We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerufenfushi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband & I travelled at the end of September and it was an amazing experience from start to end. We were first-time international travellers and were a bit nervous about what to expect.
We arrived in Male late at night and spent our first night near the airport. They called Meeru that night when we landed to arrange our transfer the next morning. We arrived back at the airport the next morning where a representative was waiting for us. We were transported on a boat with about 30-40 other guests which took about an hour. Upon arrival we were greeted in the Kakuni bar where we were handed a cool towel and a fruit cocktail. Check-in took about 20 mins and was seamless.
During the next 6 nights we were there we couldn't fault the staff or the facilities and the attention to detail is amazing.
We had heard of many people receiving upgrades but decided to just book an overwater Jacuzzi villa and I am glad we did, it was a dream. The overwater villas are close together but private enough that we were not bothered by our neighbours. We could snorkel from our front deck, the walk back to the Pavillion bar and pool and even to the main reception and dining room was more like a short stroll. We stayed in Room 328 and that side of the island in September was calm and made for great snorkelling/swimming in the lagoon. The other side of the island was much more windy but was relief from the heat.
We fell in love with the Dhoni sunset bar location and staff, in particular Saeed, Waheed, Alwyn, Peny, Faris but especially Bandara. They greeted us with a handshake and a beaming smile everyday and they laughed and joked with us throughout our stay. They made our stay so much more enjoyable and made it very hard to leave. Didi at the Farivalhu Restaurant also looked after us at every meal and knew our drinks order after the first day.
There are plenty of activities to do; sunset punch cruise where we saw dolphins, house reef snorkelling, golf driving range, but if you just want to lounge by the beach or pool you will also love it.
We booked under the all inclusive plus and we felt it was good value.
We were most nervous about the timing due to monsoonal weather and only day 2 & 3 were overcast, cloudy and it rained a few times. This didn't dampen or spoil our trip as we still used the driving range, swam and relaxed by the bar.
We loved the night-time entertainment and there was something on every night - live bands, crab races, cocktail party on the beach, Maldivian Cultural night and a disco night with an awesome DJ on our last night. We were also there for the full moon dinner but we had dinner at the Hot Rocks Restaurant on that night by the infinity pool & beach. Of the hundreds of guests there we had the restaurant to ourselves that night. Unbelievable!
We don't have any complaints about our experience at Meeru, there is something for everyone and it really is what you make of it.
Thank you to everyone who made our stay enjoyable, we are hoping to be back one day. A job well done and a credit to all!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 328 which is a Jacuzzi overwater villa and in September was on the calm side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCRMaldives, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Erin W,

Very warm greetings from your amazing honeymoon destination.

Thank you for your kind review! Team Meeru is very happy to hear that you have had a amazing time on Meeru Island Resort & Spa and truly enjoyed your drinks at Dhoni Bar, the food at Farivalhu and our night-time Entertainment!

We look forward to welcome you back again!

Warm regards
Meeru Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,845 - 2,851 of 5,927 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a beautiful place, we stayed in the jacuzzi water villas which are beautifully furnished and very comfy! The beach is a powdery soft sand. The quality of the food is excellent and the staff are very friendly. This is the perfect place for couples as they have a separate part of the island for couples, you just have to request to be booked on that part of the island for you stay. If you are travelling here, then sit back and relax as you will have a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Try and book the jacuzzi water villas to be able to enjoy the tranquillity of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vimal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCRMaldives, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Vimal P,

Sunny regards from your paradise!

Thank you for your positive Feedback on Meeru Island Resort & Spa!
We hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards
Meeru Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked Jacuzzi beach villa with all inclusive. Room 's quite big and food may not as much choices as the others for Asian but it's good. The Sunset Cruse was great, we found lots of dolphins swam along the boat and also the crews on the boat were really great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avesaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCRMaldives, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Avesaka,

Sunny greetings from paradise!

Thank you for your positive feedback! We hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards
Meeru Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our second stay at Meeru- the previous one being about 5 years ago. We were tempted to try another Island but knew this was a guaranteed winner and were happy to stick with what we knew. Like most of the other reviews say it was indeed paradise.

The couples part of the Island where we stayed has changed very little which is the way we like it. The family section has had quite a bit of development to the detriment of the Island in my opinion. An extra Adult pool has been added plus golf and tennis among the changes. Each to their own but the idea of coming to a Maldivian Island to play golf and tennis just seems wrong to me and I did worry about overdevelopment on such a beautiful Island.

We stayed in the same villas right on the edge of the sea as we had done last time and, if you can afford the price difference, I would go with this every time. To be able to get up in the morning and sit on the chairs looking out onto the sea is magical with the chance to see mini sharks and other fish swimming past your villa. It is also nice to have your own sun beds and to take just a couple of steps down into the water and equally nice to be able to pop back to your villa for a quick break. The one change to the villa from last time was the addition of a hot tub at the back of the villa- at first I thought this was a bit unnecessary but it turned out lovely to be able to sit in the hot tub in the evening looking up at the stars (and bat in tree) in total privacy.

I won’t spend long on the compliments as other reviewers have pretty well said it all- it was a marvellous holiday and we would recommend the resort 100%. Rooms/beds were great, staff were great. We had different opinions on the food. For me, as a veggie, the food was great- the couples restaurant was buffet style and gave plenty of veggie options and had a nice variety. It was kind of a basic healthy, home cooking with an international flavour for all tastes and all well cooked. Rachael was not quite as keen (she doesn’t tend to go for buffet) but seeing as I am writing the review I give the food 5 stars. One minor issue we had was the opening times. This was probably just our timescale but the buffet restaurant was not open long with breakfast, I think finishing, at 9.30 (it could have been 10.30 and either way we are not going to deny we were being lazy!). It would have been quite nice just to have bread and cereals available for a little bit longer even if they couldn’t do hot food. The evening times also did not suit us as we tended to skip lunch and opening times were only 7.30pm to 9.30pm when a meal at 6pm would have been perfect. Again this is probably just us and with a buffet dinner I guess they need to fit people into a small window so food stays warm and fresh. They do 24 hour ‘afternoon tea’ so anything outside of meal times you can still get a toasted sandwich and cakes. For anyone unaware of Maldivian prices and you like snacking it’s worth bringing some of your own stuff as crisps, nuts, chocolate bars and so on tended to start at around US$4.

Rachael did the spa and thoroughly enjoyed the treatments and especially enjoyed the glass floor sections where you could watch the fish below you while having your massage (this only applies to the spa at the top of the Island in the adults section). One thing to watch if you are tight on cash is that the US$150 spa treatment ended up at about 180 dollars for no apparent reason- possibly taxes or additional treatments she was not aware she was paying for. It was worth every penny but if you need to be careful with your spending money then it is worth checking what the actual cost will end up at.

Last time we visited the only mini complaint we had was that you had to pay for anything you used in the mini bar in your room so you were left having to carry small bottles of water to your room each night. We mentioned this on our last trip advisor review and were delighted to see this had been changed, firstly to big bottles of water and also a selection of water and soft drinks available free from the mini bar and replenished daily. You should definitely go all inclusive though- half board would have left you with 4.5 US dollars per bottle of water let alone the cost of other drinks- just do the maths. I’m sure a backpacker might manage to come in ahead but that is not really what you want to be doing on a holiday like this.

Top tips for Meeru. There is one decent-ish snorkelling reef at the top of the island in the couples section (there may be others but we were told this was the best). On our first day we had a great time there but on subsequent days there was a bit of a tide- nothing to stop you swimming or paddling but enough to stop you snorkelling up to the reef for fear of being pushed into it and damaging the coral and also being unable to hold steady for photos. So if you get a calm tide day I would suggest prioritising the snorkelling. There is also a free trip out to sea for the bigger coral reefs and you can do this as often as you like- I found the reef from the beach at Meeru almost as good with the same type of fish as on the boat trip but I would still recommend the boat trip for the chance to see something special and also because the tide appeared much calmer out to sea where the main reef was- there is also more to explore and from a greater height so you have less chance of touching the coral by accident. I also recommend the free sunset cruise to hopefully see the dolphins. We may have been lucky but we caught a great school of maybe up to 50 dolphins doing what dolphins do best!

Also top “stupid English” tips for Meeru is remember the glass doors on your apartment sea-side are set to lock behind you unless you adjust the catch on the door- we got locked out within 5 minutes with the excitement and then again later in the holiday! If you are not sure then take your key with you until you have worked it out. We also stupidly got burned on our backs on the first day- it’s been a long time since this has happened and came about simply because we were trying out snorkels and underwater camera, not expecting to go far, and then were loving it so much we did go far! I recommend if this happens not to just rely on aftersun but take a trip to the doctor on the island who can give you something better. Obviously I have no way of knowing whether this really did speed up the recovery but I suspect it helped and although the sunburn was not that serious it was bad enough for me to hide my back from the sun for a couple of days- once we got the ointments things seemed to get better quickly so however silly you feel or however minor you think it is, I would recommend getting it sorted rather than lose part of your holiday. Prices were similar to English prescription prices and no sign of any consultation fees.

We also got bitten a fair bit on our first couple of days- again something that hasn’t happened for a long time. We always swore by Bens 100 (100% deet) but this time it didn’t seem to work- maybe it was just an old bottle but as a result instead of just doing dawn and dusk we moved to 3 applications a day and, together with more careful application, this sorted things and we got no more bites. So definitely take insect repellent and something for any bites you get- as well as the creams we swear by our insect bite clicker which you put over the bite and click giving a small electrical current that does something to stop the itching.

We were worried by a few reviews that talked about overbooking and having to be transferred to another island for a few days. This did not happen to us and has possibly been sorted as we did receive a couple of flyers through our letterbox offering free alternative stays for a few nights either on a cruise aboard a boat visiting other Islands or an alternative Island. This may possibly mean that they have avoided forcing it on anyone by making these offers and getting people already on the Island to take this up. Either way you may want to think in advance whether you want to take any of these offers up- we just wanted to chill and were staying put but if you feel more active and want to experience more of the Maldives for free then it might be for you. The offers stopped after two attempts so it might mean either the overbooking was not serious and they got enough takers or just gave up on us taking the bait. The second offer we thought was better as it offered another Island rather than just nights aboard a ship so if you want to gamble on getting better offers you might want to wait but then obviously you might miss out.

Meeru airport was good and much improved on our last visit- it only took about 15 minutes from landing to being out of the airport. Little tip- if you need the toilet at Meeru then go before passport control as there aren’t any while you are waiting for baggage. You don’t need to panic to get in a queue at passport control- they were quick and efficient. The departures lounge seems to have improved immensely and for any smokers they DO have a smoking area once you have gone through security. Duty free was also competitive compared to Abu Dhabi so don’t assume the Arab hub will definitely be cheaper. Our Meeru transfer on the return journey was excellent- straight off the boat and straight to check in. On the way we had something like a 90 minute wait for the transfer to the Island. I have no idea whether these two differences are normal or whether it is totally down to which flight you are on. Probably our only complaint the whole time we were there was check out times. We were hoping to keep the room for anything from one hour to three hours but there was a 135 US Dollars charge for either of these which seemed excessive. It worked out OK as they do have showers you can use (near the adult pool and probably others) where you can shower and change but just made it inconvenient for packing and carrying bags around with you. Note the all inclusive continues until you leave the Island which is good and if you need to do internet before you go they will give you a two hour code. The rest of the time internet is free by typing your room number and name into a PC near either reception. Internet was quite slow where we were but workable but you really should have better things to do with your time anyway!

All in all a wonderful holiday and none of the comments I have made above are complaints- just tips that may help your holiday. I am sure we will be back to the Maldives and pretty sure it will be Meeru again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rach_and_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCRMaldives, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Rach_and_Rich,

Sunny greetings from your wonderful holiday destination!

Wow! Thank your for taking your time to share your kind words about Meeru Island Resort and Spa! As you know - we do the best to make your dream vacation come true!

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards
Meeru Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Will start at beginning, arrival from male airport .excellent, by speed boat about 1 hour ,land at jetty taken to reception, which is one of the bars, greeted with fruit juice and wet flannel then seated while they sort your room key, coming to us they offered an upgrade to jaccuzi beach villa no 601 for two days, I e-mailed and requested room in 200"s beach villa, so I declined this, as I didn`t want unpack and repack again. Then our rep guy came back to us and said you have declined upgrade, I said yes and explained, he said ok understand your room is now 221 but is not ready yet so explained what was next and so forth. We went for lunch and explored the island, eventually got in room 3.30ish. The staff are very friendly always smiling nothing to much trouble, would like to say a big hello to faaris and that we was sorry to miss him on our last night to say thank you for all he had done with taking pics and video on the glow party night, he is a credit to meeru and he should have a pay rise because he is great with all guests.Our waiter was also great shafiq, he dressed our table up on our last night because we had gone to the Asian wok for our anniversary, we did give these lads tips after about 4 days then at the end, well deserved to both.Our room was great big king size bed, outdoor shower well stocked mini fridge, although not everything was included on aicl, but why drink from here when you can have it at the bars. room boy was very good and kept it spotless.
There is plenty to do I thought 1 week would be long enough but 10 days to 2 weeks would have been better, because some of the facilities you could not do due to weather, like the sunset cruise it was cancelled twice because of this, and if like us when we went we did not have a sunset or see dolphins you might not get to go again, but saying this they do put it on a few times a week.
Food was well plenty ,so much to choose from too, puddings was to die for and the house wine was well nice, so was the beer.
The beaches was lovely but the do have a lot of broken coral so you might like to wear flip flops or beach shoes more so if you go in the sea and snorkel, there are lots of crabs on the beach which are quite amusing, there are fruit bats too and they are quite big some of them, well cute,
all in all had a fabulous time would well recommend would love to come back some day, this was a fab holiday for our 30th anniversary, and would like to say thanks to the meeru staff for our complemtary bottle of champs on our day,you are lovely people and hope to return soon.we was here from 9th September for 1 week.

Room Tip: rooms on the south east have the calming sea, 200's and eny of the water villas look nice 600...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank krm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCRMaldives, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear krm,

Very warm greetings from your lovely anniversary destination!

Thank your for taking your time to write a positive feedback! Team Meeru is grateful for your feedback and very happy to hear that you enjoyed our service, food and simply a fabulous time!

We cant wait to welcome you back again! Please let us know if there is anything we can do to assist plan your next fabulous vacation at Meeru!

Warm regards
Meeru Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

As with everyone booked a jacuzzi beach villa but was upgraded to a water villa, which was very nice however we was told that we would be moved after a couple of days after much arguing and the help of our room boy we managed to keep the villa all the week. Main complaints we paid for all inclusive plus but most things were not included example my fiancee doesn't drink but you could not get a non alcoholic cocktail on the all inclusive menu (in a Muslim country!). Diving prices were the dearest I've ever known. It seemed everything was an extra $25! Food was presented well but very European, in fact at times it was only the surroundings that made me realise I was not on the Costa del Sol.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaybb1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCRMaldives, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear jaybb1977,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Meeru Island Resort & Spa!

We apologize that the vacation in our resort has not met your expectations. Your input is being addressed with the management team who will make sure that our standards stay of the highest quality!

Warm regards
Meeru Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

1. i booked garden rooms, but got upgrated to jacuzzi beach villa. i do love the room with out door shower and a small garden.
2. there are seaweeds in the water and beach could be a bit rough for bare foot, but the view of the ocean is really beautiful.
3.i was on FB. although i do not like western cuisine and had been worried about this, i found the meals ok. Fruits are fresh and delicious. i did enjoy them.
4.the free snorkling trip was always at the samesite, but it could be fun as there were lots of fishes, reefs are in good condition and you could see turtles if you are lucky. But, the sea could get a bit rough and it would be difficult if you are not a strong swimmer.
water sports costs are quite reasonable compared to other resorts. But, BE CAREFUL of the jellyfish that some times are carried to the sea around the resort by the current. they hurt!
overall, this is a beautiful property at reasonable price. good value for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wennieli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCRMaldives, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear wennieli,

Sunny greetings from paradise!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Meeru Island Resort & Spa!
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our delicious food and the beautiful view of the ocean!

The Maldivian sealife is truly amazing! Over 70 different species of colorful coral reefs make up the flora of this underwater paradise with more than 700 species of fishes and other aqua marine life - its also the home of the Jellyfish. Imagine, while you snorkel in the Maldivian water, the sun will lay on your back and the colorful corals, white sand below.

Thanks again, and please let us know if there’s anything we can do to help plan a future visit.

Warm regards
Meeru Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meerufenfushi
18.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,773 reviews
22.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
20.8 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,621 reviews
20.1 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,060 reviews
12.7 mi away
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives
#1 of 1 in Farukolhufushi Island
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meeru Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Address: North Male' Atoll, Maldives
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Meerufenfushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerufenfushi
Price Range: $293 - $780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meeru Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeru Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Meerufenfushi, North Male' Atoll. It is 1200 meters long by 350 meters wide, about 60 hectares (105 acres). Your speedboat transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 55 minute ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Meeru Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeru Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Meeru Island Maldives
Meeru Island Resort Maldives
Hotel Meeru Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing