We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Really nice, clean and great location next to Subway Station down the street for easy commute to Boston. Breakfast was amazing!!! Classy rooms and great Service. Newton area has a great resturant to visit, Bocca Bella - Hidden Italian Resturant...excellent to visit!!!!

Room Tip: Great value and classy room's. Breakfast kitchen was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thechoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
thechoj...

Outstanding! Psyched! Thanks for the "5" star review. We recently made some changes to our breakfast menu's....looks like they are working out pretty well! Glad you like the location and ease of getting into Boston. I will pass your comment on to the owner of Bocca Bella as well! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    255
    186
    99
    56
See reviews for
193
163
76
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The room was great, and they brought a really nice crib for my baby. It is also a very clean room. The problem was that the phone in the room was broken - impossible to call the reception, When my 4:45 am taxi arrived the hotel sent them away saying they did not know whether i am staying in a hotel or not. To be honest, quite annoying, given that I had to wake up the baby to make that taxi!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaShter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
AnnaSchter...

Thanks for the feedback, and thanks for the 5 stars on Cleanliness and Room Design. My apologies that the phone did not work. We have purchased all new phones. We found that the batteries in the cordless phones just don't hold a charge long enough and if the handset is not properly set in the cradle they go dead quickly. We will resolve. Thanks for mentioning. Sorry about the taxi, Do not understand that one. I will investigate. Take care and hope to see you again.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Pros: good business center, nice lobby, good bar, good wifi, in-room coffee (Green Mountain)

Cons: restaurant prices/value, location (nothing around if you don't have a car), very small rooms ergonomically poor (e.g. in order to get the ironing board out I had to remove the side table from the bed, move the lamp then remove the hangers to get it out), mess up on billing (it was directly billed from the nearby college and paid for but the front desk guy wouldn't acknowledge this). I usually get a newspaper at the door but neither morning did I get one. Rooms are very overpriced but I wasn't paying so it wasn't as much of an issue.

No housekeeping the second day.

The restaurant on the first night had a jazz band playing and the place was packed.

Room Tip: No comments. I was on the third floor and there were no issues in terms of sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingtheworld200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
wandering the world....

Thanks for the feedback. Looks like you had a good stay, but we didn't wow you. We will try harder! Thanks again.


Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location - just off 95, an exit from the Mass Pike, walking distance to the T-station and close to many colleges and universities in the area. Covered parking - 2 decks- was especially appreciated with the snow and wind we had that weekend. A mile down the road and on the right is a little cafe that was recommended by the hotel receptionist. It was excellent! I wish I remembered the name.
The room was small but very clean with comfortable beds and linens. Coffee and tea K-cups were a welcome treat in the room as were warm cookies one evening. My only complant was the tiny bathroom - the lighting was horrible for make-up application and there was no place to put my toiletries/make-up bag. The small glass shelf was tilted down and unable to support any products. The front desk staff was very friendly and informative. I would definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: The second floor has a few steps to go up in case you have any walking disabilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryLouise53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
MaryLouise53....

Thanks for the great review! Glad you liked the hotel and its location. The cafe you went to was Boca Bella, very quaint and great food. Thanks for the heads up regarding the bathroom. 4 stars! Thanks again.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights when it was snowing outside. It was a comfortable place to be holed up. My room was large, nicely furnished and I had a wonderful view of snow-covered landscaping from the 5th floor. The hotel restaurant and bar were great. The bar is popular with residents and very lively in the evenings and has a nice selection of bar food. During the morning the bar area is used to serve breakfast. The breakfast prices are reasonable and the food very good. The T station is right next door to the hotel about a one block walk, but there's a sidewalk all the way. Overall, this is a great hotel to stay if one isn't interested in staying inside the city of Boston, although I did find the restaurant prices to be a little expensive. A plus is free internet access and underground parking.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor in room 506. The view was fantastic. It overlooked a golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
GigiF....

Let it snow! Let it snow! Glad you found comfort with us at the Indigo! Thanks for the kind remarks. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!


Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Indigo Newton provides reasonably priced alternative to staying in the city of Boston. We found it to be clean and nicely equipped. The hotel's lobby immediately alerts you that you are not in a "dump." We were skeptical after reading other reviews but am glad we chose to ignore some of the negativity. We had no issues at all with the elevators and were not at all bothered by noise. The restaurant on site can be pricey depending on what you order, which could be an issue for the non-business traveller, but the food is good and elegantly prepared. The convenience of the T is a huge plus as it is easily walkable (last stop on the Riverside ("green")) line. On next trip to the area, we'll definitely consider this hotel again. A suggestion would be to install bathroom fans...rooms are on the small side and moisture easily seeps into the sleeping area,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LASC608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
LASC608....

Awesome review! Much appreciated. There are fans in the bathrooms, we will test them. Thanks for all the other great comments! Come back soon.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiebrown
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My son attends college in the Newton area and finding hotels in the vicinity is a chore. I find the choices generally acceptable, but pretty blah for the price. I happened on the Hotel Indigo when my usual hotel was closed for renovations and I have been very happily surprised. The rooms are modern, functional and attractive. Staff are friendly and helpful and unobtrusive. The beds are very comfortable. The fitness room is very nice. And the restaurant, box 109, is FANTASTIC. It has a really interesting, inspired chef, and the prices are pretty reasonable given the ambition of the food, wine and service. After a simple meal for one tonight I am thinking it might be the place to reserve for a graduation dinner in a few years (god willing!). The Hotel Indigo is right next to an onramp for a main highway, which is usually not a preference of mine. But given all the bottlenecks on the surface roads in this particular corner of Mass it is nice to be able to pass them by.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank sophiebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
sophiebrown...

Many thanks for the splendid review. We wish your son great success at college, and I hope we can count on that graduation dinner!

Thanks again,
Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.9 mi away
Boston Marriott Newton
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
2.2 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#3 of 11 in Waltham
266 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston-Natick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Property: Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Address: 399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the hectic pace of the city yet be close enough to easily visit at this contemporary boutique hotel adjacent to Boston train station and offering complimentary WiFi, 24 hour business center and state-of-the-art fitness center. Inside is the highly acclaimed BOKX 109 American Prime, a modern steakhouse for drinks and dinner and Phi Cafe featuring Starbuck's coffee, light breakfast and lunch fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Newton
Hotel Indigo Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing