We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Newton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Westport, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great hotel, second time I stayed there. Flat screen TV with HD channels. Every helpful front desk personal. Nice restaurant with a bar. Very comfortable bed. Good shower with a shower head that works.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    316
    189
    68
    35
See reviews for
226
88
51
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's not a bad hotel for the price, we got a good rate which included wifi but no breakfast.
shop on the lobby floor is reasonably priced for a hotel, gym and pool are very small, restaurant and bar food are very good.

Rooms are clean reasonably upto date, not particularly big , and the view of the carpark is not that enticing. Can ask for a view of the lake which is quiet nice

Room Tip: Lobby is on level 4 , rooms at the back have a view and lower level rooms have a small patio. Ice ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Rooms appear to be slightly worn. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel can be busy if there are conventions in house. Check in is on the main level, but when you use the elevators, you will find you are on level 5. Good restaurant for breakfast or dinner. Must drive for other options. Standard Marriott amenities. Have stayed heremny times.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveI1302JZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Yorik City
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have stayed at virtually every hotel in the area within the past several years, as our son is a student at Brandeis University and we drive up several times per year. We usually choose a hotel based on location and where we can get the best rate. Although this is the closest hotel to Brandeis, I was not impressed with the amenities at this hotel for the price. Unlike at most of the other hotels in the area, breakfast was not included. We were also annoyed by the $9 per night parking charge. I can understand extra charges for parking in city locations, but this is a suburban location. The room itself was clean and had the standard features. There was nothing special about it. As others have mentioned, this hotel was constructed in the 1960s (I used to come here for brunch in the 1970s), but it has been kept up to date. Overall, you can probably get a better deal elsewhere for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCTraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Newton Marriott seems to be about what you would expect from a Marriott hotel. No negativity intended...it was clean, the staff was friendly and the amenities seemed fine. I guess for close to $300 a night it should have all of those things. I would stay there again with no issue.
As 'neutral' as I am about the hotel, I must say the restaurant was very good. I had scallops with risotto, my colleague had salmon. Very fresh fish, cooked impeccably, great accompaniments, excellent service. They also don't cheat you on the cocktails. If you stay, try the restaurant!

Room Tip: This hotel has a lobby on the fourth floor...entry level due to the terrain it's built on. I re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comowell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkJ007, General Manager at Boston Marriott Newton, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your posting relative to your most recent stay at the Newton Marriott. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your restaurant experience at the Riverbend Bar and Grill. We pride ourselves in showcasing the freshest seafood available. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This full-service Marriott is located in the suburb of Newton, about 16 minutes from central Boston. It was a little hard to find even with my GPS so be sure to type in the FULL address as Commonwealth runs through several adjoining cities. It was quiet with lovely landscaping out front and a river with kayaks to rent out back. Fairly easy access to the interstate and turnpike. This is a large property so it can be quite a hike down multiple hallways to access some of the rooms. If you have mobility issues then be sure to ask for a room without much walking. There are multiple sets of elevators so just asking for "close to the elevator" won't guarantee that you won't be walking a long distance. The rooms were comfortable and somewhat spacious but the bath area was on the smallish side. The breakfast buffet was good and the staff friendly and accommodating. Free parking, small exercise room, and a Starbucks counter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river if you want a nice view. Ask for a room with the least amount of wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

typical marriott -- looks like it was designed in the 60's, but its held up well.

bathroom very small.

corridor very long - if you dont get a room near the elevator its a haul.

restaurants/fast food are a drive.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston-Newton Hotel
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Needham Hotel
Sheraton Needham Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Needham
1.4 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#3 of 11 in Waltham
266 reviews
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Watertown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Newton

Property: Boston Marriott Newton
Address: 2345 Commonwealth Ave, Newton, MA 02466-1733
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Newton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at Boston Marriott Newton, in beautiful Newton, MA. Our Newton, MA hotel's property includes 22 acres of idyllic and scenic riverfront land alongside the Charles River. Guests find our location ideal for exploring Newton and nearby Boston. We are situated close to historic Boston attractions, Boston College, Brandeis University, Bentley College, and Boston's high-tech beltway. Boston Marriott Newton is centrally located on the I-90, near Logan Airport. It is easy to get to our hotel and to get around, once here. We encourage you to visit us and enjoy one of our 430 luxurious hotel rooms - many of our Newton, MA hotel rooms offer gorgeous river views! Our hotel boasts more than 20,000 square feet of flexible event space, which makes us a perfect hotel for conferences and weddings. Come take advantage of our fabulous indoor pool, our expansive fitness center, and our on-site restaurant - Riverbend Bar & Grille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Newton Hotel Newton
Marriott Newton
Newton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing