in hand luggage and change before landing. When you arrive on the island it is stunning, nobody could disagree with this, i have been all over the world and the first impressions ranked it number 1. We were led to a large bar on the beach and handed a cocktail and cool towel. Then the reps handed out the paperwork/room keys to everybody 1 by 1. We were pretty much last but were in our room about 1 hour after getting off the boat. All resorts in the Maldives are legally allowed to overbook their rooms by 10%, so some people didn't immediately get the room they had booked. Now, this could be an issue, but the people we spoke to had various options offered. One couple went on a cruise for 2 nights and said it was fantastic, 1 couple were downgraded from JWV to beach villa (very little difference) but were compensated with approx $130 plus vouchers for a meal in the Asian Wok(something everybody spends money on anyway). We and the majority of everybody else had no such issues. Our room was a JWV in the 300's, exactly like the photos, stunning setting, used the Jacuzzi every day and night. You can watch satellites going overhead at night whilst drinking beer in the 30 degree heat. Loads to do on the island, you can walk around the whole island in about 40 minutes. Excellent artificial football pitch, so take some football trainers. There is a match against the staff every Sunday, competitive, we won 8-7, they provide the referee.
Food is excellent(and i am fussy), varied from day today but with the same themes, very good soups, salads, breads, grilled fish, various meat and pasta dishes, curries, various veg. Definitely something for everyone, we were AI, worth the extra, wine was better than expected, very good value for money. We paid about £3000 total(£550 less if i had waited a few weeks, aarrgh!) from Manchester and spent maybe $400 in tips, massages(4), Asian Wok restaurant. Still, from my experience, good value for a Honeymoon on a paradise island, approaching peak season, with a LOT of food and drink.
Don't be put off my the doubter's / fussy people who expect the world. I'm sure there are nicer resorts in the Maldives, but the prices are extortianate. This island is fantastic. I would be happy to answer any specific questions independantly - plf1975@yahoo.co.uk

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 34Geordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER, ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We have just returned from Meeru where we had a fantastic holiday. This was our first trip to the Maldives and Meeru was a great choice. We travelled direct with BA from Gatwick, then took the seaplane to Meeru, I would recommend both.
We stayed in a JWV in the 700's, in the north of the island which was what we had requested and were fortunate that all was ready on our arrival and we were in our room within 20 minutes. We travelled overnight on a sunday arriving early monday morning, I understand that monday's and tuesday's are big change over days, and possibly the days people don't always get their preffered rooms.
We could not fault anything on Meeru, the room, food, cleaniness, sports facilities, spa, staff and the whole island was superb. We went to the Asian Wok and had a great meal, I would advice going during the day to enjoy the view, as it is very dark in there at night..
We went on a free 1 night boat cruise, by choice, not because of overbooking and would defintely recommend this if you get the opportunity. We sailed to Kragi and a near by sandbank which offered fantastic snorkelling, with more coral and fish than can be found around Meeru. We had lunch on the boat, did some fishing, had dinner on the island with local music and dancing and woke to a fantastic sunrise on the sea. This trip included many of the individual excursions offered by the resort and it was all free!
Meeru is one of the larger islands, but you can do as little or as much as you choose, socialise or be totally on your own, the choice is yours. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed for 1 week from the 11th january - 18th january it really is paradise.
We stayed in a beach villa which was spacious,clean everything you could need the only thing that takes a bit of getting used to is the outside bathroom and the different insects but you have to remember it is a tropical island and after a few days you get used to it believe me it is so worth it.

We wished we had booked for a bit longer ,the food is really good quality and varied if you get chance eat in the asian wok we were on the all inclusive so we had to pay extra for this but it really is so nice and such a lovely setting well worth that extra bit of money.

All the staff are so friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them even the man who looked after the grounds around us offered to cut coconuts down for us everyday what more can you ask.

My husband went diving and he said the dive school were fantastic couldnt praise them enough

All in all a fantastic holiday we booked through kuoni and flew with emirates the best airline we have ever flown with so what are you waiting for get booking, we are saving hard so we can visit again in the near future .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slavezer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2010

I just wanted to say that was the best holiday I ever had, thinking that I saw most of Europe and Asia until now. The wheather was great, lovely staff and the beach was amazing. Great for snorkelling and scuba diving if interested. The spa is amazing, they have actually 2, one on the land and one on the water and I trully recomment the hot jade stone massage. The food was excellent, so many varieties and the a la carte restaurant Asian Wok was great. We had a Jacuzzi Beach villa 109 and the 100s are the best, do not choose 600s, they have an old design, I think they were the first one built. The people that have put bad reviews about this place I think they mislead other people as well. The place is fantastic, even thought that are almost 600 occupants on the island you can hardly see somebody the entire day. You have your own sunloungers beside your villa and beside the pool there are a big number of sunloungers too. I know everyone complaints about the germans, with the early towel tactic, even there they couldn`t take the entire island. The drinks on the all inclusive are great actually, the wine was fruity and light and the ice coffe with ice cream is amazing, please order one.
I strongly recommend to people to book on the all inclusive, you get so much for your money. About the snorkelling gear, buy your own from home, but not cheap deals on ebay cause we got some of those and the masks were licking and we had to rent theirs. It`s 4 $ for the mask and 4 $ for the thins. Try the casting fishing, great fun for 4 hours, we caught lots of fish. Don`t fill in your suitcase with shoes, 2 pairs of flip flops will be more than enough, everywhere it`s lost of sand. If you get a deal to go on the Veligandu Resort for a couple of days like we received please accept. That place it`s a 5 star resort, very small but beautiful. Try to book anything above water villa including, the rest of the rooms are a bit crowded in the middle of the island a nd a few people complaint about the noise.
We manage as well to plant a small palm tree with a plate for our engagement day. Iam, the guy at the water sports was very helpfull.
Have a great time!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ionelapaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meerufenfushi
18.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,736 reviews
22.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
22.9 mi away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,517 reviews
20.8 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,566 reviews
20.1 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meeru Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Property: Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Address: North Male' Atoll, Maldives
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Meerufenfushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerufenfushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meeru Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeru Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Meerufenfushi, North Male' Atoll. It is 1200 meters long by 350 meters wide, about 60 hectares (105 acres). Your speedboat transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 55 minute ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meeru Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeru Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Meeru Island Maldives
Meeru Island Resort Maldives
Hotel Meeru Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing