We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lovely Place, Great Staff”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This place is a collection of older homes renovated into a single hotel. It is very convenient to Mass MoCA, and you can pretty much walk to anywhere in North Adams.
Like other reviewers, I can bear witness to the uneven quality of housekeeping. It was fairly good until the place filled up, then it was more hit-or-miss.
The renovation really should have included better sound proofing, as you can all-too-easily hear your neighbors - especially if they are upstairs from you.
My experience with the staff was very positive, as these guys went all ten yards to insure our stay was a good one - they were very helpful at all times.
I would have preferred a bigger TV in my room - the one I got was maybe 19 inches across.
The continental breakfast (included in the cost of the room) was exceptionally good, with fresh-made bread, croissants (try the chocolate one!) and other amenities. Never left hungry, I can tell you that.
I would certainly stay here again, and have no hesitation in recommending this place!

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor, and maybe bring a white-noise machine or a fan or something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George_Moosie_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    182
    55
    14
    13
See reviews for
143
305
21
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Location around the block from MoCA cannot be beat if you are in town to visit the museum. We stayed a Thursday night and found it to be very quiet, however the place was practically empty! By the time we checked out at noon on Friday they were already packed and sound level much different.

I read a few reviews talking about how rude reception was. We did not encounter this, everyone was very nice and friendly to us.

We were upgraded to a deluxe room with porch. The bed was comfy and the room nicely country chic decorated. Tub was clean. Shower grout could use a bit of scrubbing and there were spots around the bathroom that looked a bit grimey but that being said, the overall condition was about what I'd expect for the price.

Breakfast was a good selection of cereal, muffins and croissant type foods, though we are not bread/cereal people so other than a hard boiled egg no fruit choices were available. They have to go cups also for coffee on the go.

We did not use the pool as we both had colds but it looked nicely maintained. The noise in the morning on the front porches from traffic is quite loud, as well as the creaks and door slams (accidental or purposeful) so bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Also, the rooms do not have room darkening shades so if light is an issue bring a face mask.

Overall we had a good stay and if we were back in the area again for MoCA we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuraNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and the feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mel@Porches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

After a full day of sightseeing, we returned to our room at 7:30 p.m. to discover that no housekeeping service had been done. The beds were still unmade, bathroom untouched, and breakfast dishes remained. A call to the front desk resulted in only frustration. The next morning the manager on duty was argumentative, claiming it was our fault for the room not being cleaned. We expressed our dissatisfaction with the lack of hospitality and very poor customer service. We will not return to this establishment, nor recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hether S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and the feedback.

We are very sorry that your room was missed for Housekeeping Day Service due to Do Not Disturb sign was placed on the door knob. We offer turn-down service in the evenings and it seems like turn-down service was declined. We truly hope that the compensation offered was satisfying for the inconvenience.

We hope you give us another chance and stay with us in the future.

Best,

Mel@Porches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We spent last weekend at The Porches. It was our 6th stay. We were last there in April of this year. This weekend we had friends join us. We arrived a day earlier than our friends. I noticed right away the grounds were looking a bit overgrown. All of the mulched gardens had weeds growing through, the patio surrounding the pool had weeds growing out of all of the spaces between the slate. The flower bed next to the hot tub had milk weeds and others at least 3 feet tall. Weeds aren't the end of the world, but I was surprised. When we got to our room I was also surprised at its condition. There are decorative plates on the many of the walls throughout The Porches. Our room had a display of 9 decorative plates, in 3 rows of 3. 4 of them were missing, but the nails were still there. The light fixture above the bathroom sink had a THICK layer of fuzzy dust. The grout in the shower stall was really pretty nasty. I'm not sure if it is supposed to be black grout with the black tile which has been re-chaulked with white grout, or white grout with black mold.
I agree with another reviewer that it is often not quiet at night due to slamming doors and people in the halls. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom products provided are nice.
The breakfast that is provided is a nice touch. Unfortunately every time we have been we have experienced some sort of small hassle. No dishes at the buffet, empty water pitcher, orange juice and cranberry juice empty, no silverware, no mugs for coffee and no one in sight to ask. I've gone out to the front desk and the helpful person there would send someone out to help.
Admittedly, I did not voice my concerns during our stay. I did phone on Monday to speak with someone. I was thanked for "your critique of our landscaping"

Room Tip: A room on the second floor, toward the middle of a unit as there are doors on each end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 399Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your recent stay. Your feedback is very valuable. Thanks for catching up all these things and keep Porches looking great.

We continuously work in our property to keep it in its best shape and always looking for additional feedback to keep it better.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mel@Porches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomfret, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Just the perfect place to stay if you're going to MASSMoca for music or just the museum itself. Of course all of this great stuff is located in the beautiful Berkshires, where natural beauty and the arts co-exist seamlessly.
Lastly, I'd like to give a thank you to Stephanie, our very gracious host at the front desk.

Room Tip: I would imagine the second floor and/or the back of the buildings would be best, but our fist floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very quiet. Loved the heated pool, hot tub and sauna. Staff was very nice. No in room coffee maker though and had to request a mini fridge for the room. Great dog friendly place and this was a big dog. Nice breakfast area with some foods. Could use more whole fruits like bananas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Porches is everything you see in all the reviews. It's cute, different from the typical hotel and staff is very friendly.

The problem lies with the noise factor, including thoughtless guests who slam doors late at night. Signs on doors urging caution might help, but then who knows, some people just don't care. When the doors slam, the plates on our wall would rattle, in fact they rattled almost all the time.

People have called North Adams quaint - I would not. It is set in a beautiful area, but the town itself is just typical of any other town. It does have a couple of nice restaurants, but it doesn't have the shops that entice you to walk around. If you want a nice Berkshires town to walk around, try Lenox.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street and on the top floor, but even that won't guarantee quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
210 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
411 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
299 reviews
13.0 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
22.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA

Property: The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Address: 231 River St, North Adams, MA 01247-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porches Inn consists of seven renovated Victorian-era buildings that originally provided housing for the area’s mill workers. Located across the street from MASS MoCA, Porches’ guest rooms and public spaces employ a clever synthesis of retro and contemporary designs. The inn’s 47 rooms and suites are fully wired, offering free WiFi, BluRay/DVD players and complimentary DVDs. Porches' healthful continental breakfast is included in the room rate and may be eaten in the Breakfast Room, on the porch (weather permitting) or delivered to your room in the inn's signature metal lunchbox. The inn features a year-round heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, bonfire pit, fitness room and meeting rooms for retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porches Inn At Mass Moca Hotel North Adams
Porches Hotel North Adams
Porches North Adams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing