We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveler rating
20
7
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
20
7
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day bed suspension bridge outdoor shower canopy room shelf space rooms face the salt water pool plush towels apple tv field guide mini bar warmer months main lobby beautiful room room service front desk staff mass moca
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 35 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2018

Great location, the landscaping design with the curving paths is almost zen like, swam laps in the salt water pool under the trees, looking up at the stars, most relaxing stay I have ever experienced, better than Post Ranch Inn or others in similar settings.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Voyage536617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina A, Front Office Manager at TOURISTS, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2019

Hello!
Thank you so much for your kind words! We hope you enjoy your stay to the fullest extent! Looking forward to hosting you again!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2018

The restaurant food and the the service were terrible.
We ordered several pizzas that were soggy and barely warm. When I returned to the counter to say the pizza was soggy and luke warm the servers were indifferent.
No apologies, no concern no engagement on why we were displeased.
They are lacking in a culture of service and welcoming guests.
Given that this was my second visit to the restaurant, I don’t think I’ll be going to the new restaurant. I could deal with the occasional mistake in the kitchen but... indifference by servers makes you not want to come back.
They have gotten some good press. The new chef needs to do something or this place will not succeed

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, Food & Beverage Supervisor at TOURISTS, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2018

Hello Janice,
Thank you for your feedback! I would like to extend a sincere apology on behalf of myself and the entire staff here at TOURISTS. We strive to make sure all guests have an amazing experience and I am sorry that we fell flat on the evening you joined us. Please keep in mind that our menu changes seasonally and we would like to have a chance to make your next visit exceptional. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future & to ensure you have the best experience possible. Please reach out to me directly if you plan to join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2018

We booked a room at Tourists to visit the Clark and MassMoCA. The hotel is roughly halfway between the two. Let's start with the misses: We drove by it twice since its sign is tiny and is easily missed. The office is not marked in any way, so you need to explore to find it. After checking in, we had some time before our dinner reservation, so we walked over to the lobby for a drink and a snack. The wine selection is very limited and not very attractive, but the cost per glass of $12 (plus tax and service) for an undistinguished Beaujolais Blanc is a bit over the top. We ordered two patés from the menu, and when our server brought them to our seating area, she informed us that we could have a choice of crackers or bread for an additional charge! In sixty years of traveling the world, it was the first time we had been served a spread without anything to put it on.

The rooms are not next to where you park your car. Our room, number 27, was located in the back row, almost to the end of the long row of rooms. The weather was pleasant, so the walk was not a problem, but it could become a chore in inclement weather. There is no closet in the room, so the only place to hang anything is a row of wooden pegs on the wall. The lighting is not very convenient for reading, there is limited shelf space in the bathroom, and the train went by twice during the night just behind our room. On checking out, we found that we had been charged for two glasses of wine and a beer that we had not ordered, but it was quickly taken care of.

The hits: the room was large and comfortable, with an excellent bed. The front desk staff, especially Avery, was very courteous and helpful. Some of the complaints can be regarded as teething problems, but the staff needs to up its game if it expects return clients. Form should follow function.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank apoltens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina A, Front Office Manager at TOURISTS, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2018

Hey Arnold!

Thank your for feedback! I am glad to hear you did enjoy the room and our wonderful staff!
I am sorry about the parking in regards to your room location, our canopy rooms are closer to the river and the trees that are located on our side of Hoosac river making it a little bit of a longer walk.Rooms closer to the lodge and parking lot are the Gallery rooms, Caravan rooms, Ramble rooms, and the Archer suite. I apologize if this has cause you any inconvenience! I will be sure to forward any feedback to the appropriate departments and thank you for choosing Tourists, we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

Spent a couple nights there w wife and young daughter and v much enjoyed stay. Try to get to area once a year or so, as enjoy the combo of outdoor activities/culture (mass moca etc..) and was excited to try Tourists when had seen it had opened. V glad we did. It's right on Rt 7, just over North Adams border from Williamstown, w easy access to both. While on a busy road, doesn't have that feel at all. As others have mentioned, everything is focused away from road and to river, don't even really notice it. V cool, funky modern design, sort of like a modern version of traditional motel set up. We stayed in canopy rooms which are farthest from road and would recommend. A little more $$ but worth it. Was v quiet. Rooms were sleek if a little spartan but certainly v comfortable. VERY comfortable bed and huge window w day bed too so plenty of room for small family. Nice deck out back, though weather sort of stunk while we were there so didn't use much. A couple little things others have mentioned in rooms could use small improvement (most notably lighting for reading by beds), but certainly a nice room that we were happy to relax in. Apple TV/Netflix/cable all available.

Hotel more generally is certainly a cool place. The main lobby/hangout area is sort of a restaurant lobby bar chill area all in one. Nice relaxed vibe, sort of hipster but laid back, people who worked there were all friendly, eager to please and capable. Food we had was solid (dinner x 1 and breakfast x 2), and nice place to lounge w drinks by fire, good music throughout. Not a formal restaurant per day seating wise and is sort of first come first served, but all worked out and generally friendly and laid back clientele it seemed. Kid friendly for sure. I know they are growing the food concept in time w proper restaurant, maybe another bar on greater property, but current set up was pretty cool. Not a ton of traditional table seating (think more couch/lounge), but comfortable space to hang out in.

Nice outdoor spaces on property, again weather wasn't great but big deck area w fire pits, a pool that was closed for season. Would be nice to get back in summer. Did some exploring of rest of property--pretty cool, neat suspension Bridge spanning river, some good exploring to be had (kid loved it, w v cool huge wind chime structure off in woods). Think planning to continue to develop more hiking on property.

Only two real suggestions (small) would be improve lighting by beds in rooms and maybe have newspapers available in lobby?? it's an inviting space to relax.

Place is v cool, exited to see how it grows into itself as property evolves w various food stuff, will certainly look to return down the line. V enjoyable and relaxing couple of days.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Beckett9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina A, Front Office Manager at TOURISTS, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2018

Hello!

Thank you for your review! I am so glad to hear you enjoy many aspects of the hotel while also giving your honest feedback! Our restaurant "Loom" will be opening next year early Spring 2019 and we are planning on opening our new bar "The Airport Rooms" within the next month or two. We look forward to hosting you again in the future and that you can partake in these new additions in the coming year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Tourists received very good reviews in the Globe and the Times as a very good new place to stay for folks seeking accommodations between The Clark, the Williams College Art Museum and MOCA in North Adams. So, on Oct 21-22, we tried it. Tourists is right between Williamstown and North Adams, on Route 2. But no big deal re road noise. All rooms face directly away from the road, and one's view is of the forested back yard (47 acres) and the Berkshires. We liked our stay, notwithstanding the fact that the hotel/motel is barely open and the staff still have a variety of punch list fixes/accessories that need further thinking. But first, the good things: our room was spacious, nicely arranged, had a very nice king size bed, the shower was just fine, and there was good built in drawer space for both wife and me. Our view, from the lower terrace, encompassed only nature...trees and the hills. In good weather, one could take that view in on one's nice little deck. And the window reading bed was a delightful place to curl up and read a book, or do a little lazy birdwatching out the window. I can imagine that it would be a terrific place to relax if bad weather intervenes. But the weather was nice, and so we spent our time over two days visiting MOCA and the Clark, hiking along a wonderful set of trails on Tourists property next to the Hoosic River, and strolling Spring Street in Williamstown. And oh yes, eating well at Gramercy Bistro and Mezzo. Now, the neutral items: the rooms are spacious, but rather spartan; "sumptuous" would be the wrong word. The walls are primarily high density plywood, and the floors are some composite smooth material. Get your coziness from the bed or the window bed. Now, for a couple of improvements for their punch list. First, the bed lights are not good for reading a book in bed, on either side. Either that has to change, or read from a backlit iPad. Secondly, there is as yet no dining on the premises beyond breakfast baked goods, but the coffee is free in the lounge, or costly as part of room service. There will be a restaurant, but it is still aborning. And yes, they need to think more about servicing rooms in a timely manner...or charging less for their rooms. So, we found the room more than acceptable, liked the grounds near the river (and without road noise), and we ate out all meals, with many good alternatives from which to choose. All in all, we feel that Tourists is good, competitive and will be getting better in a reasonably brief time (months, not years).

Room tip: Room on the lower terrace are "woods only" view rooms. That would be my first choice.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lordrob44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina A, Front Office Manager at TOURISTS, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Hello Robert!

Thank you for leaving your feedback! I am sorry you missed our Dinner services on site that is available everyday from 5PM to 9PM; please take advantage of our delicious dinner options next time you're in the Berkshires. I have taken your comments and directed them to appropriate the departments; but I am very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again next time you make a trip out to the Berkshires! Have a great day!

Kristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews