We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, horrible customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, horrible customer service”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is decent for what it is, Over the highway business hotel. The rooms are ok, although there was an attempted assault in the adjacent parking garage, one of the nights, so be careful.
I had several family members staying with me. The 6 rooms ranged in pricing.When I checked in the very nice front desk person took care of the issue, except for one room which was double the price of the others for the exact same room. I spoke to and called the hotel several times, ( about 8) about the difference in pricing in the same rooms. Each time I was told to call back and talk to a different supervisor. When I called and finally spoke to her, She was quite rude, and said, Sorry, you booked that when the price was higher and you already checked out. We cant change it after you already paid. Too bad. Very nasty.
My advice is check and recheck the pricing for this hotel as the date gets close and MAKE sure when you check in that you have the lowest and correct rate, They will DO nothing to make it right after the fact. I think there are plenty of options around, so I will be looking at those for the next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffnwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNewtonGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for bringing your recent experience to our attention. It appears your rooms were booked at the Travel Agent discount, which is a percentage off of the published rate. As the published rate changes daily, so does the TA rate. One of our Front Desk Agents did make an accomodation for an add-on room at the lowest booked rate for the entire stay, however, we were unable to do so for all of your rooms. We apologize for any confusion and for the frustration you experienced in trying to obtain clarification. The alleged attempted assault in the garage was an unprecedented incident, and the owners of the garage have increased security in response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    233
    205
    104
    68
See reviews for
234
131
69
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Every time we visit newton we stay there. Uniformly spick and spam with excellent service free wifi rooms with views and up to date bathrooms. Good value and great location to mass pike.
Only minus is parking charge

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rweissmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNewtonGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty - and for sharing your compliments about our hotel on Trip Advisor! A clean hotel with a friendly staff in a great location with competitive pricing - sounds like we are the hotel for you! The Gateway Garage, located adjacent to our hotel, is the most convenient and affordable parking option. We arranged to reduce the parking rate from $21.00 to $9.00 for our overnight guests, which is significantly less than Boston's $45/night rate. We hope you find this pricing adjustment fair. We appreciate your comments very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

First time there. My wife booked this hotel for my b'day wknd. I truly enjoyed the stay there. The location was perfect close to everything, highways,downtown and restaurants. The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly. The parking garage was steps away from hotel and surprisingly cheap compared to other hotels. I definitely recommend it and will visit again. And last but not least the breakfast was great too

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddyvs06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNewtonGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for spending your birthday weekend with us! We are happy to hear that you found the hotel convenient and comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. Our location is a perfect alternative to Boston - convenient by either by car or bus...and at a much more affordable price point. We hope a return stay at the Crowne Plaza Boston Newton Hotel is on next year's birthday list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel was a very nice yet cost-effective option for a Friday night in the Boston area. It's very conveniently located (immediately off of Route 90, exit 17), although driving into and out of the hotel lot can be confusing. The good news is that the hotel is very tall and visible, so if you take a wrong turn you can eventually figure out a correction. The hotel itself is very comfortable, and has the usual amenities. My key tip is: if making a last-minute reservation here, call instead of using the online "discount" booking services like hotels.com and priceline. I was getting consistent prices across these services, but when I called the hotel directly, I saved $40 on a single night booking!

Room Tip: Upper floors have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNewtonGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay and found our property to be a great location at a great price! It sounds like we made your visit to Boston successful - the goal of all Crowne Plaza Hotels. We certainly encourage guests to call our hotel directly for last minute bookings to receive the most favorable pricing. We hope to be your host on your next trip back to the Boston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was disappointed with how the staff member checked me in at the beginning. The man was rude and made a very awkward comment about my name, so I have to admit we weren't off to a good start.

This hotel is on TOP of the Mass Pike, and without the AC on for white noise, there was no way I could have slept. The hotel provides a set of earplugs on the bedside table, so they know about the noise level.

My main complaint is that it was billed as a 4 star hotel, and it isn't aging well. They put in some new lamps, but no bathroom fan and no minifridge, both of which would have been quite useful.

On the whole, not a 4 star experience. I was disappointed. Also, the floors were filthy.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor room, it might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nindubsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Nindubsar,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service and quality you received during your stay. Your feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel was booked for myself and a group from the UK who had come on a cultural tour of New England. It was a huge disappointment. It's much too far out of Boston and it is built directly over a busy and noisy motorway so very noisy and no proper shower in the rooms. Watching car lights snaking into the distance and being kept awake by roaring engines was not what we had come to see or hear. Not to mention the trains that also thundered by most of the night. Never again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rafikiyangu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Rafikiyangu81,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I am sorry that our location was not to your liking and apologize for any inconvenience the outside noise may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The completed renovation of this hotel brings it up to par for similar hotels. While the location over the Mass turnpike is a negative for many due to noise (we used earplugs and slept very soundly) it is convenient to many areas and is a good value for the price relative to other Boston hotels. The staff was very attentive and friendly - especially to keep us informed as to their preparations for dealing with the storm Sandy - and while the breakfast was not included in the price, we found the food quality ans service staff to be very good.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor, north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCR-ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
555 reviews
Crescent Suites Hotel
#5 of 11 in Waltham
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Address: 320 Washington St, Newton, MA 02458-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Landmark Boston Area HotelWelcome to the Crowne Plaza(R) Boston - Newton hotel, uniquely situated over the Massachusetts Turnpike in lovely Newton - close to prominent universities and hospitals. Only 5 miles to all the excitement and culture of Boston, minutes from Fenway Park, and convenient to Cambridge and the bustling 128 beltway, our location, on the MBTA bus route, provides direct access to all these locations.The 270 spacious guest rooms have been stylishly redesigned and feature 37 inch flat screen televisions, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and room amenities. Tavern Restaurant & Bar serves regional favorites for breakfast and drinks and appetizers in the evening. Social Restaurant offers contemporary casual dining for Lunch and Dinner. Relax in our indoor pool or enjoy a workout in the adjacent fitness area. The on-site parking garage is available for $28.00 per day for self parking, $35.00 per day for valet parking. Our location off the Massachusetts Turnpike makes us the most convenient site for local and regional meetings and events. We feature seven distinctly different meeting rooms, totaling 7,000 square feet, each newly remodeled, including a state-of-the-art executive boardroom and a stylish ballroom with natural lighting. Crowne Plaza(R) Hotels are The Place to Meet, featuring a dedicated manager to oversee every aspect of your meetings planning and execution. We are also ideal for special celebrations with menus and packages available to meet every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newton
Newton Crowne Plaza
Newton Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing