We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The location (right off 95 and Mass Pike) and the downstairs bar are pretty much the only reason this hotel has 3 stars and not less. Agree with other reviewers about the lack of space for luggage and terrible bathroom design. The shower door didn't seal with the jamb so it leaked water and soaked the bathmat every time. Had to put my shaving kit on top of the toilet tank because my girlfriend needed the remaining space for her stuff. Bathroom = terrible. Bed was supremely comfortable though, I'll give them that. The bar downstairs was a lot of fun for all of us coming back after the wedding reception. The "We Don't Do Shots Rule" is annoying but understandable. Patio had a large fireplace with furniture that was pretty cool. Overall, pretty average experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank fmh613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on Trip Advisor. We value your thoughts and suggestions.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location, our fabulous Bokx 109 restaurant and the comfy beds we pride ourselves on providing. The design and spaciousness of our guest rooms vary greatly which is part of the uniqueness of the property.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your recent experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    241
    179
    96
    50
See reviews for
181
150
73
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We chose this hotel only because during the long weekend when we were visiting all hotels downtown were crazy-priced and this one seemed as a more reasonable price-value combination.
Unfortunately, we err-ed on the value side.
The only plus of this hotel is closeness to the T and cheapness of parking.
The room was small, the bathroom didn't have any counter big enough to put your travel purse on, bed and pillows were uncomfortable.
Sound isolation is terrible - noise from the hall carries all the way in. The floor in the room is not carpeted in the main area and therefore if someone above you wears hills you hear it very well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilunMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Indigo Hotel Boston - Newton. We value your comments and appreicate the time taken to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for letting us know about the issues that detracted from your overall stay experience. Your comments will be considered when changes are being made to our current guestroom offerings. The hotel's location next to the Riverside Station of the Green Line T does add value to the many other benefits of staying at the Indigo Newton.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Sincerely,

Jim H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Oaks, New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very disappointed with this hotel. Rooms were very poorly designed. No room for luggage, not refrigerator, and no countertop in bathroom for toiletries. Floor of shower is made of marble and was very slippery.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms on the side of the elevator. You could hear the elevator going up and down al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheckie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on Trip Advisor. We value the feedback from our guests and are always looking for ways to better me the customers needs.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the size and features of your guestroom. The design decsions featured in our rooms are there to maximize comfort and usable space.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.

Sincerely,

Jim H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel last weekend and wouldn't stay there again. Perhaps if traveling alone it would be ok.
Small room, small bathroom, no bathroom fan, poor lighting so if you are a woman, good luck seeing how your makeup looks. Lacks space to hang or store clothes. The bed sits on a wood platform that is ~4" wider than the matress. Both my husband and I ran into the corners of the bed and had to put ice on our legs. We could hear our neighbors zip up their suitcases so pretty bad that the walls are that thin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Indigo Hotel Boston - Newton for your recent trip to the Boston Area. We appeciate the opportunity to serve you and your family.

I am sorry to hear that your accomodations did not meet your expectations. The hotel does feature well designed and functional guestrooms and some are too small for families. The hotel management team will investigate the issue with your bed frame protruding from the edge of the bed which you mentioned. We want to ensure that any issues that can be modified to improve the guest experience are addressed.

Thank you again for choosing the Indigo Hotel Boston - Newton. We hope to have another opportunity to host your next stay in the Boston Area.

Sincerely,

Jim H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
385 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel rooms were rough, you could hear everything going on outside. We were only a few rooms from the lobby and Saturday night people came back late and rowdy waking us up at 1am or so. You can hear people's doors closing in the hallways and it's just super noisy. The showers were weird too, you turn it on and it goes hot first and then you need to turn it to get colder, so you end up scalding yourself until you learn how it all works. Then the 3rd strange thing is that we had 3 light switches that turned on 2 lights (the entry way light or the bathroom light). You had to figure out the right combo to get on the light that you wanted, sometimes you got both and sometimes you got neither. Also, the hotel location-wise is convenient to the highway, but far from restaurants. The hotel restaurant isn't open for lunch, so if you want lunch, you need to venture out a ways.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaime w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear jaime w,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the behavior of other guests prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a comfortable basic hotel with small rooms attached to a bar/restaurant/pool that aren't really part of the hotel. This would be OK except it appears to be the local swingers club who take over the place at night. Walking into the bar area is like intruding on a private party. We're not talking the sophisticated swingers like on the hotel's website, we're talking old dudes with gold chains and leisure suits and somewhat younger women with 6 inch heels and too much make-up. I took my 20 year son in to show him what the 1970's were like. It answered his question of who ever listened to disco.
The rooms are fine and beds are comfortable and if you want to crash a party of aging swingers, this is your place. Other than the big glass showers for, there is nothing else chic about this place as the website implies.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in the room ten feet from the front door. You'll be in for a surpris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dthurlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear dthurlow,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is nice to know that you found our bedroom accommodations to be comfortable. I apologize if you were inconvenienced with the atmosphere in the bar area. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a great place for one person for one or two nights. Our room was very small but I would say this hotel is perfect for business travelers or those needing a comfortable place to stay for a night or two. I liked how our room had a small window that we could open for fresh air but the location of the hotel is pretty noisy outside.

The restaurant was very good and all of the staff we encountered were very nice. I was a little put off when I was checking in because the woman at reception told me there was no reservation with my very unique name. Luckily I had my confirmation number handy and she found the reservation.

We did not use the pool but it looked nice and it was nice to enjoy a cocktail by the fire they had out by the pool in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KidFreeToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear beth5496,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.9 mi away
Boston Marriott Newton
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
4.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
2.2 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#7 of 11 in Waltham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Property: Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Address: 399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the hectic pace of the city yet be close enough to easily visit at this contemporary boutique hotel adjacent to Boston train station and offering complimentary WiFi, 24 hour business center and state-of-the-art fitness center. Inside is the highly acclaimed BOKX 109 American Prime, a modern steakhouse for drinks and dinner and Phi Cafe featuring Starbuck's coffee, light breakfast and lunch fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Newton
Hotel Indigo Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing