We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Richmond Grille is a hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Berkshires

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Richmond Grille is a hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

I had the most delicious beef stew here. This is an unbelievable hidden gem sitting right in the middle of North Adams. I ate alone at the bar, which was filled with a lot of guys, and the bartender made me feel comfortable and welcome. The inside is beautiful and the food was homemade, fresh & wonderful. If I were in need of hosting a party I think this would be a wonderful spot, the dining area is open and beautiful. This is a comfortable sofa/chair area to sit and relax if you want to enjoy just a drink with a friend. Who would have guessed this restuarant was in North Adams. Highly recommend you go visit.

Room Tip: I did not stay here but have hosted meeting here, very accommondating and polite. This was my firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hello420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    109
    29
    3
    3
See reviews for
64
71
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed here for orientation at MCLA. The room was good sized and clean, with a nice mountain view. Internet was quick and consistent. The room had a fridge and microwave as well as a coffee maker. Beds were comfortable.
My only critique is the old heater blower arrangement which is so hard to control.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nannya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Holiday Inn in North Adams last weekend. My son is a recent graduate of Williams College, so our family has been to this Holiday Inn numerous times and we have always been comfortable and pleased with the value for the price. I have to say that even though I am familiar with the property, I was amazed by the luxury of the recently renovated rooms. The bed was so comfortable that I really wanted to take it home with me! The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean, and I am a real stickler when it comes to cleanliness. The location was perfect for our purposes and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: An added treat at this hotel is the view of the famous steeples of North Adams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brouillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Spacious room. Recently renovated. The person on staff at the front desk did not seem very talkative. Conveniently located very close to Mass MOCA.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vico101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

This is not a bad hotel, but it isn't a great one either. It is an older property which was renovated. Usually this is pretty obvious, but they did a good job with this one. The only way I could tell was the general style of the building (not a typical Holiday Inn layout), the door hinges, and the heater unit.

My room on the 7th floor had all new furniture in the current Holiday Inn style, as well as new microwave, TV, and refridgerator. Bed was reasonably comfortable and the room itself was very generous. Maybe the biggest king-size room I have stayed in that wasn't a suite or a room with a couch. I especially liked the big entryway- some rooms have a narrow hallway when you open the door which makes bring in luggage a pain. This one has a big entryway and taking big luggage in and out is no problem. There are at least 8 different restaurants (probably more) within easy walking distance, including the hotel restaurant. For many of these, it would take longer to go to your car and drive there than it would take to walk. If you haven't been to North Adams before, the restaurants nearby have a good selection and variety.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Parking is free and the lot seems big enough, which is very good because parking is somewhat limited in the downtown area to parking meter spots only.

And now the bad. Although my room itself was huge, with a giant entryway and generous main room, the bathroom is fairly small. Not the smallest out there, and not overly cramped, but given the room size it is a little small. The bathroom also has extremely poor lighting in the shower. The only lights are recessed vanity lights over the sink, which do not light the shower at all.

The heater/AC unit is also another bad point. When they renovated the hotel they kept the original heating units it seems. It is your standard Hi/lo heat, Hi/lo cool, and fan unit with cooler/warmer dial. I stayed in the winter, and even the lowest heater setting would make the room stifling hot within a very short time. I had to turn it on and off periodically because of the poor control. For 1 night maybe this is tolerable, but this became the bane of my existence during my 5-day stay.

I would investigate other hotels in the area before rushing to book here again, mostly because of the heater issue.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrrogertheshrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

i had little choice but to stay here late october and the room was clean and bed comfortable. i had asked for the cheapest rate since i was only spending a quick nite. $160= $180 with taxes is quite steep for downtown north adams. when i arrived home..i checked hotel north adams since that name was on the invoice also along with holiday inn and those rooms were listing 109.99...so as a previous reviewer asked..which one is it? and how come the big span in room rates? i did not have any negatives about the room...nice..clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ernurse41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsearcy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you for the kind words. It is always nice to hear compliments about our housekeeping staff. Our remodeling is complete and we have officially joined the Holiday Inn franchise as of November 8th. We are working hard to change over all of the website information so that there is no confusion over the name of the hotel.
Thank you again for recognizing the efforts of the staff. We hope to see you in the Berkshires soon.

Linette Searcy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
0.3 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
22.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
20.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Berkshires

Property: Holiday Inn Berkshires
Address: 40 Main St, North Adams, MA 01247-3460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Berkshires 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn-Berkshires is located in the foothills of the Berkshire Mountains. The entire hotel was remodeled in Nov 2011 and is the ideal choice to explore all the Berkshire museums, theatres, historic sites and outdoor activities. The hotel features an indoor pool, hot tub, two saunas, a cardio room and a game room. Our restaurant serves breakfast and dinner daily and features a covered patio for outdoor dining during the summer months. We also have free Wi-fi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Adams
North Adams Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing