We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerufenfushi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Flights
We departed from Manchester, Via Doha on Qatar Airways, it took 7 hours from Manchester and 4 hours from Doha - Male. Male airport is small to arrive at, quite humid in the airport whilst waiting to get through passport control. We then has a two hour wait for out boat. Places are available to sit a eat whilst you wait.

The airport was better than I expected from what I saw on the way, it was air conditioned, plenty of shops to look around, and a few places to eat and drink.

Boat Ride
The boat takes about 55 minuets, you see some beautiful sights among the way. Staff on board are lovely, you get a cold bottle of water, which is needed in the heat! The boat on the way was quite rickety, but on the way back to Male it was a newer boat, the staff showed you a map of our route to the airport and pointed out other island along the way.

Arrival
We got given a cool flannel and a drink of punch on arrival. You are required to complete some forms upon arrival whilst in the reception. We were upgraded to two nights in a Jacuzzi Water Villa, supposedly due to it being a special occasion for our honeymoon - possible room overbooking? I'm not sure, but we sure as hell were not complaining!!

Rooms
JWV 331...WOW! The views, the Jacuzzi, the steps into the sea, the space in the room...the JWV defiantly has it ALL! Pleasure to spend two nights. We made good use of the lighting under the decking on a evening, it was so relaxing spending time watching the fish and the sharks swim about. The room boy was fantastic. But then again the whole island is immaculate and kept to such a high standard.

Beach Villa...411 - Unfortunately our stay in 331 had to come to an end. Our luggage was collected and taken to 411 for us. The BV was lovely, but we were defiantly spoilt in the JWV. The room had plenty of storage and room. The bathrooms were smaller, but how much room do you really need to shower!

The decking out the front had a table and chairs, it was lovely looking through the trees out to the Indian Ocean!

Snorkelling
Try to take your own equipment, it is reasonable to buy out in the gift shop, it would work out cheaper to purchase than rent the equipment. The sea life is truly stunning.

Swimming Pools
We preferred to use the Dhoni bar pool, as you get a breeze around that side of the island and the staff look after you with drinks too! The infinity pool at the hot rocks bar is lovely and adult only.

Spa
The over water spa is so relaxing and tranquil. We had the honeymoon indulgence, it was bliss, you feel as if you are floating after your treatments.

Farivalhu Restaurant
I don't believe anyone can fault the food here at Meeru, a wide selection of food for everyone. Very fresh and at some stations food is made to order. Maldivian night on a Friday is NOT to be missed (curry night). The best curry I have ever tasted. The waiters get dressed up in traditional Maldivian wear.

Weather
We went to Meeru for 11 nights from May the 14th, we arrived and had the back of a cyclone, so had rain over the first two evenings. (umbrella's are provided in your room) It is very hot during the day, and cools down slightly during the evening. We had a few days at the end of our stay where it rained, but plenty bars are around on the island and a games room with plenty to do too.

Be wary of walking on the decking when it is wet / raining as I had a fall on it, it becomes VERY slippy with no warning.

Overall
Your holiday is what you make it, Meeru has everything you need for a fantastic time, take in the beauty of the Maldives.

Oh...Rats & Bats - lots of fruit bats, they don't bother you. We seen two rats, one on our first night and the second on our last night, I took it as a hello and goodbye!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VickyS1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Vickys,

We thank you very much for your great review. We try to welcome our Guest with a big smile and try to make their holiday perfect. Glad that you like the room. The underwater worlds has lot's to offer and is just amazing. We just refurbish the Dhoni Bar and Pool and it looks real lovely. The massages are out of this world and all our Guest like the Spa

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again.

Best Regards
Meeru Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,385 - 3,391 of 6,488 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 10 days on the island, and will go down as the best holiday of our lives. It truly is paradise, and that is helped by every aspect of the resort. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, and every little detail was taken care of. The cleanliness was outstanding, the room was amazing and always cleaned to a high standard. The food was varied and delicious.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top end of the island, and they were so perfect. Stairs down into the sea, jacuz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Matt,

Thank you very much for your great review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back to Meeru again.

Best Regards
Meeru Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

If I was judging this on the meeting at the airport and the "welcome" by the reception staff, I would just say welcome to Colditz ! Arrived very tired @ 8am and having given them our flight details we rushed through the airport so we wouldnt keep anyone waiting only to be told that we would have to wait 1 maybe 2 hours until more passengers arrived and were ready to go. 25 / 30 people later we follow the clip board waving man to the boat and we depart. An hour later we arrive and a hotel rep gets on the boat and orders us to stay in our seats ! She spends 5 minutes chatting to the crew and then announces "you can get off now, leave your luggage and follow me.........". She is then joined by 4 other clipboard wielding reps and proceeds to go through the booking in procedure, basically fill in the form ( all information they already have from your booking ) and then we will give you a key. From the moment we handed back the form we were re-named "307 with 2 pieces of luggage". Every meal, every drink every activity we were referred to as "307" all very cold and clinical and a very disappointing welcome and departure by the same team. Our Jacuzzi water villa was comfortable and clean but we didnt get the sunset views requested. House reef / resort recommended snorkeling sites very disappointing but being over the water we did get to see shark, rays and an assortment of fish but nowhere near the numbers we have seen at other islands/resorts. Nightly entertainment starts at 9:30 and is usually over by 10:15. Whether its "crab racing" or "pitch n pool" ( golf), its run by amateurs just doing their best to extract a few extra dollars out of the guests. The food is adequte and the "hot rock and asian restaurants" stick rigidly to the menu's on offer so dont bother asking for anything "special" even if you are prepared to give them 3 days notice, they are not interested. A few small changes by the management could make this a very special place because it is a beautiful island in an idyllic location that is sadly let down by the awful PR team and the service levels.

Room Tip: If you dont like dealing with an expresso coffee machine first thing in the morning, take a travel k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kayj888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Kayj,

We thank you for your feedback and we are sorry your holiday was not as you expected. Glad that you liked the Jacuzzi Water Villa, the are very nice.
We hope tat you will return to the Maldives again.

Best Regards
Meeru Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Wow I just don't know where to begin. We had looked through photos & watched video clips but nothing can show just how stunningly beautiful the island is. We arrived from Male airport by boat which holds just over 100 people. It was air conditioned so very comfortable. From arrival we were pleasantly surprised how organised & quick everything is. Our suitcases were offloaded as we went to reception, here we received a welcome cocktail & wet towel which was very welcoming after the long journey. Very quickly we were taken to our room by golf buggy.
We had booked a jacuzzi beach villa, we were on the north of the island, & it was lovely. Wonderful views & so relaxing, unfortunately we had problems with our jacuzzi so we were upgraded to a water villa. This was gorgeous & as much as we were very happy with the previous room this was just stunning. We had steps that led directly to the sea & when we book again, which we will, we will definitely pay the extra for one of these rooms as it is so worth it. We used the jacuzzi loads.
On arrival everyone is given their own table & waiter, ours was Shiyam & he was great he was very friendly & told us loads about The Maldives, culture people etc which was very interesting. The food was fantastic & delicious & just so much choice. I am vegetarian & there was a vast array of choice. Salads, soups, rice dishes, pasta dishes, moussaka, lasagne, curries, cauliflower & broccoli gratin were just a sample of some of the meals I had. We were all inclusive & everything on the drinks menu with prices printed in red were included. We loved the cocktails & about 6 or 7 were all inclusive. I drink red wine & the house red was delicious. Again the bar staff were friendly & very efficient.
I would say the entertainment was low key which suited us perfectly. We were based at the north end of the island which seemed quieter than the south. There are 2 freshwater pools at the south but we tended to stay close to our room & swim in the sea. Again the south end has a more organised entertainment program so great to have the choice. We went on the included sunset cruise which was so much fun. Sadly a bit cloudy but we saw so many dolphins & forgot why we there! 50+ doing flips & jumping out of the water it was just magical. We tried snorkelling for the first time which we really enjoyed & it was amazing how many beautiful fish are just there but you can't see them without a snorkel. You can play pitch & putt golf, football, snorkel, dive, hire bikes, kayak or just relax like we did.
We found it was sunny every morning then got cloudier in the afternoon. We only had a bit of rain for a few minutes 3 times. We were worried that it was the rainy season but really needn't have worried. I found the cloud a respite form the sun. You really do need to wear a high factor sun lotion, 30+. i usually use factor 15 in The Med but couldn't here. There is a deceiving breeze & because it is refreshing you don't realise how powerful the sun is.
I am now going to give the information that I wanted to read before we went but couldn't find.
Beach & bath towels are supplied & changed daily. There was shower gel, shampoo & conditioner, soap, sewing kit & shower caps in the rooms.
We bought water shoes which were great, very cheap but the dead coral in the sea can be sharp. I didn't wear shoes for the entire stay although a few people did wear flip flops. We packed a snorkel but didn't use our flippers & they did take up quite a lot of space. They are expensive to buy on the island.
Take as many mosquito remedies/treatments/repellents as you can. I didn't get bitten but seemed to be the only person. Most people had some bites whilst others had masses. We had a natural repellent called incognito which definitely worked better than the the one with deet in that we took. I take a daily multi vitamin/mineral & apparently mosquito's don't like vitamin B12, don't know if that was why I wasn't bitten but worth taking it for a few weeks before you go. You have to take it for at least 2 weeks before you go to be effective.
Men have to wear T shirts or shirts in the bars restaurants & reception (not vests). My husband wore shorts & T shirts & short sleeved shirts all week. You certainly don't need to wear long trousers in restaurants. Although can be casual I found most women did wear nice dresses in the evening.
There is a safe in all of the rooms but I have to say that we felt very comfortable if we left our camera or i pad out. The Maldive people are very honest friendly people.
Tipping is one of those odd things. Everyone we spoke to tipped at the end of the week. We gave our room boy & waiter $20 each & bar staff & chefs $20 towards a shared pot at the end of our week stay. We also gave a few dollars to a gardener. Some people say tip at the beginning for better service but we didn't & couldn't have wished for better service.
Someone wrote about a noisy generator. We walked around the island several times & neither saw or heard it. we did have a few ants in our room but not a problem, we are in their home. Lots of fruit bats fly around near sunset. Grey herons are beautiful & one of them loves to fish from under the spa after dark. There were numerous gecko's & suchlike. Crabs are fascinating to watch both large & small.
We honestly believe that The Maldives has spoilt us for any future holidays. We haven't been anywhere before that can even slightly measure up to its beauty & atmosphere & we are saving ready for the next time. I hate flying but it is so worth the long flight!

Room Tip: Personal choice. We loved having a jacuzzi & the beach jacuzzi villa was lovely. The water villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandy612465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Lovely island, sea beautiful, house reef a bit disappointing. Room nice but cleaning could have been better, service mostly good but all spoilt by the constant noise of the island's electricity generator and fumes that went with it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Mike,

We thank you for your feedback, sorry that you didn't have the perfect holiday. The rooms should be clean at all times. We don't get complains about the noise of the generator, but thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards
Meeru Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Big thank you to all the staff on meeru island for welcoming us back, and making our second stay fantastic from start to finish!!!
Love this place so much, love being able to walk around bare foot, chill'n or if you fancy keeping active there's plenty of water sports, tennis, golf, biking etc!!
Food plentiful, and arranged wonderfully!! Chefs are great at what they do, and always smiling!!!
Sunset cruise is great, got to see loads of dolphins!!!
And last but not least, we got to stay in the same beach villa which we stayed in three years ago, big thank you to Moosa Farish, reservations assistant for arranging this for us!!! Many thanks to all on meeru.
Looking forward to returning, hopefully very soon.
Lisa, Stuart and shelby.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophieandpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Sophieandpoppy,

We are so happy the you came batch to Meeru for a second time and we thank you for your review. Your good comments will be forwarded to all our staff and we hope you like the few changes we made like the Dhoni Bar and Pool.
The Sunset cruise is really a wonderful experience and we are glad that you saw dolphins.
Now we hope to welcome you back for a 3 time.

Warm Regards
Meeru Mangement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I am writing this review on our last afternoon sitting on the deck looking out out over the beautiful clear blue sun kissed water!
Like many of you we spend months worrying if we had booked the right place for our honeymoon - the mixed reviews the problems with overbooking etc etc - let me just say do NOT listen to a word of those reviews and rest assured you have booked a truely amazing place!

After a horrible 1st leg flight from dublin to abu dhabi combined with horrible connection in the airport we were extremely tired and cranky arriving in maldives but once we stepped foot onto the speedboat to head for the resort everything just seemed to turn good. Yes the boat is not a 40million yacht it is a passenger speed boat and the crew point out the route and the islands and any dolphins.

Arriving at Meeru u are taken to the bar given a lovely cold towel and a welcome cocktail and after filling out a quick for, u are given ur key and a buggy takes you to your room! We were given jacuzzi watervilla 728 which was the last on the row and sunset facing which was fantastic we had the whole ocean to ourselves from our steps. The room was fantastic spacious, cool and well maintained! Minibar was restocked each evening while we were at dinner. The balcony had a light a night that would attract fish around which would pass away hours into the early hours! We saw turtles sharks and all kinds of fish.

We were on the all inclusive package and ate at the north restaurant - i myself am the worst person for eating and trying new foods but the food and quality on this island was amazing i had full plates every meal it really was out of this world for al acarte never mind a buffet!!!! Our waiter was Hassan i cannot say enough good things about him, a fellow man utd fan always attentive always quick to refresh your drinks or see if u needed nething, a true credit to himself and the resort i hope if management read this that they do pass on my thanks to Hassan. He even made paper fish and flowers for my wife which was lovely!

To people who felt the drinks were not "strong" enough for the all inclusive package did you ever think you were just not "nice" and respectful enough to the staff? Our cocktails and other drinks were like rocket fuel, watching the way some people threat the staff is horrible and i can she how some people would think they r not friendly of attentive but u need to look at urself 1st! Every member of staff we had contact with we friendly and helpful always had a smile and a hello!

You can also take drinks away from the bar back to your room at any stage just ask for take away and you will be given plastic glasses by the bar staff!

All in all this resort is fantastic i would recommend to everyone as something you must see once in your life - but once you have seen it like us its hard not 2 plan to come back!!!!!! Ignore stupid people with stupid complaints there is only 1 complaint internet access is 20usd for 24hrs but apart from that this place is paradise just come and see it for yourself!

Sad to be leaving tomorrow Love Meeru!!!!!!!!!!!

David & Sarah Harris
June 2013

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear David & Sarah,

Your review is truly amazing and the whole Merru team thanks you for it. We are glad that you have enjoyed your honeymoon with us, since it is a holiday of a lifetime and must be perfect. The The Jacuzzis Water Villas are really specials and have all you need. Sad to read that you have to leave, but hopefully we can welcome you back one day.
Thank you a again for your great review.

Best Regards
Meeru Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meerufenfushi
18.5 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,862 reviews
22.9 mi away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
1,170 reviews
20.8 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,906 reviews
20.1 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,196 reviews
23.1 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meeru Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Address:
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Meerufenfushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerufenfushi
Price Range: $232 - $938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meeru Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeru Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Meerufenfushi, North Male' Atoll. It is 1200 meters long by 350 meters wide, about 60 hectares (105 acres). Your speedboat transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 55 minute ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Meeru Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeru Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Meeru Island Maldives
Meeru Island Resort Maldives
Hotel Meeru Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing