We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Club Med Finolhu Villas(North Male Atoll)
$1,481
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crown Beach Hotel(Dhiffushi Island)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Araamu Holidays & Spa(Dhiffushi Island)
$95
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Season Paradise(Thulusdhoo Island)(Great Value!)
$236
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi(Lhohifushi Island)
$315
$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$442
$353
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Club Med Kani(Kanifinolhu Island)
$936
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$1,800
$900
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives(Farukolhufushi Island)
$567
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Raalhu Lodge(Himmafushi Island)(Great Value!)
$60
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (6,758)
Filter reviews
6,758 results
Traveler rating
5,108
1,272
236
85
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,108
1,272
236
85
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi water villadhoni barsunset cruiseour waiterour honeymoonfishhot rockthe north endroom boyall inclusive packagedriving rangegarden roommini bariced coffeegames roomboat tripmain reception
Filter
Updating list...
3,769 - 3,774 of 6,758 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I visited Meeru to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary mid-November and stayed all inclusive for 10 nights in a Jacuzzi Beach Villa. The transfer from Male airport was well co-ordinated and took about an hour by speed boat. As this is a large island they have several transfers in & out each day so are well organised. Before we travelled we emailed the resort and requested the north of the island (we were conscious of the overbooking issue) and were advised that they could not allocate rooms in advance. However on arrival we were delighted to find that we had been given Villa 652 and it was ready for us immediately at 11.30 a.m. which was a bonus after 12 hours travelling. The villa was in an excellent location, very handy for the bar and restaurant and overwater spa. We chose a JBV as we wanted a private outdoor area for relaxation and sunbathing so this was ideal and certainly met our expectations.
The all inclusive package worked well for us, we enjoyed the 'daily cocktails' and the iced coffees, made with coffee essence and ice cream. We also received 1/2 bottle of champagne and a plate of fruit to mark our anniversary which was a nice touch. We went on the sunset cruise which was included in the AI, plus the snorkelling boat was also free on our particular package with Kuoni.
My husband went diving on several occasions with the Ocean-Pro dive team, who speak a variety of languages and was really pleased to win their 'photo of the week' competition. He especially enjoyed the dive to the local wreck. I don't even swim but this wasn't an issue as there were plenty of fish to look at out in amongst the rocks and coral by the water villas at the north of the island and I could walk out to waist height when the tide was out and see some fantastic fish and even eels as the water was so clear. There are often rays under the jacuzzi water villas and spa, basking peacefully. Another place worth a little visit is to the end of the pier at the water villas at the south of the island. This is much closer to the reef and there we saw larger sharks and rays.
As in the majority of resorts in the Maldives, the staff are friendly, particular thanks to Shiyam, our waiter for the duration of our break. The facilities on the resort are very good, I particularly liked the guest libraries and left my books on departure. The food is first class with a fantastic choice at every meal and of excellent quality plus nothing ever ran out.
We were exceptionally lucky with the weather - very warm, constant sunshine, after such a bleak UK summer, it was roasting and even the occasional rain shower did not dampen the temperature.
As other reviewers have mentioned there are occurences of overbooking, which should hopefully improve once the refurbishment works to the villas are completed and sightings of the odd 'palm rats' at night (who quickly scamper away) but again this is being addressed with bait in the trees.
We would definitely return to Meeru, especially if we could have the same villa and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this island to others - enjoy!!

Room Tip: Best Jacuzzi Beach villas on the North of the island are from 635 upwards, away from the generator, refurbishment works and handy for the adult only bar and restaurant.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Emma_B_117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Meeru then travelled onto Dubai for a couple of days thankfully -this saved our holiday!!!!

We have visited Maldives twice before visiting some 3 other islands however we had Meeru recommended to us by Hayes & Jarvis when booking. It appeared this resort would offer everything we where looking for and more importantly offer us a rest /relaxation to unwind spending quality time with your loved one - not if you go to Meeru (please be warned)

On arrival our worse fears where confirmed - our room was not available! We initially thought that this was only us but turned out others couples had to use temporary rooms as theirs were also not available, according to a reception staff & the rep this was quite a common occurrence so they did not have to turn down bookings!

We had to use other accommodation for that first night, a garden room which resembled "Tenko" not a great start. Our 1st room was dirty & not cleaned - yes we had been down graded & checked into a dirty room after travelling some 13 hrs - just joyful. After I complained and refused to leave reception until I had a clean room we where then moved next door to room 812. This is when the fun began with housekeeping entering the room on 3 occassions in search of a platter which had been created for another couple -Russian i believe. This was very traumatic as housekeeping entered our room without knocking in search of a platter however caught myself in my birthday suit having just got out of the shower!!! great start to our relaxing holiday - Not! thankfully my hubby sorted this problem out and sent housekeeping off with a flea in their ear.

The next day reception promised we would be moved by 09.15 to any villa of our choice? Another false promise as clearly the resort was totally overbooked with some 10-15 villas out of action being refurbished. We eventually got to our room by midday however no luggage arriving for an other hour or so post complaining again this time to the rep. We where allocated room 102 -this was by the asian wok, good location however it was clear why they had been refurbing the beach villa's room 102 was dark with very very old furnishings & tired. Not what the brochure had sold us at all however I was assured by reception & rep we would not have to move again so we accepted the room just to begin our holiday which was a day and a half in. However to our disappointment the refurbishment work was headed our direction and on a daily basis we had the joys of loud drilling & bashing down of walls the the demolishing of foliage out side & behind properties some next door but 4 rooms! A total nightmare and felt like I was living on a building site, thank goodness for our iPods - Move over Auf Wiedersehen Pet!

Our luck just got worse -you guessed we had to move rooms again with 2 days left of our holiday & putting up with noise & trying to sunbath in a building site ! So in 12 days we had 4 rooms & I found out by our neighbour next door but one a German lady, I contacted the rep who confirmed they wanted us to move to start the refurbs. My hubby at this stage was furious however I had given up and felt this shambolic double bookings / poor customer service, this was going to ruin our annual leave which we had waited some 6 months for and paid a lot of money. However we had been upgraded to a JBV room 112 - a fantastic room, very clean & new put our room (102) to shame and whilst I was very pleased I was also devastated that we had put up in an old very poorly maintained room for 11 days in comparison to this. I was also very upset at the "blasé attitude" by both the hotel reception staff including the manager who have treated us like this.

The all inclusive package you could use the mini bar for soft drinks which was good and all the bars were available to use but food was only available at one designated restaurant, and the availability of snack's was very limited to one bar by the pool. The resort also has two pools on the island but one was closed and also being updated together with the coffee house, the food that was good buffet style and the omollette chief was fantastic not to mention the puddings.

The island is being upgraded everywhere you go as other reviewers have mentioned and we agree the hotels only concern is to get money off you, with little or no empathy or sympathy if your rooms is not ready or your relocated to a building site. I know other visitors complained about rats -yes there are some however Meeru are trying to eliminate the problem with rat poison up the trees.

A final nail in the coffin when we arrived home my hubby had bought 2 golf shirts from the golf shop however one is a ladies XL & one a men's, I contacted the rep via text to ask if they could exchange and in typical Meeru fashion they agreed but only if we pay all the postage fees!
Seriously letting themselves down once again - needless to saying i thanked the rep for trying with the management of Meeru however we have decided to give this to charity.

Compensation was provided in the form of a room upgrade for last 2 nights & we also receive $35.00 refund for garden room and an excursion trip was offered as compensation like so many others.

The Holliday was not all unpleasant if you ignore the room changes, staffs attitude on reception etc, the weather was good, the spa his & hers is a must, food great, but it was not as relaxing as we had hoped and if we would have known about the refurbishment works / double booking problems in more detail we would have changed islands!

We love the Maldives and will visit again, however will NEVER go back to Meeru, personally there are nicer more friendly islands to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We visited in April 2011 for our honeymoon. We'd spent 6 exciting but exhausting days travelling around Sri Lanka prior to our arrival and were ready for some pampering and relaxation. We got it.

We stayed in a beach villa and I would highly recommend this, lots of people are drawn to water villas (we'd originally looked at these) but decided against, we were glad we'd mad the decision we had. Our beach bungalow was perfectly placed offering lots of privacy, our own hammock in the shade and a lovely spot on the beach.

The food was amazing and different every day, we were originally disappointed, having been mis-sold our holiday (we were told by Thomas cook the agent we booked our Kuoni break with) that we were also able to eat free within our package at all restaurants, this was not the case) by the end of our honeymoon we'd both put on weight (everything was just so irresistible)

We visited the over water spa for our complimentary couples massage which was lovely. I returned for a wrap too which was great.

We dream of going back to the maldives and would definitely stay on Meeru again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ELE09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

After a visit to Sri Lanka we went to the Maldives for a rest chose Meeru for the stay, on arrival found our room was not available, thought that this was only us but turned out that 10 couples had to use temporary rooms as theirs was not available, according to a rep, this was quite a common occurrence so they did not have to turn down bookings! We had to use other accommodation for that first night, this was described by a fellow traveler as "Tenko" although the room was quite nice the aspect was not. We were moved to our beach villa on the afternoon of the second day, this was obviously a newly refurbished villa which was lovely clean and bright, but not exactly on the beach still not as far off as some of the other beach villas we saw, and the ants loved the outside toilet area(stood on loads when using the loo at night). The all inclusive package was not as good as some I have used but you could use the mini bar for soft drinks which was good and all the bars were available to use but food was only available at one designated restaurant, and the availability of snack's was very limited to one bar by the pool and there was little choice unless you paid extra. There were two pools on the island but one was closed and being updated, and in general the west side of the island was tired and overgrown with weeds, the jacuzzi beach villas on this side would have been a right let down as they were way too far off the beach and even the view was poor due to the unchecked growth. The sea on the east side is in a lagoon and was generally calm but when the tide was coming in the current pushed you down the shore and it was very difficult to swim against, did manage to do some snorkelling and there is some nice sea life to watch, but as I am not a strong swimmer did not feel comfortable in the sea when the tide was causing the water to flow so strongly. Having visited two other islands previously we were disappointed in the variety of food that was on offer, as usual for this type of Holliday it was buffet style but it was all much the same each day, breakfast was the same, but that was okay, it was lunch and dinner the variety was lacking, and for island fair very little sea food available, what food there was was edible and presented okay. We found that some of the staff were a little grumpy especially the chef's however the young man who usually did the soup was very good and very pleasant if they had all been like him the atmosphere would have been so much better, it took a while for the waiter to smile as well but he did seem better after a few days, and a young lady in the bar by the pool was very good and always pleasant.
To be fair to the island they say they are updating and upgrading a lot and there was work being carried out while we were there, but we felt that the only concern was to get money off you, and there was no empathy or sympathy that your room was not ready, although they did give a $35 refund and an excursion trip was offered as compensation, also be wary of what you sign, on arrival they present you with a document to fill in and sign read it before signing and don't feel that you have to sign you don't.
The Holliday was not all unpleasant the weather was good, but it was not as relaxing as I had hoped, would I go to the Maldives again ..yes, would I go to Meeru ..no

Room Tip: Have a villa on the East side of the island, nearer the beach, sea is calmer but watch for the current when swimming.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have just returned from our first visit to the Maldives.Wow absolutely stunning. We stayed at the Meeru Resort and overall very impressed with it.We stayed 4 nights in the Jacuuzi water villas and it was very good.We stayed in Villa 302 which was ideal as the water is much calmer nearer the shore and the nearest bar was only 50 Metres away. We were met at the harbour by Desi who helped us check in and get to our Villa asap.
The staff at the Pavillion bar were exceptional and made our stay even better. Ranna and Peny looked after us very well always with a smile every day.
We ate at the same restaurant at the same table for 3 meals a day which we feel is not ideal.
However we got to know our waiter well and Manic was always on hand to serve us.
The drinks on offer on the All Inclusive package were limited but suited our needs.
There are 2 restaurants where you can pay extra to eat but we did not feel the need to.However if we had been there for 7 days or more we would have needed to eat elsewhere to break the monotony of 3 meals a day at the same table/restaurant.
Only negative was checkout service as Mohammed was quite rude and must be in the wrong job.
Ahmed was there when we left and was there to reassure us when there was a slight delay for our departure but got us off in plenty of time.
We would recommend this holiday for Couples ideally or families with older children.

Room Tip: We were disappointed originally when we got the nearest Villa to the beach but it turned out to be a blessing as the sea was much calmer and ideal for snorkeling and swimming.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bazbar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews