We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy bed but tiny room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a great place for one person for one or two nights. Our room was very small but I would say this hotel is perfect for business travelers or those needing a comfortable place to stay for a night or two. I liked how our room had a small window that we could open for fresh air but the location of the hotel is pretty noisy outside.

The restaurant was very good and all of the staff we encountered were very nice. I was a little put off when I was checking in because the woman at reception told me there was no reservation with my very unique name. Luckily I had my confirmation number handy and she found the reservation.

We did not use the pool but it looked nice and it was nice to enjoy a cocktail by the fire they had out by the pool in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KidFreeToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear beth5496,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 750 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Since when do you reserve a hotel room three months in advance, with a credit card and you get a call on the answering machine, two weeks before your stay, saying are you going to come to our hotel, please call to confirm. Oh it happens to be a college parents weekend. Maybe they can make more money for the room or they are overbooked. This action is despicable. On top of that, I am a gold card member for this chain of hotels. Would actually prefer to stay at the closer Crowne Plaza, Oh well, Will not eat at that restaurant when I go HA, and will double lock the door.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear rescigrj,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We regret to read your disappointment towards the level of service you received. Please be assured that the points you've raised in this review will be looked into and be addressed accordingly.

Once again, thank you for sharing a valuable feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I love this hotel and have been staying here since they opened. Bokx, the restaurant is great, with an awesome staff. Pool is beautiful. This hotel is easy to get to, and just a very relaxing and comfy place to rest up.

Room Tip: The rooms are always freezing when you first enter. Every room, every time. So I usually turn the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for continuing to choose the Indigo Hotel Boston - Newton for your trips to the Boston Area.

We are pleased to hear that you continue to enjoy our hotel and the amenities it offers.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jim H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have stayed in IHG properties around the globe, but I have never seen anything like this one. Despite booking and paying in advance for a King with a sofa bed @$250+ per night, we (my husband, daughter, and I) were shuttered away in a room only marginally larger than the kingsize bed it held (no room for a rollaway). Everything from the bed to the curtains was shabby and rundown, we are talking holes in the sheets, damaged headboard, stains on the chairs and walls, broken window shade. As if that were not enough, the air conditioner roared and clanked endlessly. Our request for a room change was met with, "Sorry we are booked up." Indeed they were booked up, with people yelling, running, and vomiting in the halls (but that's another story).
To their credit, the staff did the best they could, but if all the have is sheets with holes in them and frayed towels, that's all you are going to get. Five days into our 11 night stay, and after a meeting with head of housekeeping (a really nice lady who I suspect was given they short end of the stick by the management who did not want to deal directly with a complaining guest) we were finally moved into a room matching the one we had booked and prepaid. The saddest part of this whole experience was watching some really good hardworking people have to deal with a property that was crumbling around them. This hotel has a great staff, but they have nothing to work with. We saw a man filing in the starches in the elevators wall paneling with a Sharpie.
Over the next 4 years I will doubtless make several trips to this area to visit my daughter in college, and as I live on the other side of the globe my stay will no doubt be 7+ nights, BUT will I stay here you ask?
The IHG should be ashamed of itself, for not supporting its hotel staff with a better facility and supplies. Moreover, despite being Platinum Club members, for several years, and staying with the brand around the globe I'm not sure my family and I will ever stay at another IHG property.

BTW: Were we offered a discount on the nights in the down graded room, NO.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Donna T,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I appreciate your kind comments on our hotel staff. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards particularly the quality of your room accommodation. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort it may have caused you. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. Your comments are shared with the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

overall the hotel was very nice. the rooms were small, the bathrooms were TINY, the beds were comfy. The hotel staff was very nice and prompt. The pool area and bar is great, I only wish I'd had more time to lounge around the area. The restaurant food was yummy! The business center is spacious and quiet. The only drawback to our trip was the restaurant server Saturday night who seemed distracted and inattentive. I would recommend this hotel and will return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary jo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear mary jo b,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know we were able to meet your needs during your stay. My apologies for any disappointment you had with your restaurant experience. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

we were tired-driving through the rain, and decided unexpectantly to stay the night in the area. We Googled and Hotwired on line, only 1 hour prior to arrival. I thought to myself that a place with a reasonable price that had a room must be a dive or worse. What a pleasant surprise! This was a beautiful hotel-the bed was super comfortable, and the staff was friendly. The breakfast choices were adequate,and not pricey for a hotel. Will probably stay here again,this time as a planned stop.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desperado265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton as your port in the storm.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your service experience, the comfort of our beds and breakfast in the morning.

We look forward to hosting you again during your next trip to the Boston Area.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although it's a little difficult to get to if you don't have your own transportation, the Hotel Indigo certainly was a wonderful place to be for my business trip.

The staff was quietly helpful, the decor tasteful, and the tuna tataki was wonderful! I didn't get a chance to use the pool, but the ideas of little tent cabañas that face the pool was a very good one.

I'd stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20justme13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Indigo Boston Newton and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

The entire hotel team is excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will return again!

Thank you again for choosing the Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton @ Riverside Station

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.9 mi away
Boston Marriott Newton
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
2.2 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#3 of 11 in Waltham
271 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston-Natick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Address: 399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range: $138 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the hectic pace of the city yet be close enough to easily visit at this contemporary boutique hotel adjacent to Boston train station and offering complimentary WiFi, 24 hour business center and state-of-the-art fitness center. Inside is the highly acclaimed BOKX 109 American Prime, a modern steakhouse for drinks and dinner and Phi Cafe featuring Starbuck's coffee, light breakfast and lunch fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Newton
Hotel Indigo Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing