We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T BOOK THIS HOTEL IF YOU WANT CONVENIENCE TO BOSTON AND AIRPORT!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DON'T BOOK THIS HOTEL IF YOU WANT CONVENIENCE TO BOSTON AND AIRPORT!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Number 1 mistake: booked on Hotwire. I thought I'd take a chance on the 3 star hotel offered in Newton/Brookline/Cambridge area. Well, it turned out to be an out-of-the-way hassle as our goal was to spend most of our time in downtown Boston. Picture this: my 19 yr. old daughter and I arriving Logan at 11pm at night loaded with suitcases. Ok, I could have taken a cab but didn't want to dish out $40.00. We proceeded to catch a shuttle to the T blue line, then we had to catch the green line, then bus number #57 at Kenmore Station, all the while dragging our encumbrances behind us. The funnest part was up and down the steep subway terminal stairs!! The bus trip (depending on how many stops people are taking) takes about a half hour. We were told by the hotel that the bus stops right across the street from the hotel. We had to cross a street, walk down 3 blocks, take a left then go into the hotel lobby--a good 5 minute hike with the encumbrances following behind. By now it's past midnight and all we cared about was a good bed to sleep in. The bed was comfortable, fairly new, however if you don't like sitting up in bed while you sleep, (the pillows were a mile high) bring your own pillows to this place. If the hotel was located near the T or closer to Boston, and had a shuttle from the airport ( I was told they offer it on week-ends) I could have endured this average hotel and been a happy camper for $105.00 a night. However, in my opinion, it should be rated a 2 star hotel at best. Hotwire should visit the place and spend the night
themselves and see what they think of their 3 star resort. The only beneficial thing that came from this entire trip is a laugh (or two) with my daughter and the knowledge that I won't ever book online unless I know where I am starying.

PS If your goal is to stay in Newton Mass and hang out and you get an exceptional deal, by all means, try it but don't forget to bring your own pillow!!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cecilejeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    234
    208
    106
    71
See reviews for
236
135
69
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We checked in at around 5 pm after driving all day. Check in was a breeze and the hotel looked nice. We got up to our room and relaxed un packed made coffee . My wife got undressed to take a shower ... No hot water we let it run for a few mins then I called the front desk. They sent someone up with a new room card. They said we had gotten the only room with no hot water. They offered us a free breakfast which was useless becasue we were leaving at 4 am...... So we packed everything back up moved 2 doors down. Wife got in to take a shower ,,,,, no hot water,,,,,,, I opened all the faucets full blast. After about 30 minutes we had warm water I called the front desk they offered us another room by that time I just wanted to sleep ...... Next morning I woke up still no hot water so it was off to the airport ..... I emailed their company and got a computer generated responce ...... I woudl avoid this hotel if at all possible .......... Next morning I spoke with another guest he had no hot water either .... As for the noise of the freeway under the hotel... It did not disturb me . The ear plugs they provide work well ....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BILLLEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newton hotels

boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

I have been coming to the Sheraton/Crowne Plaza hotel for just over a year now and was appalled to find out that the front desk manager i always booked through was no longer there. She was always courteous, helpful, and friendly.
The staff without her is rude, unfriendly, unhelpful.; The hotel was very shabby on this trip and I had to move rooms twice due a faulty internet connection. The front desk supervisor on duty was no help at all (sherida?) and frankly, I won't be coming back here again. This hotel neesd some new staff!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayjenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

The room I was given did not have a working AC unit. When the maintainence guy arrived, he said that he told them not to fill the room. I moved to another one and it was better.
They advertise a shuttle service, but didn't have anyone to drive the van. And, they didn't even offer to call a cab!
Location is ok--good Thai restaurant and Starbucks nearby, but rooms and hallways are out-dated and have a stale hotel smell. If you're staying in Newton, I would recommend the Hotel Indigo instead.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank extremecommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chobham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Any hotel that is above a freeway cannot be designed with sleep in mind. The standard provision of earplugs on the bed was a thoughtful but foreboding portent of things to come.

Its a shame as the staff are friendly and the location handy for Logan, at a good rate.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst ny
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Booked on hotwire and concerned with location . They have free shuttle to Copley square
which made it delightful for the. Low cost. The frnt desk staff was a dream
on day two I inquired about how the mbta Charlie card worked and the
staff offered their own card to use ! You can't beat that service. While still being
remodeled the made me overlook the reconstruction issues

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherokee125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We just got back from staying Sunday-Tuesday at the Crowne Plaza after booking a room through Hotwire. After reading some of the reviews found here and elsewhere, we were expecting the worst. However, the lobby (and, at the least, the fourth floor room that we stayed in) seem to have been recently renovated. Check-in was fast and efficient, though, on the second day of my stay, I found myself electronically locked out of my room and needed to get my keycards reset. The linens were crisp, pillows ample, desk roomy, bathroom clean, and shower forceful and hot. People may complain about the hotel being directly above the Mass Pike, but I never found the road noise to be a problem, especially with the (effective) climate control system on (not that that was unexpectedly noisy.) However, whenever a MBTA train rumbled directly underneath (a few times per hour), you could definitely feel and hear it (like "thunder that lasted a few seconds longer than you'd expect"), even in the shower. Still, it wasn't something that kept me awake, nor woke my 20 wk. old baby. Also, though I don't know how full the hotel was, I never heard any of my neighbors. In-room internet is wired and complimentary, and there are two Internet-connected computers off of the lobby connected to a (free) printer. We were disappointed that there was a $15/day parking fee (instead of $4/hr, $28/max), with unlimited in/out privileges at the "independent" adjacent garage, though we also found it odd that the parking booth seemed to be "attended haphazardly." (Whenever there was no attendant, the gate was up and you could just drive in or out.) I didn't find the "complementary breakfast"--I think it's something that's depends on the rate you booked and/or whether or not you're on a Club floor. There is a Dunkin' Donuts across the street, and a Starbucks, Quiznos, and assorted local restaurants along Centre St. (no other nearby "fast food.") Especially at the rate I got (about a third off), I'd definitely stay there again. Some driving notes: When "going around the block" from the Mass Pike eastbound to the hotel, stay in the third-from-left lane or you'll find yourself on the Mass Pike westbound. Also, at at least two of the intersections around the hotel, "just because you have a green light doesn't mean that intersecting traffic has a red light."

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HiFiGuy197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
432 reviews
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#77 of 83 in Boston
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Address: 320 Washington St, Newton, MA 02458-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Landmark Boston Area HotelWelcome to the Crowne Plaza(R) Boston - Newton hotel, uniquely situated over the Massachusetts Turnpike in lovely Newton - close to prominent universities and hospitals. Only 5 miles to all the excitement and culture of Boston, minutes from Fenway Park, and convenient to Cambridge and the bustling 128 beltway, our location, on the MBTA bus route, provides direct access to all these locations.The 270 spacious guest rooms have been stylishly redesigned and feature 37 inch flat screen televisions, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and room amenities. Tavern Restaurant & Bar serves regional favorites for breakfast and drinks and appetizers in the evening. Social Restaurant offers contemporary casual dining for Lunch and Dinner. Relax in our indoor pool or enjoy a workout in the adjacent fitness area. The on-site parking garage is available for $28.00 per day for self parking, $35.00 per day for valet parking. Our location off the Massachusetts Turnpike makes us the most convenient site for local and regional meetings and events. We feature seven distinctly different meeting rooms, totaling 7,000 square feet, each newly remodeled, including a state-of-the-art executive boardroom and a stylish ballroom with natural lighting. Crowne Plaza(R) Hotels are The Place to Meet, featuring a dedicated manager to oversee every aspect of your meetings planning and execution. We are also ideal for special celebrations with menus and packages available to meet every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newton
Newton Crowne Plaza
Newton Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing