We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Hotels in the Berkshires in the summer are expensive, but the senior rate I got for a one nite stay was comaparable to, or less than, others places I considered in the area. We wanted to be close to Mass MOCA and Willaimstown. Newly renovated the room and bathroom were large and very clean, the room decor fine and the staff friendly and helpful. (They even gave a little "gift" bag for being a Priority Club member.) The room was very quiet. Wifi worked fine and was easy to access. Refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker all good features. The one room feature that could be improved is lighting. Breakfast was not included but the restaurant in the hotel was reasonably priced and good. I prefer this to the typical free buffet. (Later learned about Brew Ha Ha --close by and great for breakfast or lunch.)

This hotel is not "charming" ; it is a high rise in the heart of "downtown" North Adams, but it was great to have a large, comfortable modern room. It's a short walk to Mass MOCA and there are good restaurants close by. We had been traveling for days and there was a nice laundry facility in the hotel close to the large indoor pool/whirlpool/sauna facility so we were able to relax while doing laundry.

This was one of the better Holdiay Inns I have stayed in and would return.

Room Tip: Request higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grover33Raleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    112
    30
    3
    4
See reviews for
68
72
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel has been recently renovated. The hotel looks really nice with all the new improvements that have been done. The rooms are nicely decorated and modern. Beds were pretty comfortable. We love the fact that this is a non-smoking hotel. The staff was pleasant. Rooms include a new fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and flat screen TV. The hotel is located in the downtown area and there are many places to dine within walking distance. The entrance to the summit of Graylock Mountain is a few miles away, and those views there are amazing. It is also close to a natural bridge, and to the scenic Mohawk driving trail. We paid 129.99 plus extra for state taxes, and the local taxes for double queen beds. For price paid, a breakfast should have been included. You may however purchase a breakfast. The rates seem to vary from phone conversations, to what is on their website and offers at front desk for the same night. At times, rates are even higher, but not worth more than what we paid for our mid-week visit. New digital lights in the bathrooms are simply not bright enough. Hallways on the room floors are a bit warm and stuffy. There is a decent view of some area mountains on the higher levels of the hotel, but the windows need to be cleaned both inside and out for guests to fully enjoy. The rooms were clean enough, but improvements could be made. The previous guests dropped a bobby pin on the floor, and left crumbs in the microwave. Dressers holding fridge/microwave were not wiped down or dusted very well at all. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn, and would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellaca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The place is a rip off but since there are really few options in the area they can get away with charging exorbitant rates. The room was average, staff pleasant and the town is beautiful, but really not worth the price. The internet connection was awful; I've never had such trouble connecting and staying connected as I did here. No free breakfast either. Fridge and microwave were a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Manager_HIB, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Berkshires and thank you for your feedback. We are happy you liked our friendly staff as well as the refrigerator and microwave in-room amenities. We take the feedback we receive from our guests very seriously.

I'm sorry you were displeased with your rate at our establishment, but our rates are based on occupancy and availability and are very competitive with the other hotels in the area.

If you ever need assistance with our wi-fi you can call the front desk and they will be more than happy to help or contact our provider to see if there are any known issues. Our wi-fi is typically very dependable, and I apologize that you had difficulties connecting. Also, there is a 1-800 number on the wi-fi passcard you received that will help you resolve directly any issues you have. It connects to our wireless provider at any time and they can detect if there is an issue in the hotel.



Sarah Russell
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We used this hotel for one weekend night as we spent some time exploring the Berkshires. You can tell that the hotel had gone through some recent renovations, as the rooms were updated and very clean. The staff was very friendly. We did end up paying a little extra for a breakfast coupon and ate at the hotel for breakfast on Sunday morning. I thought the food was very good and we had a very pleasant waitress who was a pleasure to talk to. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a nice stopover candidate. The rate was a little on the high side, but not too tough to take.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLike2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were here for a family weekend in the Berkshires. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff. Breakfast is not included in price. We had stayed at this hotel years ago and were pleasantly surprised at the renovations. Parking was convenient, right outside the door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolann240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham
Level Contributor
186 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place is much much better than years ago since it had been remodeled. we were on the 7th floor = executive floor so can't speak for the rest of the place.

no more cigarette smell as all non smoking. good beds. frig and microwave. 2 queens.

room could use more light. table had two chairs which was handy but no light on that side of the room at all. AC a bit noisy at times.

and of course all the hotels use the duvets in the summer which is silly given that you are running the AC to cool the room off and then they give you a heavy quilt.

also the wireless internet was a bit slow at times. they need to work on that.

on the positive side they do or did take sat night only reservations which you can't get in williamstown or lenox at any decent place.

breakfast not included. restuarant available next door but no buffet. a bit of a nuisance.

would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the Holiday Inn Berkshires. We strive to meet and exceed the needs of our guests and are thrilled to hear that you are pleased and hope to see you again soon.

I can assure you that all of our guest rooms meet the same standards as your Executive Room, the only difference is that the executive rooms have some added features such as an iPod docking station, Keurig coffeemaker, and charging station that are not in our standard rooms.

While we do not offer a continental breakfast, we do feature a rate that includes a voucher for breakfast in our restaurant. Our full service restaurant serves breakfast from 6:30 am to 10:00 am everyday.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel!

Best,

Sarah Russell
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

You will find this hotel a nice surprise as it has undergone recent renovations, The rooms have been modernized and the beds are extremely comfortable. Perfect for a weekend stay and enjoying this Norman Rockwell city in the Berkshires where I find the air to be refreshing. You will find some of the local restaurants to have some fantastic food and beverages without the tourist trappings that some of the Berkshire locations often have.
A nice base from which to explore that area, and the ride on the Mohawk trail has some spetacular views. As well, take a ride or hike up Mt. Greylock and enjoy some of the best views in Massachusetts.
The hotel also caters well to the business traveler and has designed rooms in catering to that clientele as well.

Room Tip: The upper floors for the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
0.3 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
615 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
299 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
20.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
3.7 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Berkshires

Property: Holiday Inn Berkshires
Address: 40 Main St, North Adams, MA 01247-3460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Berkshires 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn-Berkshires is located in the foothills of the Berkshire Mountains. The entire hotel was remodeled in Nov 2011 and is the ideal choice to explore all the Berkshire museums, theatres, historic sites and outdoor activities. The hotel features an indoor pool, hot tub, two saunas, a cardio room and a game room. Our restaurant serves breakfast and dinner daily and features a covered patio for outdoor dining during the summer months. We also have free Wi-fi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Adams
North Adams Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing