We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm glad it was only one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed here for one night on business. There were literally no hotels available in Boston, so I had to settle for Wellesley. I checked into my room and my first impression was "Poor man's W" The trance music and low lighting were familiar...I was reminded again of the W when I opened the door to my room and found that it was tiny. What I wasn't prepared for was the condition of the room. First of all, it was extremely warm, the thermostat read 79 degrees. I set the AC to 44 degrees, but it didn't make a difference. To be fair, I didn't complain because I didn't want the inconvenience of moving or having an engineer come up to the room. Next, I moved the one chair in the room to get a better view of the television, and was greeted with dirt and dust underneath. I found dark hairs on the towels, and leftover soap (or something) in the sink. It seems that they've invested a huge amount of money in the restaurant (food was average at best) and the swimming pool, perhaps they should divert some money back to making sure the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murray346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2011

Murray 346 - Read your review and am disappointed we fell down in the housekeeping area, it's usually one of our stronger suits. Indigo hotels are desigend and segemented to be the more affordable boutique, life-style hotels, we do not compete in the Upper Upscale hotel arena with "W" hotels, therefore the more affordable rate. Having said that, your A/C should still be functioning properly and your room clean. Thanks for taking the time to write and I will share your comments with my housekeeping and maintenance deparatments. Take care.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 760 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed here with our extended family for a weekend celebration. I arrived early on Friday and had 2 rooms reserved. We were greeted nicely and told that one room was ready and the other wasn't. After getting the key to our room, getting directions to the room, using a slow elevator, up we went and walked into the dimest hallway I have ever been in. One person in our party has vision issues and i was concerned about her walking in the hallways safely. Our room was next to the linen closet and was very small. It was tight for the three of us to wait in the room. We passed a room being that was open and being cleaned. It was larger and across the hall from the room that was our second room. The front desk was very helpfull and moved us.

Yes - the second room was larger. The beds and linens were great. It would have been nice to have just a blanket not all those quilts and things. It looks pretty when the room is made up - but too hot for sleeping and they take up space on the small floor area.

But Beware -
- if you need to have any lighting to put on makeup - bring your own. The 2 ceiling lights in the bathroom just give you shadows on your face. Leaning into the mirrow to see better just blocks out ALL the light. The same thing happens in the hall by the huge floor to ceiling mirror. Maybe a lighted makeup mirror attached to the wall could solve that problem.
- There is a "desk" table and it holds the TV in the room. We had no light on the desk but we had a desk chair that only fit under the desk in its lowest position (if you had it up high enough that you could sit in - you could not walk past the chair and the foot of the bed - we moved the chair)
- The room is set up so that the head of the bed is the first hting you see when you open the door. I am always awake and down getting a cup of coffee hours before my husband wakes up, but his face was to the door as i left. i guess it was a good thing that the hall lighting was so dim!
- They provide blackout shades - nice touch but if they don't go alll the way to the floor you need to put your suitcase and extra pillow over the exposed area. It seem that the chain that opens and closes the shade has a connector that won't go thru the roller and it stops.

Do Enjoy -
- the bar area and the firepit, but hopefully your room is on the other side of the building if you want to go to sleep early. It does get noisy. The bartenders pour a good size drink and the little bit of food we had there was very good.
- the pool is beautiful but the weather was too chilly to even think about a bathing suit
- the fitness room is very well set up and spcaous for a small hotel

i like the concept of the small boutique hotel but I this one needs to address a few "room" issues before I will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Barbara, --Thanks for taking the time to write a reveiw about the Hotel Indigo Newton riverside. We are well aware of the bathroom lighting opportunity and agree that this is a capital project that needs to move forward. Have not heard many complaints about the hallway lighting but will look into and see if the fixtures are rated for a higher wattage lightbulb. The rooms are certainly not the largest ever built and I think the designers did a nice job with the space they had. Thanks for the kind comments on BOKX 109 restarant, bar, and pool area. We get a lot of great feedback there. Thanks again for staying with us and taking the time to write thir review. Hope to see you at the Hotel Indigo again soon.

Bruce Leaver, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My family and I had been to the Hotel Indigo about 2 years ago and loved its unique style and atomosphere. However, it was too far from our daughter's apartment for us to stay there regularly when we visited. Now that she's moved, the Indigo is near her new apartment. My stay at the hotel this time was even better than before. The rooms are small but sleek, clean, and classy. Everyone who works there from desk clerks to bartenders is courteous and helpful. But by far, the best feature is the pool area with it's comfortable chairs and crystal clear pool. Worth every penny (and more) of its moderate price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

LAFscarsdale... Appreciate the great reveiw!! Thank you so much for staying with us and so glad you enjoyed your visit. Now that your daughter lives nearby we expect to see you a lot!!
The BOKX 109 pool is now open for business as you noted. Cabana rentals and Fire Pit rentals are now available! Let me know when you are going to return to the Hotel Indigo Newton Riverside and I will make sure you are upgraded! Thanks again for the positve review.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The rooms are quite small but I'm only here for one night and won't be in the room that much anyway. We arrived before checkin and did not have a problem getting in early. The hotel is right off the interstate for an easy find and is a 5 minute walk from the train as well. The room is clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank followmylead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2011

Thanks for the review! Glad you liked our location and housekeeping cleanliness. I will pass along to the staff. I love taking the subway into Boston from here. No hassles, inexpensive, convenient. Hope to see you return soon. Our outdoor pool, cabanas, fire pits and poolside bar open next weeka!! Thanks again from the Hotel Riverside Newton team!

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Clean Hotel. Convenient to Route 128. Comfortable Beds. Friendly Staff. However: 1. Hallways were very dim. 2. Room door didn't close all the way automatically. 3. Shower door squeaked loudly when opened or closed. 4. Hair drier only functioned on medium. 5. Thermostat was flimsy and hard to figure out. When I emailed the manager, Mr. Bruce Leaver he responded quickly and thoughtfully, promising to remedy these matters. As a courtesy he gave us 10,000 Priority Club points

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2011

typicalguy37

Thanks for taking the time to write a reveiw about Hotel Indiog Newton Riverside. I apoligize for the faulty hair dryer, and we are increasing wattage in the hallway lights. Thanks for the kind comments on the clean rooms and friendly staff. We hope to have you back agin soon.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I'm ashamed to say I use TripAdvisor as an exclusive resource for my heavy traveling needs but I haven't written a review in at least four years. When I take the time to sign up to write one- it can't be good.

Hotel Indigo Newton-Riverside Boston is a complete fail for me. The details (bulleted for brevity)

*Upon checking in despite several staffers mulling about in the lobby no one asked to assist me with my very heavy luggage

*The receptionist was cold and did not say more than a ten words to me when checking me in. Literally "hello, credit card & ID, you're in room XXX".

*My room was situated on the main level (no rooms clean upstairs, yet when I would have to move rooms minutes later a couple was checked in upstairs). I had to carry my own luggage up those irritating first level stairs. Thanks a lot desk girl.

*Upon getting to the room it was BURNING HOT. Like the hot fires of hell burning hot (thermostat said 80 DEGREES). The engineer had to be called.

*Despite booking directly and paying rack rate it felt like I was given a Hotwire or Priceline reward room. TINY! It was so small the closet door couldn't close because it was blocked by the desk! I could barely turn around in it and not bump into a piece of furniture.

*I went to the desk and requested to be moved to a larger room- I was totally prepared to pay for an upgrade. The receptionist behaved like I was annoying her. This dump was NOT sold out the night before and it wouldn't have been an issue at all to put me in a decent room. Instead she moved me down the hall to one which was only slightly better- but DIRTY!

*My second room was also burning up hot and the engineer had to be called again! After he fixed/reset the unit I did a walk through. OMG - 1. Dust everywhere - I have had an allergy attack going on since I left two days ago. 2. Blue soap or shave gel residue from the previous guest in the shower (classy!) 3. 2 towels, two hand towels...but no face towels? What are the maids doing in this place and who is verifying their work?

*I ordered room service from the "fine highly rated" restaurant downstairs. $45 for fried chicken and mashed potatoes with one beverage. Whatever- but the punchline? I had to ask for salt and pepper (none on the tray) - and it was sent in salt and pepper packets. I asked for sour cream for the potatoes - and there was NO sour cream in the restaurant? What kind of steakhouse doesn't have sour cream in the kitchen??? If this place doesn't want to serve room service guests properly then they shouldn't at all and should remove the expensive menus from the rooms.

I've stayed at another Indigo in upstate New York - it is so fabulous, its like a 5-star boutique packaged in a neat little perfectly accessible and affordable 3.5 star. This hotel is so obviously another brand in a previous life with a sideways renovation to make it sleek and charming. I really want to know who is reviewing this place so well and why, they couldn't possibly be frequent travelers. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone over the age of 21 or anyone who expects a property that claims to be a boutique to truly be luxurious.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you on the nasty main level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IncarnadineInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2011

Incarnadineink,.. I don't know where to start here, so let me begin by apologizing and I ask that if you read this, that you call me directly so I can investigate further and resolve these issues and personally apologize for the unpleasant guest experience you encountered. Our HVAC system did go down last Wednesday as one of our pumps failed, therfore the hot rooms. As far as the service issues are concerned and the houskeeping and room service problems, again my sincere apologies and I have already discussed these matters with my team. I hope you will contact me as this is not the type of experience we want to be known for.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I've struggled with how to rate this hotel. The Hotel Indigo brand is the Intercon Hotels group's attempt at a boutique hotel feel (like Kimptons) and they partially succeed with this one. We stayed 2 nights while visiting Wellesley College. The location is good - right by I90 / I95 and easy to get to from Logan Airport. The good points: first and foremost, EVERY single person we encountered working at this hotel was incredibly friendly and helpful. The upscale steak and seafood restaurant on property was very good and popular with the locals. The beds and bedding were excellent; lots of pillows with both feather and synthetic and duvets; Aveda toiletries; the wireless Internet worked well. The fitness center is above average for a hotel and has good, modern cardio equipment, free weights, towels, exercise balls and mats. Cons: The rooms are really rather small; the lighting is small lamps all with dimmable switches, but even on max I found it inadequate for some things. The bathroom is rather small with very little room to put your personal items. The bathroom is dominated by a large shower with the expensive rimless glass walls/door; ours did not seal well. We had HUGE problems with termperature control on the shower and had to consult the night manager on how to get cold (not hot - cold) water. After trying many things we eventually just put water in the sink and the room's ice bucket long enough to cool off and take sponge baths, like camping. The problem was more or less fixed by the second night but I still had to run water for a loooong time before I got cold water. I decided to give this hotel the rating I would have given if the water temperature problem had not occurred. Would I stay again? Probably. Is it on equal to a Kimpton? No. We paid about $135 a night for a double room, tax included.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyberry57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager21, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

hollyber... Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your experience at the Hotel Indigo Newton Riverside. Awesome comments about our staff and I will definitely pass them on! Sorry about the water issue. I am aware, and our engineer will hopefully have it resolved when the new mixing valve arrives. In the meantime we take that room off line. We are resolving the lighting issue in the bathrooms right now, by installing gimble units in all baths. Again, thanks for the kind words, and look forward to your return.

Bruce Leaver
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.9 mi away
Boston Marriott Newton
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 3 in Needham
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston-Natick
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

Address: 399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range: $108 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the hectic pace of the city yet be close enough to easily visit at this contemporary boutique hotel adjacent to Boston train station and offering complimentary WiFi, 24 hour business center and state-of-the-art fitness center. Inside is the highly acclaimed BOKX 109 American Prime, a modern steakhouse for drinks and dinner and Phi Cafe featuring Starbuck's coffee, light breakfast and lunch fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Newton
Hotel Indigo Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing