We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose your room carefully”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Work
1 review
“Choose your room carefully”
Reviewed September 10, 2009

While this hotel is beautiful, the design is as impractical as it gets. Unfortunately, I was put in one of two rooms that overhang the stairs into the lobby. They might as well have rolled a cot into the lobby. Every word spoken in the lobby all night long reverberated in my room, waking me up. If they try to put you in room 211 or 212, don't let them.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seannickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    252
    186
    99
    55
See reviews for
191
162
75
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
collegemom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I spent 3 nights at the hotel with my daughter dropping her off @ college. I found staff to be very nice and resourceful---restaurant in hotel was excellent! Pricey....but worth it. The hotel is pricey for the location...but I will stay there again---much better that the Marriott

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collegemom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Very helpful and accommodating staff, from check-in to check-out. I was first assigned to a room right next to the elevator, and being a light sleeper, I called the front desk and asked if a different room was available. They were waiting with my new key by the time I walked downstairs 30 seconds later.

The rooms feel modern, clean, and crisp (no carpet), with a playful Zen-life feel. Haikus abound, from the paper mats under the glasses to the "do not disturb" sign to the laundry bag. The bathroom has an interesting accent wall with tiny white rocks under glass. The bed was comfortable, and the room, while not huge, was very nicely designed. My only complaint was that the shower's water pressure was pathetic--it was obviously a water-conserving showerhead, but worse than at most other hotels.

As others have mentioned, this place is right off the highway and literally next door to the T station. The surroundings and town are quite safe and equally boring. Yes, it takes about 45 minutes to ride into Boston, but given how ridiculously expensive a decent hotel is in Boston, it is absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boombox9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Room design and pool are attractive - but room cleaning is poor/late, pool is overcrowded with drop-ins and the lack of real breakfast makes dining here a real dissapointment. Avoid!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loss-leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2009

The room was clean and comfortable with a nice desk to work using a laptop and free wireless connection. The restaurant is pretty good although the menu could have been a bit simpler and less expensive especially when there aren’t many other places around. The only issue is the location – if you are coming to visit Boston then I’d recommend you stay somewhere closer to the city centre because the train journey takes about 45 minutes from the hotel to the city centre so can be a bit long if you need to do it on a daily basis. Otherwise, nice affordable hotel for business travellers.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SETALON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Bar none, this was the worst experience our family has ever had in a hotel. We heard people carrying on in loud echoing voices in the lobby until all hours of the night and once again early on Sunday morning. The elevators seemed to run right through the clausterphobic room all night. Management was completely disdainful and unresponsive to our concerns. You're far better off at the Marriot!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof5_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newton hotels

Boston
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2009

The only good thing I can say is the bed linens are spectacular. But, not worth the price of a night's stay. Where to begin....there is only 1 set of elevators for the entire place so the wait can be long going from place to place. The pool is terribly over-chlorinated for an outdoor pool and left me feeling slimy. And when they power washed the pool deck, they pushed all the dirty water into the pool. Yuk. Finally, the cleaning of the room was terrible. It was mid-afternoon before they got to the room. Then they left some dirty towels in the bathroom and left all the dirty glasses. Then there was the ice bucket, left half full with water. But the final straw was coming back to the room and finding the dirty dishes from our previous nights' desert still sitting on the counter where we left them. Disgusting.
When I spoke to the front desk the only response I got was that they were really busy and they were sorry. I was not looking for a free ride but a discount would have been in order. Alas, word of mouth travels far so the terrible service may cost them. Again, dont waste you money.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csevenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.9 mi away
Boston Marriott Newton
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
2.2 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#3 of 11 in Waltham
265 reviews
5.5 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Watertown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Property: Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Address: 399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the hectic pace of the city yet be close enough to easily visit at this contemporary boutique hotel adjacent to Boston train station and offering complimentary WiFi, 24 hour business center and state-of-the-art fitness center. Inside is the highly acclaimed BOKX 109 American Prime, a modern steakhouse for drinks and dinner and Phi Cafe featuring Starbuck's coffee, light breakfast and lunch fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Newton
Hotel Indigo Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing