We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price Friendly staff Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great price Friendly staff Clean”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

It isn't I stay at a hotel built on top of an expressway! And it is unusual to find ear plugs next to the bed...

And the heating and air conditioning systems are a bit dated!

But if you need to stay in this part of Paton and want a nice ran room with great friendly staff, a great rate then you have found the right hotel.

Staff could not have been better! I was at a Fairmont last week; and this staff was better! Spotlessly clean! So turn up the TV have a glass of wine and forget the highway underneath

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    234
    208
    106
    71
See reviews for
236
135
69
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton. I go to Boston College frequently and this hotel is by far the most convenient. The front desk staff was extremely cordial. Had a problem with the remote control for my television and the housekeeping staff helped me out. The room was clean and well thought out. Nice bathroom and shower. I would highly recommend this hotel when visiting the Newton/Boston area. Some may say there is a problem with highway noice from the Mass Pike, it was not a problem for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had the opportunity of staying Friday night at the Crowne Plaza Boston - Newton for a Saturday conference.
Although you really need to follow your directions to get to the hotel from the Mass Pike, this hotel is definitely worth the round about entry.
Check in was great - very personable staff.
Paul in the lounge area was attentive and our meals were good - the chicken quesadilla was delish.
The conference banquet was great - attentive staff and wonderful service.

The room was large and very clean. One of my friends noted the sound of the traffic (this hotel is over the Mass Pike) in the evening, but it did not effect my sleep.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

we were on the 9th floor and are both deep sleepers, so the traffic noise was fine. Our room had a weird plumbing noise every so often that seemed to come from the toilet-- it happened so often and was such a piercing noise that it was really bothersome for our three-night stay. I think we heard the toilet flush for every guest room in our line of plumbing.

The view was nice though, and the room was clean. Housekeeping only came by once during our three-night stay, but it was okay. The pool and fitness center were definite plusses-- very clean and pleasant to use for exercise. The hotel also provides complementary water bottles at the fitness center, which was great.

For the price of the rooms (booked on hotwire), I would give it 4 stars. Remember that they charge $9 / night for parking and do not provide a free breakfast. The internet is okay, but not fast, and there is no fridge / microwave in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Lilly C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I enjoyed my 2 night stay. The room was clean and about what one would expect from a hotel room. However, we stayed on the fifth floor and were directly over the Mass Pike. I did not think that highway noise was an issue, but the hotel provided us with some foam ear plugs just in case. I thought that being able to watch the busy traffic from the comfort of my hotel room was very relaxing. The hotel restaurant was also pretty good, but fairly pricey.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddexter289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Selected this location because of the easy access to the Mass turnpike. The room was clean but the bathroom was not your typical Crown Plaza standard. The shower did not have a tub and it was evident the bldg was old. The fitness room was one of the better ones I've seen at the Crown Plaza brand in the US. I was alittle disappointed that the hotel staff did not respond to complaint about not receiving the USA today paper as a priority club member. Would definitely recommend this hotel for convienence but not for luxury.

Room Tip: Awesome fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wopat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Picked this hotel for the convenient location, which was a Catch-22 due to the Mass Pike/commuter rail noise factor. The room was clean but very basic, the bathroom was tiny with barely-there counter space. It's a good place for a business/convenience stay, but not somewhere to look for luxury. The hotel staff was great!!! Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tajinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
432 reviews
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#77 of 83 in Boston
558 reviews
Crescent Suites Hotel
#5 of 11 in Waltham
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Address: 320 Washington St, Newton, MA 02458-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Landmark Boston Area HotelWelcome to the Crowne Plaza(R) Boston - Newton hotel, uniquely situated over the Massachusetts Turnpike in lovely Newton - close to prominent universities and hospitals. Only 5 miles to all the excitement and culture of Boston, minutes from Fenway Park, and convenient to Cambridge and the bustling 128 beltway, our location, on the MBTA bus route, provides direct access to all these locations.The 270 spacious guest rooms have been stylishly redesigned and feature 37 inch flat screen televisions, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and room amenities. Tavern Restaurant & Bar serves regional favorites for breakfast and drinks and appetizers in the evening. Social Restaurant offers contemporary casual dining for Lunch and Dinner. Relax in our indoor pool or enjoy a workout in the adjacent fitness area. The on-site parking garage is available for $28.00 per day for self parking, $35.00 per day for valet parking. Our location off the Massachusetts Turnpike makes us the most convenient site for local and regional meetings and events. We feature seven distinctly different meeting rooms, totaling 7,000 square feet, each newly remodeled, including a state-of-the-art executive boardroom and a stylish ballroom with natural lighting. Crowne Plaza(R) Hotels are The Place to Meet, featuring a dedicated manager to oversee every aspect of your meetings planning and execution. We are also ideal for special celebrations with menus and packages available to meet every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newton
Newton Crowne Plaza
Newton Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing