We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to MASS MoCA now! Funky, well curated, fantastic space in a beautiful natural setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MASS MoCA

MASS MoCA
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed on a restored 19th century factory campus, MASS MoCA is the largest center for contemporary visual and performing arts in the country. Open year round with full schedule of live events, changing exhibitions and Sol LeWitt Wall Drawing Retrospective.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Go to MASS MoCA now! Funky, well curated, fantastic space in a beautiful natural setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

Read about MASS MoCA in the NY Times travel section, and added it to our trip itinerary a few summers ago. Can't say enough about what a fantastic attraction this is! Great exhibits, music, films, even great food in the caf. Well worth going out of your way to see, and a beautiful scenic drive to get there (at least from the north). We now make an annual trip from Canada just to see what's new.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank JustAskMe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    110
    40
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Totally worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

My husband and I visited for the first time recently, and it was great. The works were amazing, and the building itself could be considered a work of art.

I loved everything, except for the crowds - the Saturday we went was absolutely packed, and it was difficult to navigate through the hordes of people that didn't seem to move faster than a snail's pace. And there must have been plenty of activities for children, because there were tons of screaming, running kids everywhere.

I would recommend going on a weekday if possible, in hopes that it wouldn't be so crowded.

But, all in all, it was definitely worth a visit. Even my husband, who isn't a big lover of art, was interested in the installations.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank MsAmy180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

Just recently visited the Mass MoCA for the first time and it was definitely worth it. If you like and appreciate something different then by all means make a stop and spend a few hours at this museum.

It is in a converted mill which allows for very large gallery spaces and thus some works can be displayed that you might not be able to see elsewhere. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the different galleries and discussing the various art, some of which was very thought provoking and led to interesting conversation.

They had a nice variety on display for our visit and some of the upcoming exhibitions look quite good. My advice; go with an open mind and check out some very cool contemporary art. This is definitely not your average museum!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank nytraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
260 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Cool Installations, Not for Everyone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

There are some very interesting installations at the museum. We really only liked a couple of the exhibits, but enjoyed the whole experience. The Petah Coyne exhibit was excellent, the others were just not our thing. But the space is really cool and this is definitely a good cultural center for the community.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank chris72206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good art, great space.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

I won't blather on - the reuse of the old mills is wonderful. I enjoyed walking around the cavernous buildings and long tunnels as much as viewing the art. I think it's rare to have this much space and thus the opportunity for so much installation, and they have taken advantage of it well. Most of the art is pretty good, although I wasn't blown away. Pretty darn good though. Certainly the best indoor activity in Western Mass.

Helpful?
1 Thank Earlydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MASS MoCA also viewed

 

Been to MASS MoCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing