We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with style in the suburbs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good value with style in the suburbs”
Reviewed January 2, 2009

This building used to be a Holiday Inn, but has been completely renovated with aspirations of joining the "boutique"/trendy class. The renovation has basically succeeded in that the property is now in good shape and has more personality than your typical suburban hotel. In some sense, the renovation also fell short because there is only so trendy you can get within the parameters of the original building, and some of the touches (little haiku everywhere, for example) are just silly.

Overall, considering the proximity to Boston, I'd have to say that it was an excellent value. We will return.

Did not try the restaurant.

Pros:
* Modern decor with more style than your basic suburban hotel
* Friendly staff
* Covered free parking (great in winter)
* Right by intersection of I-90/Mass Pike and I-95/Route 128; easy access to both
* Adjacent to terminus of "D" branch of the MBTA Green trolley line. Leave your car at the hotel and take the "T" to downtown Boston etc.
* No noise problems encountered during our stay
* Comfortable beds
* Plenty of hot water during our stay
* Well maintained
* Free internet and no charge for local phone calls
* Excellent value for this area.

Cons:
* Room was cramped (basic 2-double-bed room)
* Faint mildew odor in bathroom
* Shower only, no tub (at least in our room)
* Internet was sometime slow (but at least it was free)
* Other than the "T" station, there is nothing immediately around the hotel -- no restaurants, stores etc.

  • Liked — Style, location, value
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Xman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    249
    186
    98
    54
See reviews for
189
160
75
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2008

Stayed here on Christmas Eve. The hotel was recommended by a friend who works in the area. We paid $104.00 for a king sized bed and the room was clean and modern. The bed was comfortable but with the usual too many pillows. I don't understand this obsession by many hotels of having 6 pillows on a standard king sized bed; they just get put on the floor. The windows in the room block out all noise from Rte. 128 and the MBTA station.

Bathroom was a bit small, but clean. Plenty of towels and stocked with Aveda products. The bathroom had plenty of hooks on which to to hang towels or make-up/travel cases.

We had breakfast here on Christmas Day and while the hotel seemed a bit quiet, staff was very attentive and friendly. I asked the waitress for information on their pet policy and she returned immediately with a informational sheet from the front desk.
Food was excellent and reasonably priced. One of us had the Continental breakfast and it was loaded with fresh fruit. The coffee was excellent; as a serious coffee drinker I appreciate a rich cup of coffee.

The location is very convenient to Rte. 128/95 and the MBTA. Parking is free and part of it is covered.

  • Liked — Location, overall atmosphere, staff, pet friendly, price, restaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind...
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainiac04101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2008

The Hotel Indigo is a different kind of hotel; one of those trendy loungy-style hotels with strange furniture and European decor. It's a pretty hotel, don't get me wrong, but I'm not sure I'd stay again ....

When we arrived, the room we were given was so microscopic, you had to shuffle sideways to get around the far side of the queen sized bed. The bathroom was so small that when you opened the bathroom door (which opened inward) it barely missed scraping the sink basin. The sink basin was one big square, so there was no counter space to put my girlie things on in the mornings. There was a 6 inch deep glass shelf that ran the length of the mirror to put your stuff on, but because the toilet was directly below it, I could see my things plummet into the thing. The toilet looked miniature and was directly to the left of the sink, and the shower was directly to the right. But because the shower was directly behind the bathroom door, you had to step in front of the toilet to swing the bathroom door shut so that you could get into the shower. Uh no.

Back down to the front desk we go, and we ask for a new room. She says she doesn't have any king rooms available, so she puts us in a handicapped room. The room was much bigger, the entrance way was wider, and the bathroom was easily three times the size of the first bathroom.

There were two shower heads in the shower, and the floor of the shower sloped toward the drain; although it didn't slope enough because the entire floor of the bathroom flooded, getting everything on it wet. Ah well. At least it was roomy!

The lounge was pricey (minimum $10 a cocktail, and $10 for an appetizer) but the food was very good. We mostly had appetizers, though the restaurant menu looked very good. The bartenders were friendly and very attentive, and you never had an empty glass. The waiter we had one night was terrible. We sat in the lounges in the bar area, and constantly had to flag him down to ask for drinks, or food. He would disappear for 10 to 20 minutes at a time, then come back and see empty glasses on our tables, but not take them away or ask if we wanted anything else. There was a group of 12 of us, and he missed a prime opportunity to make a nice healthy tip.

The gym was beautiful. Clean, huge, stocked with headphones for the Precor brand equipment, and plenty of water with real 8 ounce cups (not those flimsy triangle paper cups that hold 2 ounces of water). There were three or four Precor brand treadmills, three Precor brand elliptical runners, and two or three Precor brand recumbent bikes. There were also several pieces of universal equipment and free weights to use. There was plenty of space for stretching out, to include several yoga mats and balance balls to use. There was a good sound system available to play music from your choice of play lists, and the windows in the gym looked out over the pool (which was closed for the winter season).

The pool actually looks quite nice. There are covered cabanas, a bar area outside equipped with a grill, and nice lounge furniture on which to relax. But as I said before, the pool was closed, but that was fine by us since it was below freezing out and had snowed while we were there.

Overall, the hotel was aesthetically beautiful, had a great gym and was conveniently located to the Riverside T. But that was about it. Would I stay there again? Nah. Not that anyone did anything wrong (the staff - except for that one male waiter - were all very nice), it's just not my kind of hotel.
-Jen

  • Liked — The people, and the bar food was really tasty.
  • Disliked — The tiny rooms that had laminate wooden floors which were COLD this time of year. :)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western, MA
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2008

In town on biz and gave Indigo a shot. Heard lots of buzz about the bar/night life at the hotel. Although the restaurant was nice it was a bit over priced and not exactly what I was looking for being a middle aged single guy.

The room looked appealing, nice HD TV with HD signal, but after settling in found the room to be a bit cumbersome. After raising up the desk chair from its lowest postion so they could it fit under the desk, it was now in the middle of the room giving no space to walk between the bed and the desk. Time to iron..theres the board but where's the iron..oh tucked way in the back under a shelf. Wow its cold in here, how do you work this heating system, a bit confusing..and boy was it loud and it was either hot or cold. No in between, hmm

The shower looked nice but water leaked on the floor and not much room in the bathroom to put stuff, also sink was dirty when I arrived.

In the morning I made coffee, nice single cup brewer with easy to read instructions but wait, its not plugged in! Had to stretch the cord to run behind the lamp and in front of the shelving...powdered creamer made it taste bad too.

Overall it the bed was comfortable but I don't see myself returning to the hotel...just too many inconveniences.

  • Liked — floors
  • Disliked — read review
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelnDaPike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newton hotels

Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2008

Stayed here in December 2008. When I return to the area-- I will stay again.
Pros-
-Furnishings were new
-Quality of bedding and linens superior
-appreciated complimentary bottled h2o left in room each day
-free high speed internet
-good location--easy access to T and I-95
-Staff friendly

Cons-
-many defects to hotel renovation.
-laminate floor buckled in room
-slope of floor to shower drain in bathroom was backwards, so water pooled after each shower
-mold and mildew growing on shower wall and floor.
-room overall not cleaned too well. ( I was here 4 nights) Had 1 day of "good housekeeping" other days were marginal at best.

  • Liked — Rooms were "new" and location
  • Disliked — When I asked front desk for "good" Italian restaurant- they refered me to Bertucci's.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goo0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InKeeperMA, In.Keeper/ General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, December 19, 2008
Thank you for your candid review. We are appreciative of your business and your intent to return.

Please be assured that the product and service inconsistencies which you have noted are atypical of the environment in which we operate. These specifics have been addressed, accountabilities assigned and all items rectified.

Our apologies that these could have occured during this visit.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

The interior style of the hotel is very modern which I like a lot. The staff were accommodating, rooms were clean, hotel is close to the T.

However the rooms were TINY. There was room for the bed and maybe 18 inches of room around two (out of three) sides. The bathroom was also tiny. No closet, there isn't room, instead you get a piece of furniture in the actual bedroom that takes up more room. This hotel used to be a Holiday Inn and it was re-branded and refurbished. The rooms used to be standard Holiday Inn sized, fine for two people and a bed but in an attempt to maximize profits the rooms were "resized" and are just too small. If this is supposed to be a boutique brand... well they've missed the target by a long way.

The floor was covered with some kind of vinyl wood lookalike material, hard, starting to curl at the edges and shabby.

The wireless internet insisted on redelivering email to my cellphone resulting in multiple copies of the same emails. When I turned wireless access to the "Hotel Indigo" network the problem went away, problem solved.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Rooms impractically small
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InKeeperMA, In.Keeper/General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, December 5, 2008
Hotel Indigo Boston-Netwon Riverside in.bassadors strive to offer an in.spiring experience to all guests during each stay.
Your candid feedback is appreciated. We did want to inform all Hotel Indigo guests and potential guests that a variety of room types and room sizes are available ranging from 250 square feet to our Executive Suite which is over 1000 square feet.

Please inquire when booking so that we may exceed all expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Trendy, up-to-date hotel, and much better than the Holiday Inn that occupied this building for years, Hotel Indigo is terrific for the trendy person. Rooms are well appointed, but filthy. I stayed 10 nights, called the front desk four days in a row until housekeeping removed the mildew surround the bottom of the shower and cleaned the room's floors. Maid didn't regularly repnenish shampoo and conditioner. Returning to the hotel late several nights, I had to request these from the front desk. At one point the person on duty asked, "How much shampoo do you have to use?" I found this rude. Althought valet stands outsidet he front door, never in ten days did they open it for me. At this price, and this quality of a hotel, I was surprised with the poorly trained stafff.

  • Liked — New
  • Disliked — poor housekeeping
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonetSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.9 mi away
Boston Marriott Newton
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
2.2 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#5 of 11 in Waltham
259 reviews
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Property: Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Address: 399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the hectic pace of the city yet be close enough to easily visit at this contemporary boutique hotel adjacent to Boston train station and offering complimentary WiFi, 24 hour business center and state-of-the-art fitness center. Inside is the highly acclaimed BOKX 109 American Prime, a modern steakhouse for drinks and dinner and Phi Cafe featuring Starbuck's coffee, light breakfast and lunch fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Newton
Hotel Indigo Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing