We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation to Maldives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerufenfushi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation to Maldives”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our first trip to the Maldives and my husband and I couldn't fault a thing. Mixed reviews online always make you worried but if anyone had cause to complain
they must be the most picky people ever. Speedboat transfer both ways was comfortable, and greeting at resort was friendly welcome cocktail and cold towel much needed after long flight, quick check in and buggy ride to north end of Island to our villa. We had a sunset side jwv which was more than perfect, plenty of room, private terrace with sea views and able to watch the amazing sea life day and night ( we slept outside one night which was amazing), jaccuzi with amazing views of sea and sunsets. North end Restaurant was wonderful and our waiter Ahmed was a lovely chap, great food selection for breakfast,lunch and dinner and drinks, cocktails, beers and wine with all inc plus was great. Bar staff were very friendly and attentive ( not so much in south end ) . Rooms were cleaned daily if required and turn down service at night which was a nice touch. Reception staff not so good but we didn't really need them so not that worried. Not much in the way of evening entertainment but each bar had a lovely relaxed feel to spend time after dinner just chatting and taking in the evening views whilst listening to some cool music. The only trip we did was the Sunset punch cruise, don't expect to get drunk as only had one drink but the focus for us as weather was bad that night was
seeing the dolphins... Amazing! Free trip on AIP so well worth it. For us it was the perfect chill out holiday we wanted, good accomadation, food drink, weather, staff. Couldn't ask for more, loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Potts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne F, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Potts,

Thank you so much for your amazing review. Glad everything went smooth and that you had a fabulous time. We will forward your good comments to your waiter Ahmed. Nice experiences to sleep outside, it's like luxury camping. The Sunset Cruise it such a great excursions and luckily you saw dolphins as well. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back one day.

Best Regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,161
    1,074
    206
    75
    46
See reviews for
674
4,190
55
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,012)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Well after reading some good and bad reviews I was apprehenvie about going to this hotel, but I can truely say it was a fantastic holiday and I would not change a thing about this hotel. The staff were fantastic and could not do enough for you and everywhere we went on the island staff were extremley friendly.
I could not quite understand the reviews that were terrible of course you are going to find insects and other animals on islands however at no point were they a problem and we hardly saw anything to shout about!
We loved everyminute and could not ask for a nicer holiday!!
Tahnk you to all the staff for making it sooooo special.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard beach hut it was awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne F, Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Victoria,

Your review is great and we thank you so much that you shared your experience with us. We are happy to read that you had a wonderful stay and hope to welcome you back one day.

Best Regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

my husband and I had been to Meeru twice before but this time we decided to bring my sister and brother in law along as it was all our 30th wedding anniversarys and we wanted to show them how wonderful Meeru was! We had a JBV at the north end of the island and wasn't disappointed with it at all. it was lovely when one night we received a basket of fruit for our anniversary. we decided to go the main reception about a week into our visit to look at the tours and trips available and was surprised to see that it had been computerised instead of paper and pencil which it was at the beginning of the week. we were really impressed with this as there was no distruption to any one while this was being done. The adult only swimming pool was lovely as when we went to Meeru last time it was in the middle of being built. All I can say is that Meeru is great for the sun, food, trips and best of all the staff who are always friendly.

Room Tip: if you are going as a couple, go for the adult end and a jbv as it is really relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne F, Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear steve,

We thank you very much for your wonderful review and we are so happy to read that you visited Meeru for the 3 time with your family and celebrated your 30th wedding anniversaries with us. Glad you liked the few changed we made and now we hope to welcome you back for a 4 time.
Thank you again for your great review.

Best Regards
Meeru Managemnet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have stayed at Meeru 1 year ago, to the end of April, beginning of May. We write the review so late because the Maldives was our first exotic experience and we wanted to return from second exotic vacation before writing an actual review. Now, we believe we can better review the hotel after second Indian Ocean experience.

Our vacation was spectacular, thanks to the hotel staff and hotel amenities and quality offered.
We have received exactly what we have hoped to get and for our first time in our life we have felt that each and every penny we have spent in this vacation have returned back in full, if not even more.

Everything was so clean, the services and food so good, it was paradise.
In the first night we have stayed in the Jacuzzi Water Villa and for rest of our vacation in what we have booked in the first place: Jacuzzi Beach Villa. Jacuzzi Water Villa was astonishing, we are really sorry we couldn't stay more than 1 night. The beach villa was also very, very nice and we have enjoy it until last day.

Best to book both Jacuzzi Water Villa and Jacuzzi Beach Villa. Staying on both types of villas, you will experience sleeping above the water but also having access to best part of the island directly from your beach villa.

Food was so great, it was so good that we didn't even booked for "A la carte" restaurants.
Our waiter Shiyam was the best, always smiling at us and so professional but in the same time so friendly.
We have eat only first day in Farivalhu and all the rest of the days in Maalan restaurant, in the adult-only part of the island.

In our opinion, the adult-only part of the island was also the best one, the Maalan restaurant we think is even better than the other one, not to talk about Uthuru Bar, the location of both restaurant and the bar is magnificent, is paradise.

We have done snorkeling on both the reef near the beach but also we have took some snorkeling trips as the reef is so alive and water so beautiful and full or marine life. Now, we are sorry we didn't try scuba diving.

The staff was really wonderful and so careful, you saw them so rarely but yet they were always where and when we need it.
For instance in our room, we had a Wi-Fi rooter behind the TV which was making some light in the night. We have covered the TV with a towel and forget to remove it in the morning. The housekeeper noticed the issue and a day later 2 guys come and move the rooter in such a way that we didn't had to put any towel on TV again :) So much attention to small details.

We want to thank you, the staff, for the care we have received during our stay.
Will we book again? Yes, I would recommend the hotel any time and I just hope they will keep the quality, services and everything same as we have got it.

Meeru? A paradise we felt sorry to depart when our vacation ended.

Room Tip: Any Jacuzzi Water Villas not close to the island and Jacuzzi Beach Villas that are not near the Maal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne F, Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Cristi,

What more can we say then thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are so happy that you had such a amazing holiday with us last year.
We will definitely forward your good comments to our staff.
Glad that you got to experience 2 different type of room categories.

Thank you again for your great review and we hope to welcome you to Meeru soon.

Best Regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

First of all I would like to say that I have no idea what planet some of the people are on that have written such negative reviews & disrespectful comments about this Island & spent their entire holiday taking pictures of cracked flower pots & those who have moaned about insects, lizards & seaweed - Its a tropical island, so maybe next year, go to spain.
There are more than enough pictures on tripadvisor to give you a better idea on the class of each island, & if you personally feel that you are of a to higher class for an island in particular, then pick another island instead of returning home & running it down.
I sat & read hundreds of reviews on here before booking Meeru Island just to make sure that this was the right choice.
Based on the number of positive reviews & the pictures posted, we were confident that this was the island for us.
We booked our holiday with Southall Travel.

EMIRATES:
We flew with Emirates via Dubai & I have to say, Emirates is by far the best airline I have flown with. We flew economy & found the seats had more leg room than the usual aircraft's, a fantastic choice of movies on demand on the seat back T.V's & the food was excellent too with complementary drinks throughout the flight. We only had around an hours wait at Dubai airport & to honest, I was glad we did not go direct as it was nice to have a short break from flying.
As it was our very first time to the Maldives, we were unsure what to expect.

TRANSFER:
We waited around half an hour for the boat over to Meeru & the boat ride its self was pleasant. Some people have moaned about the conditions of the boat, but there was nothing at all wrong with it. I think that maybe they hear the word 'Speed boat' & expect something out of a James bond movie!
Having dreamed of going to the Maldives for god knows how many years, I did have high expectations & after arriving at Meeru Island, my expectations were met & exceeded!
As we stepped off the boat I could not believe how beautiful Meeru was. It was like stepping in to a picture that you see in a brochure.
We were escorted into the main reception where we were given cold flannels & a welcome cocktail. We filled in a few forms & were then given the keys to our room.

ROOM:
We had book 7 nights all inclusive plus in a Jacuzzi beach Villa. I had always wanted to stay in the Jacuzzi water villa but at the time of booking our holiday, we could not afford the upgrade. I did feel disappointed that we were not in the Jacuzzi water villa but as soon as we opened the door to our Jacuzzi beach villa I was instantly glad at the choice we had made.
We stayed in villa 643 (refurbished room) & it was so lovely. Black four post bed with matching furniture & storage shelving, a flat screen T.V & DVD. The Bathroom was lovely, half open in to the garden with a Jacuzzi hot tub with the view of palm trees above.
It had a very relaxing tropical feel to it & it was very private & romantic.
The room & the garden was spotlessly clean.
The following day we were told that we could upgrade if we wanted to at a discounted special rate.
Having fallen in love with our perfect Jacuzzi beach villa we decided that we wanted to stay put for the majority of our stay & upgrade to a Jacuzzi water villa for the last two nights.
We stayed in Jacuzzi water villa 702. The villa was very nice & the bed was decorated with flowers when we arrived.
It was spacious with a large balcony that had stunning views of the sea & the island but we both agreed that we much preferred the Jacuzzi beach villa as we loved the fact that we were tucked away within the palm trees & considering the villas are close together in a row, it was very very private. It was worth experiencing being on stilts over the ocean for a couple of nights but if we do go again, we will defiantly book Jacuzzi beach villa 643.

THE MAALAN RESTAURANT:
I could not fault the food if I tried!
Breakfast, Lunch & dinner - all lovely with a very wide selection of foods.
The presentation was beautiful & the deserts were laid out as if they were in an art gallery!
We both tried lots of different things that we would not usually order off of a menu & we really enjoyed everything we tried.
At most meal times we sat out side with the view of the stunning beach right in front of us - heaven.

THE ASIAN WOK:
We had one meal at the Asian Wok during our stay & it was lovely. We requested a table around the edge of the restaurant with the doors open & it was very romantic.

THE BEACH:
Amazing! ..White sand, crystal clear water, the temperature of a warm bath with fish & baby sharks swimming past you - what an experience.

I would definitely recommend Meeru Island & we will be returning.
We met some really nice people there & the atmosphere was relaxed & laid back & the staff were helpful & polite.
All in all it was a fantastic holiday & an experience that I will never forget.
No photo or video does the Maldives justice. - you really have to see it with your own eyes to see how truly amazing & stunning it is.


Hayley & Steve

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandMeeru, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Hayley,

Wow your review is amazing, the whole Meeru Team thanks you for it. We are really happy that you had such a lovely holiday. Thank you for describing everything so detailed. We will share your review with all our staff. Hopefully you can visit us again.

Best Regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Went there for our honeymoon from 24-27 of May and all I can say is that it was a perfect trip.

Our room was incredible, we booked a jacuzzi water villa and it was so nice, you can see different kind of fishes including sharks and stingrays passing by from your balcony. Plus the direct access to the water makes it so easy for us to snorkel around our villa.

There's so many things to do to keep visitors occupied, like a sunset cruise, play football and snorkeling trip to name a few.

Overall the place is really a paradise and would highly recommend it to anyone!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PMWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne F, Public Relations Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear PmWard,

Thank you for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the Jacuzzi Water Villa. The Sunset Cruise is amazing and most Guest get to see lot's of Dolphins.
We hope to welcome you back to Meeru again.

Best regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great place lots to do or not to do if you prefer, regular football matches with the staff and different themed nights, fishing boat trips, or just relax by the pool.
Made a great end to our special occasion. Amazing would love to go back one day. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DlGenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne F, Manager at Meeru Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear DiGenner,

Thank you very much for writing this positive review.
We are glad that you had a nice holiday and honeymoon with us and hope as well to welcome you back.

Best Regards
Meeru Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meerufenfushi
18.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,735 reviews
22.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
22.9 mi away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,515 reviews
20.8 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,562 reviews
20.1 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meeru Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meeru Island Resort & Spa

Property: Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Address: North Male' Atoll, Maldives
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Meerufenfushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meerufenfushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meeru Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeru Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Meerufenfushi, North Male' Atoll. It is 1200 meters long by 350 meters wide, about 60 hectares (105 acres). Your speedboat transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 55 minute ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meeru Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meeru Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Meeru Island Maldives
Meeru Island Resort Maldives
Hotel Meeru Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing