We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the cat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware of the cat!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We actually had a lovely stay here. The only issue is with the house cat. Out of our group of four three of us were allergic to cats. In the evening we gathered to chat. The cat while friendly could not be shosshed away. We eventually needed to cut our evening short as our eyes started to water and swell. In the morning we needed to do the same.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincoln W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback.
I am very sorry that we were unaware that your group was allergic to cats. Sabine stays in her own spot away from lobby, if we are notified by any guest. We will be happy to assist you with it on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Mel@Porches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    185
    58
    15
    13
See reviews for
149
319
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Here for a Veterans' Day weekend, so maybe it's too late in the season for their best effort. I should preface that it's at least 50% lower than the price of a resort in the area, but still a little disappointing. You wouldn't know it from the pictures, but it faces a loud well used road. The walls to the halls are thin, but we haven't heard much from adjoining rooms. The included breakfast is warm only if you toast your bread. Pet friendly is promoted, but dogs are not allowed in common areas, supposedly for allergy reasons; so why is the calico cat shedding anywhere it wants? Part of my negativity is doubtless influence by the town's limitations this time of year, but an "attitude" of unhelpfulness is commonplace. Maybe they are cheerier at the beginning of the season.

Room Tip: NE back corner, facing the hill is away from the road and the pool/spa with screaming kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate for your feedback.

North Adams is a little old mill city with lots of history and art. Porches is right across from Mass MoCA which is one of the finest Contemporary Art Museum. Performing arts is also very popular at MoCA and they had two plays during the Veterans Day weekend; Friday and Saturday night. North Adams is 5 miles away from Williamstown and it is another beautiful New England town. Williams College Museum of Art and Clark Art Institute are fantastic museums to visit. We are 1-one mile away from Mt. Greylock and it is one of the best hiking spots in Northern Berkshires and the highest point of Massachusetts. There are several hiking and biking options available year around in the area.

The front end of the building has one or two bedroom suites which has separated living room and the living room is looking over to the River street. There is a door between living room and the bedroom, if you are a light sleeper, we would suggest you to close the door to avoid traffic noise.

Our rate is very competitive all year around, most of our competitors offer much higher rate just for the room only and our rate is Continental Breakfast inclusive. Unfortunately, we do not offer hot breakfast.

We have one designated pet friendly building for the families who travel with their lovely furry friends.

We really hope to see you again at The Porches Inn.

Kind Regards,

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had such a wonderful stay at The Porches Inn. My boyfriend and I wanted an autumn New England get away, and Porches was the perfect place to return to each night. Beautiful, charming rooms, an incredibly helpful and pleasant staff, and a cozy fire each night made our few days there so pleasant. We will definitely be back and I will be recommending it to all of our friends

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennilwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend here in October and had a wonderful time. The room had lots of space but felt cozy thanks to the vintage furniture and (gas) fireplace. Despite having a queen bed (we're used to a king), it was very comfortable and we slept great. Breakfast was included - typical continental breakfast, but I especially liked the chocolate croissants. It's conveniently located across the street from Mass Moca, and is a short drive from several easy hikes. My only complaint is that we didn't have time to check out the pool and hot tub while we were there.

One note of caution: if you want to sleep in, bring an eye mask - the drapery is very light, which means the rooms get lots of natural light but may bother those who don't happen to be morning people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited Mass Moca again and had an overnight stay with Daisy Doo, who slept in the corner of our room contentedly. The place still has a good vibe, offers a few simple beverages from it's bar, and has a small outdoor pool and hot tub, that I took a skinny dip under the frosty night sky as I'd left my trunks in Woodstock, which was delightful and very refreshing!

Our rear facing room was quiet and we all slept well in the king bed with its duvet used the correct way without a top sheet, as the place was not busy with few guests staying on a November Tuesday night. Breakfast was simple but appetising affair, with a special mention for their brown bread which seemed home made and was delicious toasted.

Like our last visit the staff were personable and the charge for our nights stay was reasonable

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you are sensitive to road noise. The road out front is not that busy b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidbignose!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I wish there were more places like this. We stayed here a night for a show at Tanglewood. The room was clean and had so much character with the way it's painted to the window curtains to the plates on the walls. The bathroom was beautiful - we may take cues from it for redoing our own bathroom. The king size bed was very comfortable. Easy parking. So cute and comfortable, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for an upstairs room, they were vacuuming upstairs when we were sleeping in a little late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Porches embodies a bright and original idea, turn conserved old workers houses into a modern comfortable upscale Motel. Not only the Idea was bright, but so was the execution. Everything is tastefuly done, using refurbished period furniture and good quality materials. Some minor complaints: a noisy airconditioner, and a rather meager breakfast. Rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
215 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
451 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#7 of 13 in Williamstown
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
464 reviews
13.0 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
21.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA

Property: The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Address: 231 River St, North Adams, MA 01247-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porches Inn consists of seven renovated Victorian-era buildings that originally provided housing for the area’s mill workers. Located across the street from MASS MoCA, Porches’ guest rooms and public spaces employ a clever synthesis of retro and contemporary designs. The inn’s 47 rooms and suites are fully wired, offering free WiFi, BluRay/DVD players and complimentary DVDs. Porches' healthful continental breakfast is included in the room rate and may be eaten in the Breakfast Room, on the porch (weather permitting) or delivered to your room in the inn's signature metal lunchbox. The inn features a year-round heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, bonfire pit, fitness room and meeting rooms for retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porches Inn At Mass Moca Hotel North Adams
Porches Hotel North Adams
Porches North Adams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing