We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst service ever.”
Review of PUBLIC eat+drink

PUBLIC eat+drink
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Founded in 2011, PUBLIC serves casual, inventive American food with an emphasis on freshness, flavor, and in-house preparation. The restaurant offers an extensive, rotating craft beer program with 11 taps and over a dozen additional selections in bottles, along with a carefully curated wine list and inventive cocktail offerings. PUBLIC serves dinner 7 days from 4pm and lunch Thursday - Sunday from 11:30am. We open at 11:30. The bar is open until midnight or later.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The worst service ever.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

8 of us sat down and ordered. An hour and 10 minutes later our food arrived. When we sat down, the waitress said if we didn't see something the way we liked it, they could accommodate us When we ordered, my wife asked for a house salad with salmon. Though salmon was on the menu, the waitress said she could not do it. Imagine her surprise when another diner at our table received just that. She never told my wife she could do so for an up charge. She never came back to our table once we were served. One diner told her she had forgotten his Brussels sprouts. They never appeared. I would never go back to this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawkollect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Owner at PUBLIC eat+drink, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
I offer a sincere apology for your experience Saturday evening. At PUBLIC we pride ourselves on only hiring individuals who are friendly, competent, and hard working, and offering excellent food and excellent service to every customer who dines with us. That being said, we occasionally find that an individual we believed to espouse those qualities does not; your server - the newest member of our team - was one of those individuals, and as a result is no longer with the company. While we cannot change the experience you had, I can assure you that we work proactively to train our staff to be friendly and efficient, and take action when a deviation from our service standard is brought to our attention. I sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to prove to you that your experience was atypical by visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    189
    42
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Menu has changed - terrible service”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The menu has changed and the only good items on the list have been taken off, so it is not worth going there anymore. Rude teeny-boppers are running the place. Sad to say this is the beginning of another NA restaurant on its way out of town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTrails1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Owner at PUBLIC eat+drink, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
The menu at PUBLIC changes rather frequently based on availability of produce, protein, etc; items rotate in and out, allowing the culinary team an opportunity to introduce our customers to new ideas and flavors while maintaining the core concepts that define PUBLIC. That being said, we take customer feedback very seriously, and I'm sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with our current menu. We have an extensive menu with a wide variety of options, and I like to think that there's something on it for all palates at any given time. I sincerely hope you'll return and give some of the new items a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“They got the equation right”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Go, Public! Despite the strange rear-door entrance and the curse that seemed to have plagued all prior restaurants in this very attractive space, the Public has emerged victorious. Best beer and wine selection in town, addictive mac-and-cheese, a range of entrees from froufy to down-home good. Vaulted ceilings and local art on the walls add to a classy but casual atmosphere. Friendly staff and chefs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IcelandOrBust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Owner at PUBLIC eat+drink, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks so much for dining with us! We work hard to maintain a casual but polished atmosphere and a varied menu with a variety of options, be it beer and burgers or martinis and steaks, and I'm glad to hear that your experience spoke to that. I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Loved this place. Food was excellent, service was great. Stayed at The Porches, dinner at Public and a visit to Mass MoCa, great getaway for a night!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CTartteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
295 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“We were looking forward to this meal”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

In the area for a few days and decided this was going to be one of the places where we dined. We were lucky to have had a 20 minute wait - lucky in that we were standing by the kitchen looking and smelling all of the wonderful food that was being prepared.

Seated by the window we had an excellent server who quickly supplied us with drinks. My wife was torn on what to get and confided that she really wanted the mac and cheese but worried that it was going to be too big. Our waitress informed her that the best kept secret here is that they will do 1/2 portions - problem solved. I ordered a sausage flatbread pizza. While my pizza was delicious the mac-n-cheese was downright heavenly. It probably was the best either of us have ever tasted. We will make it a point to go out of our way to come back here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jcharisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PUBLIC eat+drink also viewed

North Adams, Berkshires
North Adams, Berkshires
 
North Adams, Berkshires
Williamstown, Berkshires
 

Been to PUBLIC eat+drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing