We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boston Marriott Newton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
179 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We weren't sure how convenient a Marriott in Newton would be but was shocked how close to Boston and other areas we needed to be at they are! Lots of trees and our balcony opened up to the Charles River and it is absolutely beautiful. Hospitality was excellent, free and easy parking, nice breakfast and a great price for the area. My only issue is the rooms were smaller than expected and need an update, they are a little dated. But the the rooms are clean and the beds very comfy...ask for extra pillows. Also...must have dinner at Biagio's (123 Moody Street, Waltham). Its within a 5 minute drive, great food and I felt like I was in a Soprano's movie (in a good way), great people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgr12, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Bill,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Newton Marriott. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful setting. We do feel that our location along the river sets us apart from other area hotels. We are glad that you enjoyed the staff's restaurant recommendation and hope you will stay with us again when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    304
    186
    66
    34
See reviews for
221
82
48
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

I've been here a number of times over the years. Between 2009-2013. (Ya know...having a child in college : )

The price is more reasonable than in the heart of Boston. I'm usually driving a rental car up there anyway and parking is now free.

All the conveniences are there. Plus, in back of the hotel is a kayak/canoe rental outfit. SO convenient!

Room Tip: I always ask for a top floor in any hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank violin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgr12, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Violin,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at the Newton Marriott. We appreciate your feedback. We are very glad that you found the hotel to be convenient for college visits and reasonably priced. We hope to welcome you back when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were traveling through Boston for one night, and I was excited to book this beautiful hotel at an amazing rate! I booked the hotel through a third party site, and was very happy with the price and location! Upon arrival I was even more excited, for the hotel had a resort like feel to it. We were given a beautiful river front room that was updated and comfortable. The pool area was very nice, and the pool was warm and relaxing. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful! If we are ever traveling through Boston again, I will definitely book this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgr12, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Holly,

Thank you so much for sharing your great experience at the Newton Marriott. We love to hear that our guests are happy. We are glad that you found the staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed our pool.

We hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
257 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had requested a room with a river view. We were originally assigned a room on the 5th floor with a nice view and terrible smell of mildew or mold. We were quickly moved to the 6th floor on the river side, room 601 with a view of the roof and slight sign of the river through the tree tops.

The worst part of this room is it backs to the service elevator. All night long the room service and housekeeping staff are using the elevator and the noise is quite annoying. We were only there two nights so we stayed in that room. At least it didn't smell like the first one.

The staff is extremely friendly. However, some odd points. Ordered Eggs Benedict from room service, one egg, on half a muffin came… the first time I have ever seen this! Normally two eggs.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near service elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler_200950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgr12, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at the Newton Marriott. We are glad to hear that you found or staff to be friendly. We will use your comments to improve the service that we provide in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with the little balcony and river view upon my arrival. Had dinner both nights of my stay and was great (had the salmon and filet). The service was great and rooms very clean. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgr12, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thanks so much for the great review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your view. Our balcony rooms really are nice during this time of year. We appreciate your positive comments and hope that you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Came into Boston to view some colleges. Ended up using Hotwire to get a great deal on this hotel. We were very pleased with the service. Only downside was there was not a lot of restaurants in the general vicinity.

We had a problem with the remote in the room and they were there in minutes with an explanation of the brief problem that was happening in the hotel.

Hotel was very clean. Beds were very comfortable. All in all it was great for the one night we were there.

Room Tip: You can request riverside.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has green practices - optional to the guest.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fembats1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgr12, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found your room to be comfortable and clean. We are a great location for visiting colleges. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Good luck with the college search.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed here for a conference. As a hotel that you would expect to accommodate large conference groups, the restaurant was always ill equipped at lunch for crowds that arrived. Disappointing for a Marriott. Hotel was lovely, check in was quick. My room was on the 3rd floor (one down from the lobby) and the one right next to the elevator. As others have alluded to paper thin walls, I heard the elevator open and close, go up and downs ding, etc - all day and evening. Being right near the conference rooms and also the elevator made it incredibly noisy. Also, due to the flooring in the lobby, you can hear footsteps above you every time someone in heels walks across. Had I been here for any other reason than a work conference I would've asked for a room change as a Rewards member. But no one should have to deal with that amount of noise!
Beautiful facility but still needs some work! I was definitely disappointed even with the conference room rate. Also I wonder when Marriott will join the rest of the world and stop making us pay for Wi-Fi in our rooms.

Room Tip: Not the 3rd floor (under lobby)! Not near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maestra611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgr12, Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Maestra,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Newton Marriott. We are very sorry that you were disturbed by noise. We appreciate your feedback and we will consider your comments as we work to make improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
3.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
1.4 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#8 of 11 in Waltham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Newton

Property: Boston Marriott Newton
Address: 2345 Commonwealth Ave, Newton, MA 02466-1733
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Newton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at Boston Marriott Newton, in beautiful Newton, MA. Our Newton, MA hotel's property includes 22 acres of idyllic and scenic riverfront land alongside the Charles River. Guests find our location ideal for exploring Newton and nearby Boston. We are situated close to historic Boston attractions, Boston College, Brandeis University, Bentley College, and Boston's high-tech beltway. Boston Marriott Newton is centrally located on the I-90, near Logan Airport. It is easy to get to our hotel and to get around, once here. We encourage you to visit us and enjoy one of our 430 luxurious hotel rooms - many of our Newton, MA hotel rooms offer gorgeous river views! Our hotel boasts more than 20,000 square feet of flexible event space, which makes us a perfect hotel for conferences and weddings. Come take advantage of our fabulous indoor pool, our expansive fitness center, and our on-site restaurant - Riverbend Bar & Grille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Newton Hotel Newton
Marriott Newton
Newton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing