We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the basics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boston Marriott Newton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Stayed at the Boston Newton Marriott for 6 nights for a business trip. This Marriott has the basic features required of a business hotel. Well, maybe too basic for my taste since my room didn't even have a mini bar.

Internet costs are quite reasonable considering Boston is not known to be an inexpensive city. Menu options are very limited - and there is only one restaurant. This Marriott is in the middle of the suburbs and you can't just walk to a neighborhood resto. Best to rent a car if you want to go around. I was not comfortable driving and relied on towncars the entire time. The frontdesk people were very helpful and made sure I could get a car in 15 mins max.

If one wants to so a bit of shopping, the department store (Bloomingdales) is about 30 minutes away.

Oh one thing I liked a lot is that they have a Starbucks in the lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelley_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVGRL27, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2010

Dear Shelley,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Newton Marriott and sharing your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed the Starbucks coffee shop in the lobby and our reasonable internet costs. I wanted to also let you know that it is not necessary to rent a vehicle when you stay with us. We do offer complimentary shuttle service to the nearby subway station. The subway will transport you to local shopping and dining--including downtown Boston. I hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Thomas McKenney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 784 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2010

Normally I don't bother to review chain hotels because let's face it, you pretty much know what to expect from most of them. However, after reading all the negative reviews here, I wanted to share my experience. My partner and I stayed here for one night in September after a Red Sox game. True, the hotel is not close to downtown Boston, but it is not far from a T station and the hotel does offer free shuttle service there into the early evening. Considering that hotels are in downtown Boston are considerably more expensive, the tradeoff in convenience was well worth it. The interior renovations here appear to be complete, and the lobby, restaurant, fitness center and rooms are all very nice and clean. But what made this Marriott stand out above some of the others we've stayed at was the service. The desk staff was extremely helpful and polite, and eagerly made recommendations for us and helped us with our plans for the night. We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVGRL27, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your positive feedback. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms, lobby and restaurant. It is especially nice to hear about the outstanding service you received from our Front Desk staff. They work very hard to provide a great guest experience, and it is wonderful when they are recognized. We hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Tom McKenney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed here for the VT vs Boston College game. We used the hotel shuttle to go to the T station however they won't come pick you up at the T station after 8:30 so we had to take a taxi a couple of times, which was easy to get at the T station. They said the T station was within walking distance, but we never could get good directions. This hotel is not that close to Boston...we had to ride the T a good 30 minutes to get into the city. The restaurant is SUPER expensive at the hotel, I don't recommend eating there, check in w/ the front desk for some coupons to a bagel shop down the street...we walked to it so it was about 20 minutes away. There is a gas station right across the street that we walked to as well to get drinks and snacks. The computers at the hotel were great to check e-mail, and print boarding passes no wait at all. A very clean hotel, kinda a funky smell in our room at times...but we got use to it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malityson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVGRL27, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Newton Marriott. We are located just outside of Boston, however, we are the perfect place to stay when attending events at Boston College. I am sorry to read that you found our restaurant to be expensive. We have renovated our lounge and updated its menu to include some very affordable options. I hope that you will try it next time you are in the area. Please contact me directly if I may be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Tom McKenney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Rushed at check-in. Room by the Ice machine. Listened to furniture being moved around above me each night and morning (room below the conference rooms?). Bath room very small. Huge parking lot that was packed each night and charges $9.00 each night. Rushed at check-out. Such a large hotel felt like they just want to get you in and out. Nothing personal about the staff.

Plus side was room service was quick,food was good and friendly service (the only time I felt welcomed) and room was very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrooklynSuperMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVGRL27, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. I was very sorry to read that you felt rushed at check in. We work hard to provide exceptional and personalized service to our customers. I am very sorry that this was not your experience. I was happy to read that you found the room to be very clean, and our room service food to be good with friendly service. Our goal is for every guest to leave the hotel to be completely satisfied. Please feel free to contact me directly if I may be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Thomas McKenney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed one night only. Arrived around 2000 hours. Check in was quite nice. The young lady was very pleasant and helpful. We spoke a bit about sports and when I advised her that I did not want to have a room near an elevator or ice machine, she put me in a area that was removed from a traveled area. Room was very nice, great TV selection, bathroom well appointed. Only bad feature is the fellow next door was a loud talker, so I was filled in on every bit of his personal family issues. Did not call the desk, just turned on the A/C. Otherwise a nice place, clean and updated, would stay again. They honor government rates and price them very competitively.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephkT5875PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVGRL27, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2010

Dear Jaek,

Thank you for providing feedback about your stay at the Newton Marriott. I am glad that you found the hotel to be the perfect location for business in the Boston area. We have worked to upgrade the hotel over the course of the past year to make it more comfortable and convenient for business travellers. I am glad the hotel met your needs and that you found the front desk staff to be pleasant and helpful. I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Tom McKenney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend. It was out first time in Boston and weren't familiar with the area. Though this hotel is not close to downtown Boston at all, it was a nice quiet location and the drive to downtown was fine. We originally booked a room at the Cambridge Marriott but left after we checked in and saw how deceiving the online photos were.
We were lucky enough to get a room here last minute and for half the price of the other Marriott we left. The breakfast buffet was excellent and we enjoyed having drinks in the bar downstairs. The pool and jacuzzi were nice and located right down the hall from our room. The room we had overlooked the river. It was small but ok for a weekend stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djacks920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVGRL27, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience at our hotel. It sounds like you had a wonderful weekend. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It is one of our most popular meal offerings. Our culinary team is exceptional and they do a phenomenal job preparing and stocking the items on the buffet. I hope that you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Thomas McKenney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I travel from Europe on business to this area 7 or 8 times per year and love to come back to this hotel. While the property is a pretty standard Marriott (although it has just come through an extensive rennovation) the people at the hotel really make the effort to make you feel welcome. The front desk team is second to none and it really makes a difference at the end of a long trip to be greeted by your name as you enter the lobby as if you have just arrived home.

The service continues with the personnel in the gift / coffee shop in the lobby, the bar and restaurant.

I am happy to recommend and encourage you to take some time to say hello to the team. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVGRL27, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2010

Dear TavelCelt,

Thank you so much for the great comments. We love to hear that our customers are eager to come back due to the friendly staff at the hotel. Thank you for your business and your loyalty to our hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Tom McKenney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 3 in Needham
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
3.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Newton

Address: 2345 Commonwealth Ave, Newton, MA 02466-1733
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range: $105 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Newton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at Boston Marriott Newton, in beautiful Newton, MA. Our Newton, MA hotel's property includes 22 acres of idyllic and scenic riverfront land alongside the Charles River. Guests find our location ideal for exploring Newton and nearby Boston. We are situated close to historic Boston attractions, Boston College, Brandeis University, Bentley College, and Boston's high-tech beltway. Boston Marriott Newton is centrally located on the I-90, near Logan Airport. It is easy to get to our hotel and to get around, once here. We encourage you to visit us and enjoy one of our 430 luxurious hotel rooms - many of our Newton, MA hotel rooms offer gorgeous river views! Our hotel boasts more than 20,000 square feet of flexible event space, which makes us a perfect hotel for conferences and weddings. Come take advantage of our fabulous indoor pool, our expansive fitness center, and our on-site restaurant - Riverbend Bar & Grille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Newton Hotel Newton
Marriott Newton
Newton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing