We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrendous Check-in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrendous Check-in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in August on our way to Saratoga, NY. Horrendous check in experience. Front desk person was rude right from the start. We arrived early and hoped for an early check although we know it's not guaranteed. The girl immediately informed us absolutely no early check-in's today - no exceptions. I politely asked if she could give us the first room available and offered my cell #. Again, no early check-in's nothing until 3pm. I then said will have nothing at all until 3pm out of 100+ rooms? She was rude and very unaccomodating. When we returned to the hotel around 2:15pm we noticed she was checking in another guest - how insulting is that? I wrote to Holiday Inn expressing my displeasure with this hotel and they advised the hotel would do an internal review, but I would not be able to see the results. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and the service was slower than slow. This hotel was awful and would never return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnchris16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear donnchris16,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to help us continually improve our guests services.

I sincerely apologize for the poor experience you had during check in and truly sorry for the dissatisfaction you had with the service level provided by our staff. Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible.

We welcome feedback as it assists us in our never-ending task to better ourselves and improve things for our guests. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    110
    29
    3
    3
See reviews for
66
71
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
240 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and it did not disappoint. The 1st time was about 2 years ago and we were out in the area again traveling with a another couple and decided to stay again. I made reservations directly with the hotel and had no issues but my friend called the 800# and got some strange rates and found them not to be very helpful. We contacted the hotel directly and they quickly and pleasantly straightened it all out for us. Check in/check out was quick and efficient. Our rooms were very comfortable, spacious and very clean. We had rooms higher up which afforded some good views of the mountains. We had drinks and appetizers in the outdoor patio area later that evening. Service and food were very good (the band was not so good). Location is excellent when visiting the area or fall foliage trips – it is close to most major attractions in the area (colleges, Mt Greylock, Museums, etc). We found everything as it should be and everyone very pleasant and helpful. Good value for the price we paid (watch for deals). We would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at our property. We greatly appreciate when our guests take the time to provide feedback regarding their visits. We take great pride in our pleasant and accommodating staff. We are glad you found great value in your stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton,NJ
Level Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here this past weekend. Check-in was efficient. We got off the elevator on the 6th floor and there was our room, right next to the elevator. I said to the wife," This doesn't look good."

The room was clean although overall the property feels a little dated. The bathroom had one very dim light over the sink, no light in the shower. There was a nice view from the window if you didn't look down, ugly roof below.

We noticed a loud humming noise that seemed to recur every 20 to 30 seconds. But when talking and with the TV on it didn't seem too intrusive.

After a nice dinner, we returned to our room very tired after a long day of travel and sightseeing. With no TV to drown it out that not so intrusive hum was now very annoying and practically non-stop.

Then there was the passing freight train that awakened me at 3:15am. Then the elevator traffic started to increase around 5am.

Not a good night's sleep.

We asked for a different room for the following night and we were moved to the 2nd floor, away from the elevator, but as it turned out, next to the hockey team. Loud voices, people running in and out, slamming door. At one point someone tried to open the connecting door between our rooms.

This went on until about 1 am at which point things quieted down and only the loud TV could be heard.

Again, not a good night's sleep.

Call me crazy but I don't think we'll be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ABFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during you stay. We are currently taking the necessary measures to enhance the lighting in the bathroom area. I do invite you to return to our property as it is our goal to satisfy every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very helpful and courteous. Room was super clean, bed was very comfortable, we even had a choice of pillows! Had many people in the area for a car show that weekend, all were pleasant and the hotel was quiet. Check out at the desk was a breeze Would stay there again. A++.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at our property. We glad to hear that you found the rooms to be very clean and that you were able to receive a great rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Good clean rooms, nice and friendly staff. Fair prices. A very good holiday inn.
Perfect located for a trip through the green mountains. Breakfast till ten o'clock. Tip: don't go to dunkin donuts, the coffee was awful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianSummer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you found our property to be very accommodating, and that you were able to enjoy the great local surroundings on your visit to the Berkshires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, BC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We got off to a bad start on our first night. We were put into a room, which they told us was an upgrade, right next to the elevator (Room 710 - beware). We arrived at midnight, so too late to do anything, but it had to have been the noisiest room I've ever stayed in. The elevator was like listening to construction all night.

The staff were very sympathetic and relocated us the next morning to a much quieter room and also threw in a free breakfast, which was nice. Our new room was great. Nice view, very comfie bed, up to date and clean.

Would most definitely stay here again, just stay away from the rooms by the elevators.

And also. It is very centrally located and easy to see the town by foot.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room beside the elevators. Room 710 was a very noisy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We apologize for inconveniences that you had experienced during your stay. It is very nice to hear that our staff was able to be so accommodating and relocate your room to a more suitable location. We look forward to your return to the Berkshires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Although I didn't have high expectations, I was extremely happy with our accomodations. But what stood out the most to me was the extra friendly and helpful staff. Not only did they let us come back to the hotel for a shower in the pool locker room after we'd checked out earlier that same day (We hiked Mt. Greylock and got back to the hotel around 3:00), but they even gave us soap and shampoo to use. We so appreciated the hospitality and felt great for the 2 1/2 hour drive home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We take great pride in the friendliness of our staff, and we are delighted to hear that we were able to be most accommodating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
0.3 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
18.5 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
3.7 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Berkshires

Property: Holiday Inn Berkshires
Address: 40 Main St, North Adams, MA 01247-3460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Berkshires 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn-Berkshires is located in the foothills of the Berkshire Mountains. The entire hotel was remodeled in Nov 2011 and is the ideal choice to explore all the Berkshire museums, theatres, historic sites and outdoor activities. The hotel features an indoor pool, hot tub, two saunas, a cardio room and a game room. Our restaurant serves breakfast and dinner daily and features a covered patio for outdoor dining during the summer months. We also have free Wi-fi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Adams
North Adams Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing