We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, kinda funky.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

they definitely make an effort the rooms are clean and uniquely decorated bathrooms are large with a tub and a nice shower. they offer breakfast in the morning which is mostly Continental but with good coffee and cereal, muffins.
Adams is a sad town, its glory days have long since passed .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us, we hope to see you back soon.

Best,

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 663 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I were excited to stay here for our anniversary. I anticipated an artsy, hip off the beaten path kind of spot to stay in. For the decor, I will give it that. It was clean, comfortable, and I enjoyed it. However their customer service and breakfast were a total disappointment, making me second guess why we spent so much money coming here.

We were checked in my a guy that didn't tell us anything unless we asked! I would expect someone a little more friendly to greet their visitors at the desk. But their breakfast was what perhaps disappointed me the most.... for breakfast, they served the same thing every day:
stony field farm yogurt cups (flavored)
cold cereal boxes
oatmeal packets
COLD hard boiled eggs
muffins that tasted like pure sugar...the kind you get at a gas station when you are in a crunch
granola
cold, hard croissants
grapefruit halves
bread, which could be toasted

Um....sorry, but I would expect this from the holiday inn...not when I'm paying twice the price for a room! Would it kill them to provide a decent muffin in th morning?!

Although the bed was comfy, I can't say I'd stay here again unless they upgrade their breakfast and get a new desk guy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shannon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and the feedback.

We work very hard to provide the best service possible. We provide information about the area to all of our guests upon arrival. There are lots of hiking spot, galleries and museums to visit. There are several restaurants to dine. I am very sorry that you had to ask to receive these information.

We only provide Continental Breakfast, unfortunately do not provide any hot breakfast items. We do bake everything here, so all bake items are freshly provided. I am very surprised to hear that the bakes were hard and crunchy! Granola comes from Bola Granola which is very higly recognized local company. We have three different types of bread, cinnamon-raisin, farm batard and Multi-grain, which also comes from a local bakery.
Our rate is very comptetive. Other hotels in the area offer the same rate or higher without any type of breakfast included.

Best,

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Adorable, redone inn with in walking distance to downtown. Across from Mass MoCa and quiet. Accommodating to dogs with a treat left during turn down service! Great stop for leaf peeping and close to Mount Greylock.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurpalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and the feedback.

We love pets and we have one designated pet friendly building for the families who have pets.

Hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

For those who like to stay in places unlike any other this is a place for you. The pool area is amazing. The rooms are comfortable and yet you feel like your in a triple decker in the 40's. The paintings on the walls, the plates from different states, all add to the feeling you get when anywhere on the property.

Room Tip: Not a bad room. Ask to see different rooms. Some have small porches, living areas and sizes.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback.

We like being different and we are happy that you recognized our difference.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We celebrated a wedding anniversary with a weekend at Porches paired with nearby art and hiking opportunities. Our king corner room overlooked the pool and firepit area and I loved the deep clawfoot tub and massive, comfortable bed. Decor is a charming mix of antique and modern, and the hotel's construction/reclamation is fascinating, the rowhouse connections visible in the hallways. We spent a lot of time relaxing in the hot tub and warm pool - 24 hour access was so lovely in that it allowed us to pursue daytime activities and then come back and relax after dinner on our own time when most hotels have usually closed those options. In addition to our terrific room and other facilities, staff made us right at home with Scrabble, our wine and the fireplace in the reception common area. The surroundings are industrial mill-town, so it's not country farm picturesque, but if you're looking for a fun, comfortable, lux place to stay literally steps from a world-class museum, this is the place. I'd return any time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiaLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

I appreciate for your feedback. It was very nice to have you stay with us.

We look forward to having you back in the near future.

Best,

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Tucked away in North Adams, this charming inn provided an enchanting stay. Every detail was seen to, from the overall ambiance to the most comfortable bed and linens to even the shampoo and soap. The staff was friendly and informative. There is a hot tub and pool and even a mini-hike up the adjacent hill. MASS MoCA is right across the street where we also had dinner at Gramercy Bistro. The town of North Adams is intriguing: small town meets the arts. I recommend Brewhaha for some good coffee. My wife and I also enjoyed a fantastic class at Frog Yoga Studio nearby. Plus other museums are within close driving distance. Romantic, comfortable, and quiet. A perfect weekend getaway destination.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

I appreciate for your feedback.

We hope to see you soon in another Romantic Getaway!

Kind Regards,

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I liked The Porches and if your goal is Mass MoCA the location can't be beat. North Adams itself hasn't reached 'destination' status but there were restaurants nearby and I got a really good salad at 'The Local' on main street. Lunch in the MoCA cafe --also quite good.
From some of the earlier reviews service at the Porches seems to be variable. My experience was uniformly fine. The room and common areas all very clean, the Continental breakfast plentiful and nicely laid out. The desk staff were polite and friendly.The hotel was not full so things were probably less hectic than a month ago.
The furnishings are eclectic (melamine plates and paint by numbers artwork decorated my walls). The TV and DVD player/free WiFi were up to the minute however. The bed and chair were extremely comfortable. My room was quiet because it didn't face the busy traffic on River Street and I liked it's tiny porch. I didn't try the pool or sauna but they looked very appealing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne Sierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel k, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

I appreciate for your time and the feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Porches.

Paint by numbers and ceramic plates are our signature decor on our walls in the rooms.

Please visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mel@Porches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
221 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
466 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
478 reviews
13.0 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
3.6 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA

Address: 231 River St, North Adams, MA 01247-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range: $198 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porches Inn consists of seven renovated Victorian-era buildings that originally provided housing for the area’s mill workers. Located across the street from MASS MoCA, Porches’ guest rooms and public spaces employ a clever synthesis of retro and contemporary designs. The inn’s 47 rooms and suites are fully wired, offering free WiFi, BluRay/DVD players and complimentary DVDs. Porches' healthful continental breakfast is included in the room rate and may be eaten in the Breakfast Room, on the porch (weather permitting) or delivered to your room in the inn's signature metal lunchbox. The inn features a year-round heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, bonfire pit, fitness room and meeting rooms for retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porches Inn At Mass Moca Hotel North Adams
Porches Hotel North Adams
Porches North Adams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing