We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will book again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Avon by the Sea, New Jersey
1 review
“Will book again”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had a great experience. We had over 60 staying at the hotel and the hotel provided us with a banquet room for dinner. Food was good, plenty of it. Very accommodating with what we needed for our menu. Hotel restaurant was great. Even though the hotel was over the highway and rail tracks, it wasn't that bad. When the train would go by it just sounded like a plane was taking off, but did not last long. My room was next to the elevator, and I could not hear it! I did however find that the heating unit was too load and did not like the eco system in the room, because it got too cold during the might. Great room amenities!!! Thank you to Jill Cashman and her Sales Staff!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erseila, Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Lisa - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your comments regarding our heating unit are appreciated, and we can assure you that all comments are taken to heart. Although the hotel has installed eco friendly heating units - we do allow our guests the option of participating. I am sorry this was not communicated to you upon check in. On your next visit, it will be our pleasure to have one of our engineers show you the options... and enjoy a nights sleep with continuous warm heat... We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    233
    205
    104
    68
See reviews for
234
131
69
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a great experience! We brought about 30+ students for a school trip and Jill from Crowne Plaza was so accommodating - helping us with room changes, meal options in the area, transportation recommendations. We had a huge snow storm which changed all our transportation plans and Jill and Crowne Plaza gave us minute by minute recommendations on transportation alternatives. Rooms were fantastic. Staff was fantastic. Customer Service was excellent. Price was very affordable for a school. Lots of great options in the neighborhood from incredible italian restaurants to delivery options. Thanks again so much for a wonderful trip! We will be back next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikFogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erseila, Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Erik - thank you so much for sharing your experience! We are delighted to hear that you and your group had a great stay with us! It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel - we look forward to welcoming you back next year! Jill is great... thank you for recognizing her! And, thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Having just moved from an expensive but disappointing historic hotel in downtown Boston, I was pleasantly surprised by this modern, budget-friendly Crowne Plaza. My room on the 9th floor was clean, roomy and comfortable. Comfortable beds, good hot shower, nice amenities (including a sleep kit with earplugs and linen scent spray), reliable elevators.

Yes, it is built over the Mass Pike and the train rumbles by regularly but I didn't find it excessively loud on the 9th floor, especially with the fan unit running for some white noise. It is conveniently located to the Mass Pike, obviously :), but also to lots of interesting locally-owned shops and restaurants in the nearby neighborhoods.

The lobby was under construction which was a bit of a nuisance but we weren't planning to hang out in the lobby anyway. We did have dinner in the restaurant which was PACKED, not surprisingly, because the food turned out to be quite good.

All in all, if you are looking for a convenient place to stay in this neighborhood this is a good, inexpensive option.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnM160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erseila, Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Dawn- thank you for sharing your experience! It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our lobby renovations are almost over, and we are so excited and cannot wait! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed Social - the food and atmosphere are amazing! Again, thank you for staying with us - and, we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Terribly small room, to much furniture for the size. Hair dryer on its last leg. No counter space in bathroom. Ice machine had saturated towels in front of it. Upgrading the lobby not the rooms, which need it badly. Front desk was slow to get us checked in, on one reached out. Nothing welcoming about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mg h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erseila, Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear MG- I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your last visit. Our hotel offers a variety of room types, from a standard queen guest room to our executive King guest rooms. Our rooms are newly renovated, with the most updated amenities. I would love to hear from you, and hopefully have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our executive king rooms, on our top floor, for a different - enjoyable stay with us! Please reach out to me - emuka@cpbostonnewton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newton hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice enough (just finishing some renovations) BUT they did not install sound proof windows. Not generally a problem, but this hotel is suspended over I-90. Happy to say they provide nice ear plugs at the bedside. Tells you all you need to know.

Workout room was better than average and the bar was more lively than most hotel bars.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_from_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erseila, Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Kevin- I couldn't agree more! Our fitness center is very spacious, with a very unique view - just perfect for a work out... I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our brand new restaurant and bar, Social. With the live music/bands in the weekends, it is the place to be in Newton! On your next visit to Boston, please reach out to our guest services team, and we will be delighted to assist you and ensure that you will be in one of our quite rooms. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Not a bad hotel. Would normally rate a hotel like this at least 3 stars possibly 4. BUT two gripes

1) Breakfast is overpriced and food quality was so-so. The croissant tasted stale, eggs were a little undercooked but staff was attentive and service at breakfast was good.

2) The front desk needed some help. We arrived late and were part of a group. there was some confusion regarding our room which the front desk people did not do a good job of straightening out. The main thing that stands out is the following: The manager came out at 10:50 pm and surveyed the situation and said "I don't think this will be hard to resolve" but did not get involved and then said "Well, I don't come on until 11." That exemplifies our experience with the front desk. Needless to say we got our room without the help of the manager (at 11:20) and then took 2 tries to get an empty room (first room key was for an occupied room).

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNewtonGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Paul L,

Thank you for your feedback. I take your comments very seriously and have indeed followed up with the proper department managers and staff members involved. Jumping in and resolving guest issues is the expectation, and I am sorry the necessary sense of urgency was not evident. I would like to opportunity to speak with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

As a background, I stay at this hotel 5-6 times a year. As an IHG gold elite member, I usually get a room on the top floor so there is less traffic noise from the Mass. Pike. below, not this time. Usually given Poland Spring water in my room, not this time. Usually given drink coupons at the bar, not this time. Front desk staff barely recognized me as an IHG gold elite member. Parking in the garage (not owned by the hotel), was raised from 9 dollars to 12 dollars. You can usually find parking on the street.

Room Tip: the higher, the better. side of hotel that faces west, not east so the sun doesn't rise in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNewtonGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Ronald R,

First let me say that we value all of our guests, but our IHG Rewards Club guests are of particular importance because of the ongoing loyalty they represent to our hotel and the brand. IHG has updated the program and streamlined the welcome amenity for consistency among all Crowne Plaza Hotels. We always attempt to place our Rewards Club guests on the highest floors when we know this is their preference. Many prefer the lower floors, closer to the health club, lobby, parking, etc. Please ensure at time of your next reservation that you note your room preference and we will update your profile. All efforts will be made to accommodate you. Thank you for your ongoing loyalty to our hotel and IHG. It's a great program - with the most flexible point redemption program in the industry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#75 of 83 in Boston
555 reviews
Crescent Suites Hotel
#5 of 11 in Waltham
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Address: 320 Washington St, Newton, MA 02458-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Landmark Boston Area HotelWelcome to the Crowne Plaza(R) Boston - Newton hotel, uniquely situated over the Massachusetts Turnpike in lovely Newton - close to prominent universities and hospitals. Only 5 miles to all the excitement and culture of Boston, minutes from Fenway Park, and convenient to Cambridge and the bustling 128 beltway, our location, on the MBTA bus route, provides direct access to all these locations.The 270 spacious guest rooms have been stylishly redesigned and feature 37 inch flat screen televisions, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and room amenities. Tavern Restaurant & Bar serves regional favorites for breakfast and drinks and appetizers in the evening. Social Restaurant offers contemporary casual dining for Lunch and Dinner. Relax in our indoor pool or enjoy a workout in the adjacent fitness area. The on-site parking garage is available for $28.00 per day for self parking, $35.00 per day for valet parking. Our location off the Massachusetts Turnpike makes us the most convenient site for local and regional meetings and events. We feature seven distinctly different meeting rooms, totaling 7,000 square feet, each newly remodeled, including a state-of-the-art executive boardroom and a stylish ballroom with natural lighting. Crowne Plaza(R) Hotels are The Place to Meet, featuring a dedicated manager to oversee every aspect of your meetings planning and execution. We are also ideal for special celebrations with menus and packages available to meet every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newton
Newton Crowne Plaza
Newton Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing