We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy hotel and far from downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Noisy hotel and far from downtown”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

since we booked via Hotwire, price was ok. I would not give more money. Very noisy hotel since it is right on top of the highway. Not every guest respected the silence during the night and it took quite some time after the intevention of hotel security to have it quiet again. PArking next door is for a fair price. Distance to downtown is 30 min drive. Best item in the room were the earplugs.

Room Tip: ask a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Luc C,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the noise during your stay. We will look into this point. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.
We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    233
    205
    104
    68
See reviews for
234
131
69
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked this hotel in August in order to spend 2 days in Boston. You need to know that this hotel is the closest from Downtown Boston we could afford because Boston is, in general a super expensive city (more expensive than Manhattan if you ask me!). The hotel itself is renovated and great! Good service, beds were comfortable, free wifi, the view is nice, the pool is decent and the gym is open 24h on 24. But still at $180 per night, you are located at 20 minutes by car, on the highway, from Boston downtown! The parking price or continental breakfast are not even included with your stay... I would recommend this hotel in a heart beat, but be aware that it is not close from main tourists attraction.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baldaquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Nothing amazing about this place but it's ok for a shorter stay. It's a bit noisy at night but earplugs are provided by ther hotel. The AC is also very noisy so you definitely need earplugs to drown that out. Location is not so great, it's a 10/15 minute drive to Brookline and even more to Boston. For a good price, it's worth a stay. Overall, not a bad place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMJ92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear avja,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noise challenges the air conditioning system has caused you. We deeply regret the poor experience you have encountered during your visit.

Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We chose the room specifically because it says it is close to Fenway Park. Maybe, as the crow flies however it is a horrible task to get into Boston and back. It might have been easier had the hotel staff helped us when we asked how to get the bus. It was a confusing mess to get there then the desk girl refused to answer what T stop was closest and told me to get off T, walk to a bus and take that back. Ummm no its 1130 at night, just tell me how to get back and I will take a taxi from there. The service was probably the worst I have ever encountered at a desk. Room was clean and nice, so that was a plus. Price was good because of construction so that was another plus. Then, no hot water in the morning. Yes, they gave us free parking for it but I was stuck with 2 stinky boys all day, yuck.

Needless to say, the cons of poor service and unfriendly people far outweighed any pros. I guarantee I will NEVER stay here again, ever. Heading back to our favorite spot at the HI in Somerville. Maybe mileage wise it is further away but the service, atmosphere and ease to get into the city and out again is worth it!

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank folsomstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear folsomstrips,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our property. Our efforts are always to ensure our guests are satisfied and our hotel is maintained to be comfortable while you are with us. It is great to know you found the room you had clean and nice. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had with the service you received and the hot water supply. Though this matter has been resolved in a timely manner, we regret this has negatively impacted your stay with us. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Booked on Priceline Express deals. Spent two nights there. Room was very clean, and nicely decorated. We had one problem with the room, one of the pillows had a musty smell to it. The clerk gave us a free breakfast for that, which was delicious. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, even mapping out a route for us. It is conveniently located. Only negative is that it can be noisy due to it being over the Interstate. However, the noise only bothered me the first night, which was a Friday. The second night it seemed less. For the price, it was worth it. However, if I had to pay full price, I wouldn't due to the location over the interstate.

Room Tip: I would ask for the higher floor rooms due to the noise of the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katlope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We prepaid two nights at this hotel for July 19-21 for two rooms. When we arrived at 10:30 PM due to airline delays, we were told that we did not have the rooms anymore. The hotel front desk clerk did not offer an apology, a credit voucher or any recourse to solve this situation.
We will never again make a reservation with this hotel chain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queenterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Queenterry,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Boston Newton, MA. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newton hotels

Hertzelia, Israel
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent two nights here while in the Boston/New England area for business. Hotel was fine. Didn't notice any traffic noise, although we were on a high floor, and arrived late and left early.
Brekkie was fine.
The front desk staff was very friendly and detail oriented--they remembered my associate's name after meeting him once for 5 minutes during check-in.
Had a good deal from Hotline, and this definitely did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
555 reviews
Crescent Suites Hotel
#5 of 11 in Waltham
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Address: 320 Washington St, Newton, MA 02458-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Landmark Boston Area HotelWelcome to the Crowne Plaza(R) Boston - Newton hotel, uniquely situated over the Massachusetts Turnpike in lovely Newton - close to prominent universities and hospitals. Only 5 miles to all the excitement and culture of Boston, minutes from Fenway Park, and convenient to Cambridge and the bustling 128 beltway, our location, on the MBTA bus route, provides direct access to all these locations.The 270 spacious guest rooms have been stylishly redesigned and feature 37 inch flat screen televisions, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and room amenities. Tavern Restaurant & Bar serves regional favorites for breakfast and drinks and appetizers in the evening. Social Restaurant offers contemporary casual dining for Lunch and Dinner. Relax in our indoor pool or enjoy a workout in the adjacent fitness area. The on-site parking garage is available for $28.00 per day for self parking, $35.00 per day for valet parking. Our location off the Massachusetts Turnpike makes us the most convenient site for local and regional meetings and events. We feature seven distinctly different meeting rooms, totaling 7,000 square feet, each newly remodeled, including a state-of-the-art executive boardroom and a stylish ballroom with natural lighting. Crowne Plaza(R) Hotels are The Place to Meet, featuring a dedicated manager to oversee every aspect of your meetings planning and execution. We are also ideal for special celebrations with menus and packages available to meet every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newton
Newton Crowne Plaza
Newton Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing