We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

When ever in Boston, it is a delight to stay here! The staff is great, the rooms are spotless and the lounge attendant is great, he kept us entertained and attends to all guests as if they are regulars.
Very inviting atmosphere
Always my top pick

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCFTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    236
    213
    107
    71
See reviews for
241
136
69
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and it was great. While the location (right on top of a highway) may be odd, the hotel was excellent. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly, wifi always worked, good cable service and parking was very affordable. We even ate at the restaurant one night and we found it to be very good: good food, good service and good prices. Despite being so close to the high way, the rooms where not noisy.
My only complain is that the air was very dry and we always woke up with a sore throat (they only lasted 20 minutes).

Room Tip: We where on a higher floor which probably contributed to the lack of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BakingQueenMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I travel for work a lot and have had many mixed experiences over the years with hotel front desk staffs. The front desk staff at the Newton Crowne Plaza are not only unbelievably helpful, but they are friendly (hard to find these days) and really go out of their way to make sure customers are happy. Both Franny and Ersella were particularly phenomenal. Thank you all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaD60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

First of all, yes this hotel straddles the Mass turnpike, it runs directly beneath it. We didn't hear much on the 5th floor other than heavy wind noise and the trains occasionally (think it was the train). The room itself was small but well appointed. It was clean and had everything we desired except a refrigerator. The bathroom was nice but in a fairly tight space. The bar and restaurant are mediocre. There's better choices within walking distance, a Thai restaurant (Amaran?) was a particular standout. Location makes everything in Waltham and Newton very accessible. We stayed here while in transit for 4 nights, got a good deal on priceline.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloTravlr_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Place has been renovated but is still pretty dumpy. It has a veneer of nice but its not a nice hotel by any means. Wouldn't stay here if it weren't super convenient for my purposes.

Walked out of the restaurant because I was horrified by its appearance and the service.

Traffic (running under hotel) is really noisy all the time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlGavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear TrvlGavin,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with the service received from our staff and the ambiance of our property was not up to par. I have taken note of your valuable feedback and this will be used to consider for enhancements needed at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is clean, rooms are nice with a comfortable bed, nice flat screen TV, decent bathroom. Be prepared for the loudest traffic noise you can imagine as the Mass Tpke runs right under the hotel. The noise of the trucks is beyond belief...they should hand out earplugs at the front desk. If you are a light sleeper do NOT stay here. I was going to walk about a mile down the road to the Whole Foods but didnt feel 100% safe doing so. Area seems ok but you'll feel better about exploring if you have a car.

Room Tip: Ask about a room higher up, maybe the noise from the traffic wont be so bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueshoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear sueshoof,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. I’m glad you found the hotel to your liking. On the other hand, I apologize for the inconvenience the outside noise may have caused. I certainly understand the importance of getting a good nights sleep and for that note I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured your comments will be forwarded to the departments concerned to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

I hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was in the Boston area recently and my hosts booked me into this hotel. I can say it is an ok place. Though it is built across a major Highway surprising I did not find the traffic noise disturbing.
I had room with a Queen size bed. The room really felt cramped. The bed sort of filled the entire room.
I have to say the staff were friendly and helpful. Considering what my hosts paid for the room. I consider it was a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZachariahN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#77 of 83 in Boston
561 reviews
Crescent Suites Hotel
#3 of 11 in Waltham
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Address: 320 Washington St, Newton, MA 02458-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Landmark Boston Area HotelWelcome to the Crowne Plaza(R) Boston - Newton hotel, uniquely situated over the Massachusetts Turnpike in lovely Newton - close to prominent universities and hospitals. Only 5 miles to all the excitement and culture of Boston, minutes from Fenway Park, and convenient to Cambridge and the bustling 128 beltway, our location, on the MBTA bus route, provides direct access to all these locations.The 270 spacious guest rooms have been stylishly redesigned and feature 37 inch flat screen televisions, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and room amenities. Tavern Restaurant & Bar serves regional favorites for breakfast and drinks and appetizers in the evening. Social Restaurant offers contemporary casual dining for Lunch and Dinner. Relax in our indoor pool or enjoy a workout in the adjacent fitness area. The on-site parking garage is available for $28.00 per day for self parking, $35.00 per day for valet parking. Our location off the Massachusetts Turnpike makes us the most convenient site for local and regional meetings and events. We feature seven distinctly different meeting rooms, totaling 7,000 square feet, each newly remodeled, including a state-of-the-art executive boardroom and a stylish ballroom with natural lighting. Crowne Plaza(R) Hotels are The Place to Meet, featuring a dedicated manager to oversee every aspect of your meetings planning and execution. We are also ideal for special celebrations with menus and packages available to meet every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newton
Newton Crowne Plaza
Newton Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing