We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Berkshires(North Adams)(Great Value!)
$173
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Williamstown Motel(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Willows Motel(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northside Motel(Williamstown)
$75
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Williams Inn(Williamstown)
$249
$212
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozy Corner Motel(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villager Motel(Williamstown)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redwood Motel(North Adams)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveler rating
446
198
67
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
198
67
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrow houseshot tubold millfire pitlunch boxyear roundspiral staircaseone bedroom suitecontinental breakfastmuseum of contemporary arthard boiled eggsunique hotelgranolareception areaturn down servicefitness roomfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
516 - 521 of 742 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

we wanted to stay there since it was opened, we finally made it last week! Loved the style. Warm and cozy. None of the area hotels can beat outdoor heated pool, hot tub. Sauna is a plus. We loved our room, it was very spacious and clean. Breakfast and coffee was delicious. Service was amazing from arrival to departure. Everyone had great smile. Manager gave us some information about architecture, she showed us couple of different rooms, she was very nice and informative. Each room was different, all were beautiful. Didn't want to leave, will be back soon.

Room Tip: Ask king room with a porch
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glhnsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and wonderful feedback.

It was my pleasure to spend some time with you and explain all little fun details. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be back soon!

Best Regards,

Mel@Porches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Until Porches, we would not have known what "retro-edgy" was, nor "granny chic" for that matter. These are terms Porches uses to describe itself. Retro-edgy, it turns out, is a hotel that offers both an outdoor hot tub and a communal fireplace in the dead of a Berkshire winter. And granny chic describes the decor of 19th-century factory row houses turned into comfortable hotel accommodations. Porches is a reflection of Mass MoCA, North Adams' terrific contemporary art space. The hotel will continue (and extend) your musuem visit. You can read the latest ARTFORUM at its continental breakfast. It doesn't happen often, does it? Stay at this place; you'll love it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate for your recent stay and the feedback.

It makes us happy to hear that our guests enjoy their stay.

We hope to see you back in our Retro Edgy- ''Granny Chic'' Inn soon!

Kindly,

Mel@Porches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very nice rooms, particularly the showers and baths. The cat in the lobby is very friendly and calming. Unfortunately the location, next to some very low rent houses is less than optimal. But the location to MASS MoCA is perfect.

Perception of the manager as a bit abrupt and rude (on the phone), but I believe this to be more cultural rather than poor manners.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MDHMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and the feedback. It's very appreciated.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so sorry that my strong Eastern European accent came across as abrupt or rude. I am trying my best to soften my accent as much as I can.

Please come and visit us again soon.

Best,

Mel@Porches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went to North Adams exclusively to go to MassMOCA. Porches was perfectly located for that but it was also a unique and friendly hotel. We were in the Blue building and had a room for four people. Our kids (15, 9) loved that we had a circular stairway right in the middle of the sitting room. Each of the bedrooms had a tv but we wished that the sitting area had had one as well.

The continental reakfast was delicious and they didn't mind us taking it back to our room - in fact they had trays for just that purpose.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shettyg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and providing a feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and two bedroom suite accommodated your family well. It's spacious and comfortable for families, two bathrooms are definitely convenient. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed in room breakfast.

We look forward to having you back soon!

Best Regards,

Mel@Porches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Situated in the valley surrounded by Western Massachusett's highest peaks, sits the town of North Adams. Originally known for it's manufacturing (long since departed), it now hosts a thriving artistic community anchored by MassMoCA. Only a few housing options exist beyond the ordinary and standard bread/breakfast fare. Meeting a growing need for more sophisticated lodging is Porches Inn situated in a row of restored houses along the riverbank facing the hulking museum. Fashioned with above average luxury but keeping historic images in place, the Inn is a success. Clean, comfortable and colorful, the Inn meets modern expectations with not only fine linens, private baths, and comfortable beds but also adds humor and nostalgia with period lamps, paint-by-number paintings and just enough antique bits. The staff are uniformly helpful and cheerful. Breakfast is offered in the room rate and sets a high standard for more than the usual continental fare. If I had to find a small defect, it would be the lack of adequate sound proofing between floors. Maybe that was on purpose to imitate the Inn's sister hotel the Red Lion in Stockbridge -- well known for it's creaking floors. All that aside, it is a place to return to time and time again.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor rooms to avoid the overhead foot traffic.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank topnotch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your recent stay and the feedback.

We hope to have you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Mel@Porches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews