We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, a bit noisy, charged for an extra night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Alas, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean, a bit noisy, charged for an extra night”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Indigo Boston Newton Riverside for a college reunion. I was disappointed in the service. First, when I called to let them know I would be checking in late, I was told that my reservation was for the previous night and I was charged the cancellation fee, and then my reservation was cancelled altogether. I ended up having to rebook the room at close to midnight, when I was exhausted and didn't have the energy to argue the extra charge, and when I followed up, I was given the run around and they never ended up refunding the extra night/cancellation fee. Other than that, I was disappointed in how noisy it was- I'm a light sleeper and always request a quiet room. I was placed on a high level floor but it was still fairly noisy unfortunately. On the plus side, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable enough. Altogether an average stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room- it might work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrefersWindowSeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with your fellow Trip Advisor travelers.

I will investigate your concern regarding the charge for an extra night. The hotel does has a 24 hour cancellation policy. This would me that making arrival date changes on the day of arrival would result in that original arrival night as a charge.

I will reach out to you personally to discuss.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    249
    186
    98
    54
See reviews for
189
160
75
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed here for a week with my two teenage daughters whilst we were over visiting friends. Being next to the T was great for them as they didn't have to rely on me driving them around. Hotel is modern, well maintained, quiet and has pretty much everything you need. I wouldn't really describe it as boutique. The restaurant and bar is very nice but food is expensive and higher end so no really for family dining although they do fairly reasonably priced pizza. The cafe is great for picking up breakfast, good coffees available and teh gym was very useful and very quiet. The covered parking with direct access into the hotel was great during the snow. Any little problems we had like the remote not working or K Cups not replenished were addressed very quickly. For staying longer it might have been nice to have a fridge in the room. The air-con unit in the room was very noisy when it came on so I made sure to turn it down when I went to bed so it wouldn't keep going on and off. There is nothing near this hotel to walk to except the T but it is well located for highways.

Room Tip: higher rooms probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear MWSurrey:

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience on Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled that you had the perfect Stay!

Come and see us again real soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

had a lovely room with modern decor, however, they could have used chairs that actually fit under the desk. was very clean and the beds were comfy with enough pillows and nice blankets. they had a nice walk in shower, but haven't yet installed safety rails which they say are scheduled. restaurant had not totally unreasonable breakfast prices. staff was accommodating to our needs and very friendly. however the walls were very thin and we heard loud voices from surrounding rooms.

Room Tip: we were told that the handicap rooms only had 1 bed, so if you need, 2 you need a regular room. but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Roxanne G:

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton for your recent stay in the Boston area.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and share your comments on Trip Advisor.

We hope to see you again soon,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Though we usually stay in a nearby chain, we tried this place since it was closer to the relatives we visit in the area. Never again! We were initially given a room so small the closet door was permanently wedged behind the desk and could not close, so you'd be sitting in bed looking at an ironing board in a blue cover. After conceding this was poor design, the hotel moved us to another room where one of the lamps on the headboard had broken off, and the room itself, though larger, was not particularly clean. Loud music blares from low quality speakers everywhere you walk. The white decor comes off as sterile rather than chic, and the sterility is intensified by bare walls and off-white formica furniture that looks like a locker. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not get room 206. That's the one with the permanently open closet door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Julie E:

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton for your recent stay.

I am sorry that you encountered issues with maintenance and housekeeping in your room. Your comments have been shared with the hotel management team to ensure these deficiencies are addressed.

Thank you again for your feedback. Comments and suggestions from our customers help us to improve the prouduct and services provided to all future guests.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newton hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

They promised 3,5 stars and they delivered nearly 5.
Good Hotel. Stay there 6 days.
No complaints.
I appreciated: Free paper. Efficient team. Free shuttle. Free coffee machine in every room. Really for the price-Good Value,

Room Tip: Breakfast was not included and there was no spa. But note it is advertised as a 3,5 star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Indigo.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel is actually located about 12 miles west of Logan international airport and very easy to get to. This particular Hotel is not one of Standard Indigo Boutique type hotels, it more resembles a Hampton Inn type atmosphere. The Hotel itself seemed very clean and well maintained and the the restaurant was absolutely amazing and as you can probably guess very very pricy. We had a small Filet and a very small Lobster with no cocktails to the tune of about $150 before tipping. But,I think this is pretty standard pricing for the Boston area.. Overall experience was really good. Would definitely stay there again for business...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Bobby B:

Thank you for taking the time to post your experince on Trip Advisor. Feedback from our guests help us to celebrate what we do well and address any areas of potetial improvement.

We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel, the amenities and our fabulous Bokx 109 American Prime Restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Very modern and clean... but by far their best asset is thier service. Friendly and helpfull... but best of all you never have to ask for something twice. They do what you ask and then double check to make sure it is exactly what you want. Nice Job! Would stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FACTrpadvsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear FACTrpadvsr:

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton.

Our mission is to provide inspirational service to each and every guest. It appears that we delivered on our promise to you.

Your comments will be shared with the team and they will be very gratified to learn how much you enjoyed your stay.

Please come and see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.9 mi away
Boston Marriott Newton
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
2.2 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#5 of 11 in Waltham
259 reviews
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Property: Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Address: 399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the hectic pace of the city yet be close enough to easily visit at this contemporary boutique hotel adjacent to Boston train station and offering complimentary WiFi, 24 hour business center and state-of-the-art fitness center. Inside is the highly acclaimed BOKX 109 American Prime, a modern steakhouse for drinks and dinner and Phi Cafe featuring Starbuck's coffee, light breakfast and lunch fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Newton
Hotel Indigo Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing