We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveler rating
493
219
69
22
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
493
219
69
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews row houses hot tub fire pit lunch box year round spiral staircase continental breakfast unique hotel hard boiled eggs granola the outdoor heated pool reception area chocolate croissant claw foot tub fitness center clark museum new england
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 819 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2019

We love Porches and have been coming here for over a decade on our anniversary and have many delightful memories that it's been a part of. The welcoming staff, year-round heated pool. sauna, hot tub, s'mores, breakfast and farmhouse style all make the trip the most special. And, it's our pup's favorite place to vacation too, as she makes herself at home in the room and doesn't want to leave.

Having said that, it's time for some upgrades, especially the beds. We were miserable with our bed on trip this past weekend and barely slept. We've stayed in a few different rooms in the Sage (dog-friendly) bldg and they were all in this condition. Please Porches keep investing in the upkeep so that you can stay #1 both for us and other travelers.

Room tip: rooms on the 2nd floor of each bldg are quieter
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely suite with a spiral staircase. Two bathrooms — one with a huge tub and separate shower; the other with a tub. Great toiletries and chocolates on your pillow. Cookies available in the lobby. The breakfast was nice but it was very crowded and ended a bit too early for folks who would like a more leisurely morning. Didn’t quite understand their special offering MA MOCA tickets as they just added their cost to the room. We actually made out cheaper at the museum since our son’s admission was less. There should be a small discount for such a package. But beautiful hotel well worth a visit.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank DonnaD741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

Great place to stay when visiting the museum, which is located across the street. Renovated Victorian row houses take you back to the 19th century. Rooms are renovated mill workers’ quarters. We stayed in a room with a loft. Our teenage son especially enjoyed it. Airy room with plenty of light. Decorated with vintage objets d’art. Would definitely stay again.

Breakfast is good but in a cramped dining room with limited seating. Friendliness of the front desk service depends on the luck of the draw.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank LHD1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim_Asst_Innkeeper, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear LHD1967,

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel was conceived by our owners and architects as a functional work of art, a colorful mash-up of past and present.

You're quite right that we've outgrown our breakfast room--that's why we're in the process of building a new one, with plenty of outdoor seating during the warmer months, a larger kitchen, and state-of-the-art geothermal and photovoltaic systems. This new facility, which will also serve as event space and a recording studio, will be called, aptly enough, the Studio and is scheduled to open this summer.

We very much regret that you found the friendliness of our front-desk staff uneven. If you'd be willing to contact me directly, I'd like to talk to you about it and get your specific recommendations for how we can improve. Customer service is our top priority.

Thank you for visiting the Porches Inn at MASS MoCA. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

Had a truly lovely stay at Porches. The location could not be better (across the street) for those visiting Mass MoCA. Loved the history of the place (a series of colorful converted row houses). The accommodation was the perfect blend of a charming country inn feel, but completely updated and with modern touches (like a glass Kohler shower). The bathroom was also massive and beds deeply comfortable. The facilities are big enough that you don’t feel stifled like at a smaller true B&B. We loved the 24/7 outdoor heated pool and hot tub, as well as the Harney & Sons tea always available in the lobby. Breakfast was solid as well. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
12  Thank kdevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

I received a gift of an unexpected day off and needed to put together a mini vacation in a day. In the back of my mind I remembered a glowing review of the Porches Inn when it opened and have always wanted to check out Mass MoCA. I headed to the museum to catch the 2PM tour and glad I did -- got so much more out of the visit! Then across the street to the Porches -- how cozy, how cute, how local Converted row houses for the factory workers that once served the mill buildings that is now Mass MoCA. The common space was casual, comfortable, warm and with a fine little bar to boot. Off I headed to my house and passed a couple of hardy guys in the outdoor jacuzzi as I eyed the steaming year round swimming pool. Later I thought. Up to my room in the Sage building I opened the door to magic. Large room, 2 really comfortable chairs and beyond the frosted divide -- a clawfoot bathtub with herbal soaking salts waiting to be open and poured. Wonderful! After dinner I nestled in = found an old movie on television (quite a nifty TV gadget allowing for all sorts of viewing) and reveled in the quiet bliss. They include breakfast in the common area or you can order the 'lunch box' to be delivered at your door, which I opted for. HOLY COW -- what a clever little thing. Old school metal boxes with a thermos of coffee, soft croissant, daily paper, milk and juice tucked inside. What a wonderful find. Wishing them the best.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank marthap591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillD1828, Director of Sales at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

Dear MarthaP591,


Thank you so much for taking the time to post this very thoughtful review of our gracious Inn. You have certainly captured our essence through great writing... you even included a touch of humor which was especially fun (i.e. passing a couple of hardy guys in the hot tub)!

Our reception area and year-round amenities, to include an outdoor heated pool with radiant heated decking, hot tub, sauna, bonfire pit, and fitness center, are available to our guests 24/7/365. We are pleased that you had an unexpected day off and planned your mini vacation with us to experience the history and culture of our hotel and local community.

Regarding the in-room breakfast boxes, they are an integral piece of our homage celebrating the historical mill workers who once resided under our rooftops. So glad you enjoyed the presentation.


Enthusiastically,


Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews