We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Although I didn't have high expectations, I was extremely happy with our accomodations. But what stood out the most to me was the extra friendly and helpful staff. Not only did they let us come back to the hotel for a shower in the pool locker room after we'd checked out earlier that same day (We hiked Mt. Greylock and got back to the hotel around 3:00), but they even gave us soap and shampoo to use. We so appreciated the hospitality and felt great for the 2 1/2 hour drive home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We take great pride in the friendliness of our staff, and we are delighted to hear that we were able to be most accommodating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 230 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

I grew up there and that hotel has gone through some bad times, but Holiday Inn seems to have gotten it right with this place. The rooms were great and clean and the staff was some of the friendliest ever! The pool/hot tub area was spotless. I was very impressed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulsPlace265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for staying at our property on your return to the Berkshires. We are very pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Right in the North Adams downtown for easy walking along the main street, and N. Adams is well positioned for a trip either south into the Berkshires or north into SW Vermont for sight-seeing.
The hotel is modern and clean.
The price was good, especially with AAA discount.
Only disadvantages were
1) the bathroom -- too dim; needs a ceiling light for the shower and overall room, not just the dim fixture above bathroom mirror.. And 2) the lack of breakfast being included; slows you down in the morning if you have to go out looking for a reasonable, simple breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaturalToBeGone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience some of what downtown North Adams has to offer. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay and we are currently taking the necessary steps to enhance the lighting in the bathroom area. I do encourage you to join us for breakfast in our full service restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is located in a somewhat depressed town. However there is a wonderful museum for Contemporary Art and interesting Art Galleries. I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights with a small Road Scholar Group of 15. They gave me a large "handicapped room" with a bath tub with grab bars and a shower seat at no extra charge. This was much appreciated despite the lack of a view. (The room looked out over the roof.) The room was kept adequately clean, but there were stains on the carpet. The fitness room, lap pool, whirlpool and (2) sauna's were in the basement. It was quiet there and I made good use of it. Unfortunately, there is no outdoor area to relax (except for a few benches in front of the hotel).
Our group had all meals except for one at the hotel. At dinner, the food was generally very overcooked. Apparently, it was cooked way ahead of time and kept warm. The food provided for breakfast and lunch was minimal and often of poor quality (e.g. cold and dried out quiches, unripe fruit and packaged bread.)
Even though the hotel itself was nice, I would not stay there again on a group tour if I had to eat more than breakfast at the hotel.

Room Tip: If the traveler can benefit for a handicapped room, it is wise to ask for it. Otherwise, I would adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilhelmina87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at our property. It pleases us to know that we were able to meet your specific rooming needs. We apologize for the experiences you encountered during meal services as the meal menus and serving times were selected by the tour leader. We invite you to return to our property on your next visit to the Berkshires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

There are not many options in the Berkshires in the summer that aren't overpriced and fully booked - the Holiday Inn was a fine choice as I rambled through New England. The check in process was painless, the staff appropriately helpful and the location is convenient to walk to restaurants and the movie theater.

There was a wedding reception the same day that I stayed and even though the wedding party was clearly having a great time, it did not affect restful sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennismomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide great feedback regarding your stay. We are pleased to hear that you were able to receive a high quality rest and enjoy the local festivities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Wasnt expecting much,particularly as I was on a Priority Club free night on the evening of Memorial Day but Hotel was just what was needed. Great large and clean room looking down Main Street. Easy walk to Mass MoCa ,shops and restaurants.
Special word for the lady on the front desk with a trainee in tow - she was superb!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for joining us for the Memorial Day weekend. We are very pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be most accommodating. We take great pride in the quality of service that our employees provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

There are not many options in the area, I had to be in town for work, so I booked an executive king room, which was "tired" at best. The furnishings were old and drab color, lighting in the bathroom was especially poor. But the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and I had the fridge and microwave that I asked for which is the most important thing.

When traveling in the area for work again I would stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Ms_Dragon,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased you have noticed the cleanliness of our rooms. However, It is unfortunate the hotel conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your stay at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
0.3 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
697 reviews
12.9 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
5.1 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
4.0 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
474 reviews
20.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Berkshires

Address: 40 Main St, North Adams, MA 01247-3460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range: $110 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Berkshires 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn-Berkshires is located in the foothills of the Berkshire Mountains. The entire hotel was remodeled in Nov 2011 and is the ideal choice to explore all the Berkshire museums, theatres, historic sites and outdoor activities. The hotel features an indoor pool, hot tub, two saunas, a cardio room and a game room. Our restaurant serves breakfast and dinner daily and features a covered patio for outdoor dining during the summer months. We also have free Wi-fi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Adams
North Adams Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing