We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Enjoyed our stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackinton Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 North Adams B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from our three night stay in the Carriage Room at the Blackington Manor. Laura and Paul are excellent hosts who made us feel very welcome and provided excellent ideas for local restaurants and activities. Our breakfasts were delicious, especially the blueberry pancakes! Our room was clean and comfortable. We would definitely visit again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: The Carriage Room is a good choice if you want a room with a private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Owner at Blackinton Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Very pleased that you folks had a great stay at Blackinton Manor and were able to enjoy so much of what the beautiful Berkshires has to offer. Glad you enjoyed Paul's terrific Blueberry Pancakes for breakfast! We would welcome the opportunity to have you as our guests once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 160 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

This inn was first rate and friendly, with a warm welcome in the country kitchen/entrance. Food was wonderful, especially the home baked cookies and elegant breakfasts. I enjoyed viewing the art and antiques.

Room Tip: We stayed in the carriage room, which had a piano and porch entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Owner at Blackinton Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are most appreciative and pleased that your time at the Manor was so enjoyable and would welcome having you as our guest if your travels bring you back to the beautiful Berkshires!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way home from Toronto to Boston and were really glad we booked this for the last night of our trip. It's a lovely inn that's exceptionally decorated and exactly what you would imagine for an 1830s-era inn. We stayed in the very comfortable and clean English Suite. The evening glasses of brandy and wine were a really nice touch. The french toast for breakfast was quite good. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful and obviously very proud of their fine property. They have a book of local restaurant menus that we found helpful (we ate at Espana which was very good and very close to the inn). We would highly recommend this B&B and hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: The English Suite was quite luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davey314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Blackinton Manor this past weekend. Laura and Paul took very good care of us. They put a lot of work into every detail of your stay - from the delicious hot breakfast, to afternoon wine & cheese, always making sure we had everything we needed. We caught up on much needed R&R. We would definitely return again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage Room, which is in a private part of the house. We liked having our own qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Owner at Blackinton Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Manor and would definitely welcome the opportunity to have you as our guests once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

It is a very beautiful, luxury house with very comfortable and specious rooms, nice and helpful owners and great breakfasts.

As for the house itself it's one of the most beautiful B&B I stayed at. Tastefully decorated, full of antiques (which we love) and still very modern for the facilities and comfortable. The rooms and the bathrooms are very specious. The garden is beautiful, there is a pool, which we didn't try as for us it was a "little bit":) cold. Breakfasts were delicious: home made banana bread, zucchini bread etc.

The only thing we found a little bit sad is the place where it is. There are some villages around with some museums, small (very small shops) and of course Mount Greylock but for us after visiting New York and Maine it seemed to be quite empty around and not lively at all. For those who want really quite times close to the forests, or hiking it is really a beautiful place but I guess you really have to live it very quite.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RasaPr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Its a beautiful Victorian b&b. Very romantic with option to add roses and champagne for special occasions. Easy access to hiking trails and close to both williamstown and north adams attractions. Huge delicious breakfast and coffee available all day. The only thing that makes us reluctant to return is all of the rigid rules and the way the inn keepers are always lurking about, almost too attentive. An example, sign in bathrooms requesting women remove eye makeup before using a towel to wipe their face. It's ashame because it's so nice just hard to relax, felt like we might get scolded.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kingkrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Owner at Blackinton Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Relative to our guests stay in 2010, we strive to provide an environment of privacy and solitude with exceptional service. We respect our guests time away and only respond when requested. As noted in previous reviews, our guests enjoy the tranquil environment we pride ourselves in providing. Blackinton Manor has adopted a 'green policy' which is posted in all guest bathrooms requesting that our guests participate in our resource savings program, if they wish, by using towels more than once during their stay. No other signage is present. We are very pleased that these guests enjoyed the Romance Special in addition to the other ammenties provided during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were celebrating my son's graduation and I was looking for a location that could satisfy all the interests of my slightly extended family - art, music, outdoors, dining - and still give us plenty of time to just be together, a rare treat for us. The hotel is close to Mount Greylock and some beautiful trails and cascades, close to Mass MoCa, and retaurants and other attractions. We took over three rooms in the inn; and they were are beautiful and comfortable, The breakfast is incredible, and there is even wine and cheese in the afternoon if you happen to be back there.

Room Tip: The Carriage Room - king bed + upright Steinway - is off to the side of the inn and has its own entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelmarilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Owner at Blackinton Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

We are so pleased that your family had a wonderful celebration / reunion weekend. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
2.4 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
700 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
231 reviews
11.6 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
516 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
474 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackinton Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackinton Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1391 Massachusetts Ave, North Adams, MA 01247-2238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North Adams
Price Range: $206 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Blackinton residential section of North Adams and affording dramatic mountain views, Blackinton Manor, an elegant 1832 Georgian style home, is home to five spacious ensuite guest rooms, one of which is dog friendly. Unique charm amongst the Berkshire landscape affords a tranquil environment. We are a neighbor to MASS MoCA, Williams College, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts, The Williamstown Theatre Festival, the Sterling & Francine Clark Art Institute, Mt. Greylock, the Appalachian Trail and so much more. Innkeeper Lesa Bennett and resident dog Buddy invite you to share this year-round retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blackinton Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing