We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, quite of a distance from central boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, quite of a distance from central boston”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here in oct room was lovely very clean, staff very helpful and friendly only downside is distance to trains to central boston, 30 min walk at least, but if you have the energy its a lovely walk at that! Yes the hotel is over a highway but we barely heard any noise and we were on the 3 rd floor!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveller254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    233
    205
    104
    68
See reviews for
234
131
69
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Regularly coming to Boston, my company chose the Crown Plaza Newton for a last minute 5 nights oversea trip.

Hotel is standing above the I-90 highway and a railway (see picture): this is the most noisy hotel room (car & train traffic) I never had in my life (all rooms are above the highway)!

Finally, after an horrible night, I managed to move to another hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are located directly above the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newton hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed for 6 days at the Crowne Plaza during a business trip to Boston/Newton.

The good parts: The staff were always pleasant and helpful. The beds were comfy and always lots of pillows, sheets, etc. The hotel is relatively central without being right in Boston. The hotel and the room was clean and generally maintained well.

The bad: it's right over the Mass. Pike and the commuter train tracks. I was on the 9th floor and it was loud at times; any lower and a light sleeper would have issues (luckily I'm a pretty heavy sleeper). They include free earplugs on your bedside table, so you can tell noise is an issue :-)

The WiFi was awful. For a business trip, there's nothing worse than spotty WiFi. It was very frustrating.

The in-hotel restaurant, Martha's, wasn't any great eatery. I had both dinner and breakfast there, and it was passable, though not great. There are lots of better options within a few blocks of the hotel, and if you're going even a short drive, there's a bunch of terrific restaurants in Newton Centre, for example.

The TV was new, but the channel selection was minimal -- I think only 8 or 10 channels. They were obviously hoping you'd spend money on the premium shows.

Unfortunately when I was booking, everywhere else had already booked up, so this was my only option. I've stayed in far worse -- really, this is just a solid "average" -- but next time, I'd try somewhere else, first.

Room Tip: Stay as high as you can to limit the noise from the Mass. Pike and commuter trains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBurjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

This location is horrible if you want to sleep. Extremely noisy even on the 12 th top floor, due to traffic below. One set of ear plugs given for the room. Not near a train station but walking distance to buses. Watertown bus deport us a half hour walk. Only thing close is Walgreens, a pub, a pizzeria UNO. Really need a car from here

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maltacanadausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabar, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

What a hidden gem...so close to downtown Boston yet without the high city prices and avoiding the downtown traffic. The rooms were a very pleasant surprise....clean, very modern and nicely decorated. The bathroom was nice too. Such a good location for my short 1 night stay....so easy to get downtown as well as to Logan airport. I found the staff to be very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Quick check-in. No need to look further....I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Got this hotel thru hotwire.Did not know the name of the hotel but price offered was relatively lower than other hotels I can find in other websites.I took the plunge and booked and prepaid for the rooms as time was running out.The hotel was okay, near a bus stop.There was a dunkin donut accross the street.We did not rent a car while we were in Boston so we used the bus and the underground.A lot of time was used in commuting.Next time it would have been FAR BETTER for us to get a hotel which is right at the center or near the downtown area.Boston hotels are expensive so best to spend time to book in advance.

Room Tip: depending on the purpose of your trip, and if you have no car and intend to go to downtown everyday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leda298573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My girlfriends and I attended a kconcert in Boston and needed a hotel close to the city. We chose the Crown Plaza in Newton and so glad we did!
From the time we arrived to,the time we left, it was such a pleasant stay, from our friendly greeting by the door man to the friendly and helpful staff.
We were also so happy to find our room so clean, fresh and the beds were made up so nice!
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
555 reviews
Crescent Suites Hotel
#5 of 11 in Waltham
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
Address: 320 Washington St, Newton, MA 02458-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Landmark Boston Area HotelWelcome to the Crowne Plaza(R) Boston - Newton hotel, uniquely situated over the Massachusetts Turnpike in lovely Newton - close to prominent universities and hospitals. Only 5 miles to all the excitement and culture of Boston, minutes from Fenway Park, and convenient to Cambridge and the bustling 128 beltway, our location, on the MBTA bus route, provides direct access to all these locations.The 270 spacious guest rooms have been stylishly redesigned and feature 37 inch flat screen televisions, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and room amenities. Tavern Restaurant & Bar serves regional favorites for breakfast and drinks and appetizers in the evening. Social Restaurant offers contemporary casual dining for Lunch and Dinner. Relax in our indoor pool or enjoy a workout in the adjacent fitness area. The on-site parking garage is available for $28.00 per day for self parking, $35.00 per day for valet parking. Our location off the Massachusetts Turnpike makes us the most convenient site for local and regional meetings and events. We feature seven distinctly different meeting rooms, totaling 7,000 square feet, each newly remodeled, including a state-of-the-art executive boardroom and a stylish ballroom with natural lighting. Crowne Plaza(R) Hotels are The Place to Meet, featuring a dedicated manager to oversee every aspect of your meetings planning and execution. We are also ideal for special celebrations with menus and packages available to meet every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newton
Newton Crowne Plaza
Newton Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing